We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Boatshed

The Boatshed
The Warf | St Marys, Isles of Scilly, Penzance TR18 4AS, England
01736 368845
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 152 Restaurants in Penzance
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: Southwestern
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Disgusting!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We came as a family this summer, the staff were useless and one in particular i believe he was running the place looked stress, our food was late and when it came out it was cold, most dissapointed with the service and the whole management of the place. Came here the year before (end of september) and met two pleasent well mannered fun waitresses called sarah and becky. Dissapointed this year! Sort your staff and management out. Never coming here again! My husband agrees.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    19
    8
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pretty Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

It's a nice place for what it is. We only wanted to stop for a drink. It was nice to sit outside and watch the world go by. Staff weren't very attentive and seemed more interested in other things other than serving the customers there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This being my second visit to the Boatshed restaurant was just as happy as the first visit ...i had a very tasty king prawn curry and my sister had a very tender sirloin steak cooked to perfection .... the staff were so welcoming and very helpful they made our evening ....will defiantly go back to enjoy another fabulous meal out at this underrated restaurant .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely dinner here. The service was a bit slow and the food took a while (>40 mins) to arrive, but it was delicious and the fish (which came with a lovely salsa verde) was perfectly cooked so worth waiting for. The menu is really interesting and the the ambience is quite intimate and cosy - a great find and would definitely visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

we had a lovely meal tonight,september 1st, and were impressed with the food,friendly staff and the overall ambience.we both live in penzance and have not visited this restaurant for many years but will definitely add it to our list of regular dining haunts.our sirloin steakl& tuna steak were delicious and next time I will sample another fish dish.we would highly recommend the boatshed to locals and visitors.the layout of the restaurant upstairs is the right balance of being open but also intimate with the seating arrangement,while the opportunity to sit outside is an option weather permitting!!bit too cold tonight thou!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boatshed also viewed

 

Been to The Boatshed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boatshed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.