We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Russ knows” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Western Discoveries Day Tours

Western Discoveries Day Tours
Chynoey, Newmill, Penzance TR208XW, England
+44 1736 362763
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 24 Activities in Penzance
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We provide guided minibus tours of West Cornwall. They feature the most interesting and beautiful spots of the region and are a great way to learn more about this fascinating land. With a maximum of 8 passengers, tours are intimate and itineraries depend on what you would like to see, what the weather is doing and how far you would like to walk. We typically squeeze in ancient monuments, mining works, a cup of coffee and coastal scenery before running out of time. Open tours run on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, last 4 hours, cost from £35 per person and leave from Penzance and St Ives. Private tours start from £195. Call or email for details.
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
“Russ knows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

What a wonderful ride! Our B&B host suggested Western Discoveries when we asked for a guided tour of west Cornwall. We couldn't have asked for a better man than Russ! He is born and raised in Cornwall, knows the history, the lore and how to navigate the tightest of tight squeezes through the labyrinth of lanes in the tiniest of towns. He told us stories, quoted authors, and explained local geology and archeology.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, OR
1 review
“A Wonderful Tour of Historic Cornwall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Russ is an outstanding guide - knowledgeable, friendly, outgoing. He is also very accommodating - tailors tours to what customers want to see. He is from the area and knows it very well. Price is very reasonable - 30 pounds per person for a great four hour custom tour.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Russ really makes this tour special with his knowledge, patience, and thoughtful good humor. It was a pleasure to be able to ride along with him and the rest of our group, shooting out questions and laughing at his stories. We learned quite a bit in our half-day excursion - about quoits and stone circles, about where to find the best pasties, about the abundant wildflowers, and a little about some colorful local characters. From charming the white-haired ladies at the teashop we stopped at to directing traffic in the warren of Mousehole, Russ was fun to watch and a joy to travel with. Truly a day well-spent.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Well worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I took a private 6-hour tour with Western Discoveries Day Tours last month and will continue to use their services every time I return to that part of the country. Russ really knows the area from ancient sites, geology, history, flora and fauna and even where to get the best pasty in that part of the area.

I sent him an email beforehand and told him what I was mostly interested in and he planned a schedule around it that took me to areas I wouldn't have even thought of.

As a solo traveler having to rely on public transportation to get around, sometimes it's difficult
to fit everything in, especially if you are traveling for such a short time. If I would've had to plan visiting everything we saw in that day, it would've taken me at least 5 days.

Taking a tour like this with such a fabulous tour guide as Russ is something well worth considering.

Thanks Russ! Looking forward to seeing you again!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience, outstanding guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We are so pleased to have had the chance to tour with Russ. He initially polled those of us on the tour that day as to what our interests were, what we'd already seen, and where we'd been so far, and planned the itinerary accordingly. As it was our first full day in Cornwall, we said we'd be happy to see pretty much anything and everything. We saw a number of the well-known prehistoric sites (Merry Maidens, Lanyon Quoit, etc.), some of which involved a nice walk off the main road through farm pastures. The visit to the old Botallack tin mine was especially interesting, and Russ told us a good deal about the history of mining, and Cornish history in general. His background in geology made this part of the visit especially enlightening. We stopped part way through for a Cornish cream tea at a lovely little place where everyone seemed to know everyone else, and the scones were the best we've ever had (and the clotted cream and jam too). Aside from the sites and commentary, just being driven around and seeing the countryside was a tremendous pleasure. Russ is a great driver, as well as a great guide. We heartily recommend one of Russ's regular tours or, if you have more time and can afford it, a full day trip with Western Discoveries.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western Discoveries Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Western Discoveries Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Discoveries Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.