We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old location, Friendly and Relaxing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trereife House

Save Saved
You added Trereife House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trereife House
Near Newlyn | Off the A30, Penzance TR20 8TJ , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 83 Penzance B&B and Inns
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great old location, Friendly and Relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Rolling up the curving driveway to this old country seat provides an excellent view of the property and a good indication of the old-worldly charms it has to offer. Even though only staying for one night, we were rather excited to be there, and the experience only got better as our stay came to a short-lived close.

The owners were both friendly and very helpful, giving us the standard introduction to the house and our own room and indicating the location of the breakfast room for the next morning.

We had one of the smallest rooms Trereife offers, the larger rooms all being fully occupied, and the view from our semi-basement lodgings was of a stone built wall, but it was after all the cheapest suite, and although smaller than the others (we had a brief tour the following morning after some of the other guests had departed - to check for next time!) our room was well appointed and very comfortable. The bathroom was new and fully tiles, which was in contrast to the very light and airy bedroom.

A brilliant offering of breakfast items, the ubiquitous full-english being my choice while my better half opted for the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. All the guests were seated around the very large main dining table, creating a wonderful convivial atmosphere redolent of scenes from 'Jeeves & Wooster', while the breakfast staff were informative and very efficient. Good coffee, selection of teas, fresh fruit, cereals, porridge (it was too warm for that, we thought) and breakfast specials were all available, and waiting time was minimal.

We will return, and hopefully stay in one of the grander suites. It is probably worth enquiring when checking availability for the briday suite, we both thought is was beautiful and well worth the slightly higher price.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the bed canopy and good bath if you want some of the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
39
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We're just back from a week in the Scillies which we 'topped and tailed' with overnight stays at Trereife house. What a lovely place! even the steady drizzle of the typical summer's afternoon of our arrival didn't dampen our fist sight of the house, which looks like something from a Jane Austen novel. Our room was beautifully decorated, with great attention to detail (like the fresh-ground coffee and speciality teas on the tea tray) and combined top quality modern amenities where you need them (the bed and the bathroom) with what is obviously original furniture and artwork from the house, the best of both worlds. Breakfast was plentiful and beautifully cooked, and eaten 'en famille' around a grand (if somewhat creaky!) dining table. Shame about the pictures of dead game birds around the room though - not everyone's cup of tea!
We found it very conveniently placed for the ferry for the Scillies (and the heliport is just down the road) and it's ideally situated for Newlyn, Penzance, Mousehole and Land's End.
We'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at Trereife House recently as a base for an evening at the Minack Theatre. We were delighted with the place and wished we had booked for a longer stay. We enjoyed the fact that Trereife House is so different to the usual B & B accommodation on offer. The room was large and very comfortable with a view over the garden. We thoroughly enjoyed sharing the dinning room table with the other guests and breakfast was delicious. This hotel is very convenient for visiting West Cornwall and will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Trereife House last week. We stayed for two nights in Colderidge. The bedroom and bathroom were light, airy, very large and very clean. The views from our bedroom were lovely. The bed was lovely and comfortable, and huge! Breakfasts were fantastic, a large selection of locally sourced produce. Peter and his family do a great job of keeping the house beautiful and traditional and nothing seems too much trouble. Would definitely stay again. Just a couple of areas for improvement - We came back on our first night here to find we didn't have a main light in the bedroom and the lamps didn't work. Peter explained on our final morning at the house that we needed to switch a main switch to get the lamps to work. This should probably be explained on arrival. Also, could do with having shampoo and conditioner in the bathroom, i had to go out and buy some as i just expected these to be provided. Although i must stress i am only mentioning these to be constructive!

Room Tip: Colderidge is beautiful, and very large. Although i think it was the most expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Trereife House, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
We are so glad you decided to choose Trereife for you honeymoon and that you enjoyed your stay. How you describe the Coleridge room is exactly how we see it - just a great peaceful and relaxing room and perfect for special occasions

Just in answer to the two small issues - the side lights have a slightly unusual setup but I will let people know from now on. We are looking into a supply of Cornish made products for the bathroom.

I hope you both come back as it was very nice to get to know you, however you may want to wait until we see some summer weather!
All the best,

Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

A graceful old house, but easy to get to and a great base for exploring the far south-west of Cornwall. The room was large, well proportioned, comfortable beds. Breakfast was excellent, if you could ignore the paintings of dead birds, and don't mind sharing a large table with other guests. A couple of very minor grumbles: toiletries were dreadful - Palmolive hand wash and Radox shower gel - and there was no grab rail over the bath. Plugging in a hair dryer near a mirror was tricky

The grounds are extensive, and the formal garden exquisite. It was a lovely experience and I will return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zennor
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

My daughter chose Trereife House for her wedding, and it was nothing short of perfect. The house oozes medieval class and style, as does the beautiful garden, it was like stepping back in time, in the best way possible.This is the real thing. Pete and Georgie were impeccable hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The house slept 16 of the wedding party for 2 nights, included in the price, and the breakfast was superb. I cannot rate it highly enough. The marquee that catered for 130 guests, nestled in the garden without spoiling the view or setting.
Also, don't just think it as a wedding venue, I would recommend it as a perfect place to stay to any visiting friends and family.

Room Tip: Anywhere in the main house is full of atmosphere and well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellwood, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

My husband and I planned to visit Penzance on our trip to England. I'm not sure how my husband found this house, but I am glad he did! The house is beautiful, with an inviting/comfortable feel about it. The service was above and beyond what we could have ever expected. Pete was very friendly and helpful. We were offered a warm drink upon arrival and he even offered us a larger room than we originally booked. The breakfast was delicious, with fresh food from the local area. My husband and I were without a car on our trip, but it was only about a 10 minute walk into town to the bus stop. When we were ready to leave, Pete was nice enough to call us a taxi in the morning so that we could get to the train station. As we rode away from the house, my husband and I remarked how we weren't ready to leave yet and wished we could stay longer. I would highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trereife House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trereife House

Address: Near Newlyn | Off the A30, Penzance TR20 8TJ , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trereife House (pronounced Treave), a beautiful centuries old family owned Estate, steeped in history, is being lovingly restored by the 7th generation family and is now open to the public. The house and grounds offer an unforgettable setting for almost any occasion, warmly hosted by the Le Grice family, Tim, Liz, Georgie and Pete and their faithful hound Duke. The predominantly Queen Anne Manor House, which in parts dates back to the reign of Elizabeth 1, and the formal gardens, are set in rolling grounds, in the stunning countryside just outside Penzance, South West Cornwall. The location affords easy access to the beaches and the many other holiday attractions Cornwall provides, as well as a quiet retreat in the country, we have easy access to the main trunk roads and railway connections and Newquay airport is also within easy striking distance. We offer self-catering holidays on the estate, and bed and breakfast in our Queen Anne Manor and converted courtyard block. We regularly host country fairs, concerts, functions and other events and provide a unique setting and facilities for unforgettable weddings and other important occasions. The Estate also boasts home produce, a well known horse breeding stable and many other country family holiday pursuits suitable for all ages, as well as a treasure trove of history to explore. Whatever your interest we look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful much loved home, and to hosting whatever occasion you may wish to book, subject to availability. Join our mailing list to stay up to date with our exciting projects for 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and Priceline so you can book your Trereife House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trereife House Penzance, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trereife House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.