We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sylvia Y” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lombard House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penzance
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lombard House Hotel
Save
You added Lombard House Hotel to your Saves list
16 Regent Terrace, Penzance TR18 4DW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 90 Penzance B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sylvia Y”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Excellent room spacious beds comfortable great view On sea front Good quality furniture and furnishings. Excellent bathroom All immaculate and clean. Freshly cooked breakfast. Tom and Rita very welcoming and helpful. Short walk to Town / StationWould definitely book again .

Room Tip: Family room 7 great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
24
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Had a fantastic three night stay at Lombard House. Everything was great - room (nr. 8) very spacious, sparklingly clean,
great breakfast and high speed WiFi internet access for when I had to work - all of this at a very reasonable price, centrally
located in Penzance. Can't ask for anything more really. We were also accommodated with an early check inn which was much
appreciated.

I would highly recommend this as a base to tour around Cornwall.

Some good restaurants in the vicinity of Lombard House

The Bakehouse - contemporary British cuisine
Taj Mahal - Indian cuisine
Ricardo's - Pizzas ordered for delivery to Lombard House

Thanks to Tom and Rita for a lovely stay, look forward to visiting again soon!

Room Tip: Room number 8 has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

booked last minute from this website and follow up phone call. From the off the service and advice was great.We had room no 3 which has a small double and a single bed ,bath with shower ,this was always clean tidy and has an excellent view and it was great to wake up to freshly cooked breakfast each morning.Tom & Rita are great hosts and were always helpful we would book again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

If you are in Penzance you have got to stay here! It's a charming guest house, with lovely hosts who really make you feel welcome. The rooms are finished to a very high standard, and have the most comfortable beds ever!

A great location a few minutes walk to the town centre, a 5 to 10 minute walk to the bus/train station. The area is one of outstanding natural beauty and should checked out, I toured all over West Cornwall during my stay and the Lombard was a perfect base for me.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I can't believe I paid £92 for a double ensuite. Room was very nice but on the ground floor so a lot of noise from the front door. Room was definitely not worth the money, I stayed in nicer accommodation during my trip at a much lower price. They had kippers on the menu for breakfast but never had them the whole time we were staying there. The owner told me he was finding them difficult to get hold of!

Room Tip: upstairs double ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, Ca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

The building is very pretty and extremely well maintained. It is in a great location, easy to walk along the sea front, go into town, or even venture farther along the coast. It is set back from the road, so there is no road noise and there is plenty of parking (a great thing in a coastal city!)

We had a family room with tall windows that looked out over the sea. Although there is no road noise, the seagulls are incredibly noisy, especially at 5am, so I would not recommend sleeping with the windows open. The room had a extremely comfortable queen bed and two twin beds for my two teenagers, it was a perfect set up and we had room to move around. There was also a little lounge room just down the hall if you wanted to sit and read.

Special note: this was the cleanest bathroom I have ever seen! I am a stickler on cleanliness and this was perfect in every way. However, the shower water pressure was minimal, which is often the case when older buildings are retrofitted, but disapppointing as you rinse off one arm, then the other, etc.

Rita cooked the best breakfasts of our entire time in the UK! A great selection of cooked and cold breakfasts, served in a pretty room. I would definitely stay here again. Also note: lots of stairs, so not good for people with limited mobility.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Nothing negative to say about our stay here. Tom and Rita were perfect hosts. Our room was beautiful and very clean. Wonderfull choice at breakfast time and I would recommend the Lombard highly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lombard House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lombard House Hotel

Address: 16 Regent Terrace, Penzance TR18 4DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lombard House in Penzance was built in the early 18th century. It is a Grade II listed building with many period features. Located on a quiet south facing terrace with free private guest parking and wonderful sea views overlooking mounts bay and the promenade.Lombard House is an elegant family run regency period Guest House offering quality bed and breakfast, Which has been owned and managed by Tom & Rita since 1995.Our aim is to provide a warm and welcoming homely atmosphere with a high standard of service and comfort.We are Conveniently located close to the town centre, restaurants , pubs and many local attractions. The train, bus and coach station is only 0.5 miles away and the Scillonian III ferry terminal is just a few minutes walk, We also have a lovely front garden available for guests to sit in and relax whilst enjoying wonderful views across Mounts Bay. A perfect location for a long or short break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lombard Hotel Penzance
Lombard House Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lombard House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.