We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than it looks in the photos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trereife House

Save Saved
You added Trereife House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trereife House
Near Newlyn | Off the A30, Penzance TR20 8TJ , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 83 Penzance B&B and Inns
Wokingham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Better than it looks in the photos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Lovely rooms, first class breakfasts, excellent hosts.
This is a very special B&B.
We booked a tour for a small cost which was interesting and lively. Breakfast is served around the large dining table where it was nice to chat to others. We stayed in the Coleridge room which was large and in total keeping with the house. Wi-Fi throughout the house.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
39
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salou, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I and our two children (9 and 6) stayed in one of the converted courtyard suites. We all found it so exciting to arrive at this beautiful country house just in time for the Easter craft fair. The children had a fantastic time making clay pots, talking to the craft workers, buying cornish foods and crafts, making giant cupcakes and of course taking part in the super egg hunt. It was a magical experience. We were able to bring all our foodie purchases back to our courtyard apartment when we got tired - to eat! Cornwall at its absolute best!
The accomodation itself was lovely - well equipped kitchen - spotlessly clean. Plenty of room. The Le Grice family couldn't have made us feel more welcome. They went out of their way to chat with us and provide local advice. Even if you didn't leave the grounds you would feel completely on holiday. For us it made a perfect base to travel to Land's End, St Michael's Mount and the breathtaking Minack Theatre.This was so special that I did hesitate to share this gem!

Room Tip: For us the courtyard conversion was perfect as we have young children. We didn't have to worry a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w newton ma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a wonderful apartment with 2 bedrooms and baths and a small kitchen on the beautiful Trereife property near Penzance. The space worked out really well for our family of 4. The family was very welcoming and Tim (the owner) gave us a great tour of the home which has so much history. This is a special place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We arrived late on Thursday night for the Easter weekend and were welcomed very warmly by Georgina. Our room (Hazlitt) was very comfortable, warm and the shower was amazing. Breakfast was delicious in the beautiful dining room and it was great to be there while the Easter Fair was on. The family are very accommodating and friendly and I would recommend the B&B to anyone. The prices are also incredibly reasonable and when else would you get to stay in such a stunning home?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

It's set a bit further away from the main hustle and bustle of penzance but if you have a car that's not a problem at all. It's less than a 5 minute drive. Also, it's about a 15 minute drive to land's end which was very convenient.

We took a self-catering apartment. Apart from a little bit of dust that actually added to the rustic charm, we found the place perfect for our needs. The grounds would surely look majestic during the summer. We went shortly before Easter so it was a bit chilly.

The two rooms in the apartment were decent sized and so were the bathrooms. The showers were quite powerful too. The beds were very comfortable and made for a cozy night's sleep.

The person in-charge was really nice and helpful. We got a last minute accommodation without much hassle. Communication was done via e-mail and all questions were promptly answered.

All in all, the whole family enjoyed their stay and hope to perhaps return at a later point in time when the sun's out and shining. You are very likely to feel comfortable so don't hesitate to book yourselves a room or an apartment there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

By far the best place to stay. Food, history, people was all awesome. Loved the dining room, by far the best English breakfast in England. Family are knowledgeable and fun. If you are going to stay anywhere and want a true Cornwall experience this is definitely the place to go. The house is also magnificent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed in the Coleridge room which was great; very spacious and with a lovely view of the grounds. The setting is beautiful, the owners were very helpful, it's very good value and we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trereife House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trereife House

Address: Near Newlyn | Off the A30, Penzance TR20 8TJ , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trereife House (pronounced Treave), a beautiful centuries old family owned Estate, steeped in history, is being lovingly restored by the 7th generation family and is now open to the public. The house and grounds offer an unforgettable setting for almost any occasion, warmly hosted by the Le Grice family, Tim, Liz, Georgie and Pete and their faithful hound Duke. The predominantly Queen Anne Manor House, which in parts dates back to the reign of Elizabeth 1, and the formal gardens, are set in rolling grounds, in the stunning countryside just outside Penzance, South West Cornwall. The location affords easy access to the beaches and the many other holiday attractions Cornwall provides, as well as a quiet retreat in the country, we have easy access to the main trunk roads and railway connections and Newquay airport is also within easy striking distance. We offer self-catering holidays on the estate, and bed and breakfast in our Queen Anne Manor and converted courtyard block. We regularly host country fairs, concerts, functions and other events and provide a unique setting and facilities for unforgettable weddings and other important occasions. The Estate also boasts home produce, a well known horse breeding stable and many other country family holiday pursuits suitable for all ages, as well as a treasure trove of history to explore. Whatever your interest we look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful much loved home, and to hosting whatever occasion you may wish to book, subject to availability. Join our mailing list to stay up to date with our exciting projects for 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Trereife House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trereife House Penzance, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trereife House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.