We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service ever!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Fish Cafe

Fat Fish Cafe
Wharf Road | The Wharf Apartments, Penzance TR18 2JY, England
44 (0)1736 369080
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 145 Restaurants in Penzance
Price range: $5 - $49
Cuisines: Italian, Tapas, British, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Fat Fish Café and Take Away serving you the best tasting fish and chips in Penzance - all dishes are homemade using locally sourced ingredients where possible. We are open all year round with free wifi and both indoor and outdoor seating. Whether you enjoy traditional fish and chips or prefer your fish simply grilled with new potatoes and vegetables, this is the place to eat them. Please note that all chips are cooked in palm oil making them suitable for vegetarians. If you follow a gluten free diet, you can still enjoy traditional fish and chips by requesting our celiac batter.It’s not all about fish and chips though. We do have varied breakfast items as well as delicious daytime dishes for you to choose from as well as our daily specials. Children have their own all day menu with dishes like ‘Pickers Platter’ designed specifically to cater to their tastes. You will find Fat Fish Café on Wharf Road opposite the harbour car park a minute’s walk from the railway and bus station and underneath Wharfside Apartments with eat in and take away food and wine. Private parties and events can be catered for, just give us a ring or call in to discuss your requirements. Whether you want just a coffee, glass of wine or a three course meal, you can be assured of a warm welcome from Lorraine and the team, so sit back and let us make your meal a memorable one!
St Ives, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Worst service ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were the only people in the chip shop and ordered, what I thought was an easy order, apparently not!
The food took so long and the man who served us was stood there on his mobile phone!
When he finally took the payment, he did it wrong and needed to get help from the chef!!
As we were waiting someone else came in to order and he started taking their food order and hadn't finished ours! He threw together two curry sauce and it was dripping down the sides, he didn't even put them in a bag!
Overall the service was terrible and the portions tiny! I will never be eating here again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    25
    13
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Struggling to find a chip shop
Open in February we ended up here. Haddock and chips were cooked fresh to order and were fantastic, fish was fresh and batter was crisp. Have tried to go back since but they have been closing up each time we have arrived, possibly need to consider staying open layer in spring / summer.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips? Not here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I was staying in Penzance last weekend, and on Sunday, I fancied some fish and chips. I asked friends for their recommendations. Unfortunately, their chip shop of choice was closed, and so I decided to try the take away. Sadly, I paid over £5 for frozen chips and haddock that certainly was not fresh. Fresh haddock has a slightly creamy texture and normally falls apart easily. This haddock was dry, lumpy and contained some bones. Very disappointing. One of the things I love about Cornwall and it's cafe's, restaurants and fish and chip shops, is food that is fresh and made with pride. This establishment does the Duchy no favours at all.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

On a recent visit to Penzance we found ourselves in here after discovering that the fish and chip shop that had been highly recommended to us was closed! This is a small little cafe next to the takeaway. It was fairly quiet when we visited. We all has fish and chips which were freshly cooked and delicious. The guy serving us was friendly. Prices were reasonable. Would recommend eating here

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

20th March we've just had a take away cod and chips ! And it was so delicious and perfectly cooked plus good value ! They deserve top marks

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Fish Cafe also viewed

 
Penzance, Cornwall
 

Been to Fat Fish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Fish Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.