We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spice and nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant & Takeaway

The Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant & Takeaway
63 Daniel Place, Penzance, England
01736 366630
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 146 Restaurants in Penzance
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Penzance, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spice and nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Took some friends recently because we know its good. They left impressed. Food excellent - served hot. Good variety of curries. Service with a smile. I'll be back

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    47
    19
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“If this is the best curry place in Penzance we feel sorry for the residents!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

4 of us got curries from this place last night - the starters were nice, but the mains were bland and watery, raita with the starters was awful, soggy salad in plastic bags - and really expensive! I got a chicken karahi which tasted like chicken pieces in a can of chopped tomatoes, no spice or depth to it at all.
We did get a bottle of wine for spending more than £30 - that and the starters saved this place from a 1 star review.

Maybe we've been spoilt living close to Bradford which has some fantastic curry houses, but if this is the best Penzance has to offer then I feel sorry for those who live here and have no better options!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Top class food - excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just been to the Taj Mahal for a meal with my family - The restaurant is tucked away down a side road off the main costal road between Penzance and Newlyn and is easily missed but a visit here is an absolute must . The Decor and ambiance in the resteraunt is wonderful - its all very clean and beautifully set out . The staff could not be more helpful - very knowledgeable on all the dishes and happy to recommend based on what you say you like ( they have done this on 2 occasions for us and each time the recommendation has been first class and ideally suited to our tastes ) .The food itself is classic Indian plenty of flavour and perfectly presented - there are also a number of Nepalese dishes on which having tried a number of times I can certainly recommend. All the food was cooked fresh and arrived piping hot - it was all of excellent quality - - our dishes were all chicken dishes and all dishes has big pieces of diced chicken breast in them, full of flavour and along with the pilau rice and naan bread was easily enough to fill up our family of 4 without the need for starters or deserts ! - the very reasonable coffees with cream and chocolates was the icing on the cake and we where all offered free refills several times - a nice touch very much appreciated !! - overall wonderful food, beautiful restaurant and first class staff - a visit here will not leave you disappointed thats for sure !!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Berkshire
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Very good Indian restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This restaurant was just round the corner from our hotel, so we ate here on a rainy night during our holiday in Penzance The service was good and the food very good. There are lots of comings and goings, as it has a very busy take away service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Currys not to our tastes!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Finding this to be the number one Indian restaurant in Penzance on trip adviser, my wife and I were keen to eat here. We appreciate that currys vary fron region to region, but we were disappointed with the currys that we received.
I had Chicken Chilly masala. I expected a hot, creamy and fairly sweet curry. Unfortunately it was slightly bitter and not creamy at all. It tasted like a jar of curry sauce from a supermarket. When I spoke to the staff they quickly took it away and added some cream which made it more pleasant.
My wife had a Chicken Korahi which tasted rather bland. It didn't taste as if many spices had been used.
Not our taste I'm afraid so we won't be dining here again. I gave the restaurant 3 out of 5 because the service was good but the curry only deserved a 2.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant & Takeaway also viewed

 
Penzance, Cornwall
Penzance, Cornwall
 

Been to The Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant & Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant & Takeaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.