We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Just what we were looking for"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camilla House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Camilla House to your Saves list
Camilla House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   12 Regent Terrace, Penzance TR18 4DW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 88 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Berlin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Just what we were looking for"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Camila House was exactly the accommodation we were looking for. The room was immaculate and everything we desired was provided. The breakfast was lovely. It appears previous guests would agree; I rest my case. If you're looking for a place from which to explore the beautiful coasts of Cornwall then I'd say, make a reservation!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    13
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
106
27
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed in Camilla House for three nights last September and it offered everything you need for a bed and breakfast establishment. The rooms were a little small if carrying lots of luggage but that's England. They were beautifully appointed, however. The guest lounge and dining areas were substantial and inviting. The breakfasts were an excellent quality and the owners were extremely helpful with local attractions. Camilla House was also well located for a short stroll to pubs, the shops and the seaside as well as a short drive to places like Land's End.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Truly lovely stay! This was a bit of a "peaceful harbour" for me before going on to a very old friend who is dying. And what a great choice I made! I had the single ensuite which, while very small, had everything I needed, including a great shower. I thought that, because it was on the ground floor near the staircase, it would be noisy, but it was heavenly quiet. I slept the best here in my 2 weeks in England.

Other guests chatted to me (single traveller) in the morning over breakfast: interesting to see how many of them always stayed here on their regular visits to Cornwall! Breakfast was a choice presented the night before: choice included a preferred time to eat. I prefer an early start ( 7:30 am) but that was NEVER an issue with Simon (the host). He made me feel comfortable by saying that it allowed him time to spread out his attention with later arising guests, too. What a considerate response! Gave us time to chat, too.

Both Simon and Susan made a point of being available to guests: explaining the basics of Penzance, where to eat and drink, and how to contact them (if they were away). Simon arranged a half-day tour for me when the weather was poor, altho I did hate to track in my muddy shoes at the end of the day out! Extremely welcoming and pleasant. As I NEVER travel with a computer, was very grateful for the internet access provided in the lounge. It allowed me to touch base with home before the next stages of my trip.

ONLY recommendation I could make for improvement would be to offer an even "lighter" light version of breakfast! Not a big breakfast eater, I was embarrassed not to be able to complete all of the lovely, fresh, local food served. The selection of local cheeses was an especially nice touch.

I deliberately did not go to all local attractions, as I would LOVE to return and be treated (again!) like royalty! Thanks to you both, for a much needed respite.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a "preferred" room: they're all lovely and inviting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were warmly welcomed when we arrived here for a weekend stay with friends. The guest house is tastefully decorated and rooms equipped to a very high standard, with even the provision of scissors with which to snip the ground coffee sachet for the cafetiere. Lots of local products used including Cornish shortbread. The view from our room was lovely and the rooms very quiet as the guest house is set well back from the main road. The bed was comfortable and curtains thick enough to make the room wonderfully dark. As a radio listener (rather than a telly watcher) I was delighted to have both Radio and TV stations on the TV, and a radio alarm clock that did not require me to have a technology degree to operate it!! Breakfast choice was good, again using local produce where possible though it would have been nice to have been able to have it a little later than 0900 on a Sunday but that's just us being lazy I guess.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Simon and Susan are the most wonderful hosts. They are extremely helpful and accommodating. We went with our 2 year old daughter and had the most wonderful time. Susan spent a lot of time with us telling us the best places around and even helped plan our day

The sea views from the room are marvelous. The first floor rooms are slightly smaller though the view lying on the bed is far better as the large window is much closer to the bed than the one in the superior second floor rooms.

Breakfast is awesome. I cannot find a single thing that I can complain about.

Simon, Susan - keep up the great work!

Room Tip: Superior rooms are larger, but the rooms on the first floor have better view as window is larger and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everöd
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Booked 11 nights at Camilla House,Penzance. Been to Penzance quite a few times over the yeras and I've stayed in a few different guest houses over the years. When I arrived I was greeted by Susan,she was very friendly and was full of information on what to do in Penzance. I stayed in a single room on first floor with a magnificient view over Mount Bay, no ensuite, private toilet and shower upstairs. The room was reasonably big, very comfortable bed, very clean, nice fluffy towels (extra towels were in the shower, no need to bring the one in the bedroom), a bathrobe. When I go back (which I will) I will look for the same room again, it was very comfortable and the view makes it perfect. The breakfast was of the highest standard, served by Simon who was very friendly. I was always welcomed with a smile and a few friendly words.
In other words, I had a great time and I was very sorry to leave. Thank you Susan and Simon for making my visit to Penzance so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Pendower, if you are ok with no ensuite and having your private bathroom upstairs I ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoylake
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Arriving at Camilla house is a real pleasure -Susan and Simon go out of their way to ensure you are provided with a full orientation of Penzance with very useful suggestions about where to eat and where to visit. I had the ground floor single room which whilst small was perfect for my needs. The tea tray was well-stocked, a complementary btl of water & bowl of sweets -the icing on the cake. The small en-suite well planned with immediate and plentiful hot water & fluffy towels (A very small w.h.b. difficult to use). The breakfast choice was first class and the dining room beautifully decorated and very stylish. Camilla house is perfectly situated for exploring Penzance and they even have loan bikes again with suggestions and directions should you need them. Very much a top of the range B&B offering that bit extra - would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camilla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camilla House

Address: 12 Regent Terrace, Penzance TR18 4DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Camilla House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Camilla House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camilla House Hotel Penzance
Camilla Hotel Penzance
Camilla House Penzance, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camilla House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.