We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got to be the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artist Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Artist Residence to your Saves list
Artist Residence
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   20 Chapel Street | The Georgian House, Penzance TR18 4AW, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 88 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Got to be the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

AR is a cozy yet vibrant hotel with touching quotes on walls, closets and on paintings in and out of the rooms.
Breakfast is definitely worth waking up early for (8-10am breakfast)
The staff are very friendly and welcoming. I felt at home.
The collection of pictures I have will remain to be great memories of my two night stay at AR.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlienewey, Manager at Artist Residence, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi Serena0509 :)
Thank you so much for your lovely review - we are so glad you enjoyed your room and also your breakfast, we are very proud of them and will be sure to pass this compliment on to the chef!
We hope that the collection of pictures do bring back some nice memories and we hope to see you again soon.
From,
Jill and Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    57
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
36
150
20
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rafz, Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are artisty like and very intersting... I liked that hotel... A lot of phantasy and wonders ;) it is situated near to the town center. Service was very kind. Breakfast was delicious. I recomend that hotel to every artist and all other people :D

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlienewey, Manager at Artist Residence, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Grigeli,

Thank you so much for writing a review for us!

We are so please that you enjoyed your stay and all the wonders the guesthouse has to offer!

We hope to see you again!

From
Mel and Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

As part of our accommodation during our Coastal walking holidays we selected this guesthouse upon the recommendation of one of the staff of Encounter Walking Holidays. I was a bit hesitant at first but I was assured that we would enjoy our stay .I was in for a big surprise! I found the place to be eclectic and has a "fun" atmosphere. The walls are decorated with different paintings which can be purchased as well as other quaint things which also can be purchased. We stayed in the Pink Room with murals on the wall. The color scheme is so uplifting and muted at the same time that it wasn't overwhelming. The size of the room was just fine. Apart from the uniqueness of this guesthouse, the other thing that stood out was the quality and the amount of food. There were different types of cereals as well as cut up pineapple and watermelon, then there was the greek yogurt with your choice of blueberries or rhubarb campote with home made granola as well as bananas and apples. There were about 6 different choices on the hot menu and each of them was to "die for." One day, I selected the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon on sour dough bread while my husband selected the "American style pancakes", topped with caramelized apples and raisins as well as what appears to be clotted cream. That was heavenly! The portions were large that we couldn't finish it after having eaten the yogurt and fruits. Mel was such a welcoming host and very helpful as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlienewey, Manager at Artist Residence, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Luv2trvl2010,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Pinky Vision Room!

We take such pride in our breakfast and are really pleased that you enjoyed the food so much!

We hope to see you again if you ever find yourselves walking the beautiful Cornish coast-paths!

From
Mel and Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had a wonderful 5 night stay in the AR Blank room - it was a fantastic room and being able to add your own stamp to the place was a real treat for budding artists and writers like us :) The breakfasts were phenomenal and HUGE! The staff are all super friendly and gave great recommendations on places to eat, drink and be merry! I cannot thank you all enough for making our break so much fun.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlienewey, Manager at Artist Residence, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Rebecca S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in the AR blank room- we do take take great pride in out breakfasts so we are really glad you found them "Phenomenal"!

We hope you come and visit us again soon!

From
Mel and Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a fantastic 1 night stay at the Artist Residence. We loved the quirky décor and the fact that each room is different. We stayed in the A R Blank room, which was tranquil and had a really comfy floating bed. The small kitchen area was an added bonus. The bathroom was small but extremely clean. The breakfast was lovely and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

The location is perfect - close to a range of interesting shops, pubs and restaurants and a short walk to the sea front.

Overall I would definitely recommend the Artist Residence!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlienewey, Manager at Artist Residence, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear SC79_10,

Thank you so much for writing a review!

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in the AR blank room! We are lucky to be surrounded by interest shops and good restaurants!

We hope to see you again in the future.

From
Mel and Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a fabulous 1 night stay at Artist's Residence. Love this unique guest house, rooms well appointed and styling is amazing. Fantastic selection at breakfast with lots of local produce. Perfect stay in a perfect place... can't wait to go again

Room Tip: Each room is designed different so make use of the website and choose which rooms you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlienewey, Manager at Artist Residence, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Stacey C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We love it when people love us! :-)

We look forward to seeing you in the future!

From
Mel and Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had booked directly through the website and stayed for five nights over late May bank holiday weekend. Although we were jetlagged and the weather was extremely variable (from very cold, very windy and wet to warm, calm and sunny) our stay at Artist Residence was comfortable and warm not just from the heating but also from Mel and Jill’s welcome and hospitality.

Our ‘Nautical Room’ was not big but was quiet, light, attractive, with clean white and colours: ‘sharp’, maybe a little ‘eccentric’ – and did have the view of sea and rooftops shown on the website. There are even handy little window seats in both bedroom and bathroom – great for enjoying the afternoon sun when it shines. (We couldn’t have the windows open when it was wet or windy, and when we mentioned to Mel that we like fresh air she immediately arranged for us to have a fan in the room.) Breakfasts were great – and huge – ‘hot choices’ from the menu being so filling that we generally shared one between us, after helping ourselves to the cereals, yoghurt, fruit and juice first.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlienewey, Manager at Artist Residence, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Judy O,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Penzance.

We believe the old saying "breakfast is the most important meal of the day" So we like to make sure every one has a belly full of yummy food to set them up for the day!

We hope to see you again in the future!

From
Mel and Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artist Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist Residence

Address: 20 Chapel Street | The Georgian House, Penzance TR18 4AW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Artist Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on historic Chapel Street in the heart of Penzance in a Grade 2 listed Georgian mansion. All our rooms and apartments are individually designed. Our artist rooms feature funky murals painted on to the walls by local artists. Our house rooms are eclectically decorated in a vintage style with Farrow and Ball paint, reclaimed furniture and limited edition prints. All rooms have a flat screen TV, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities and are en suite. Cooked breakfast is available in our newly refurbished dining area and is made using the finest local ingredients. You can also relax in our rustic neighbourhood restaurant. The Cornish Barn is open all day for hot and cold drinks and opens for dinner in the evening. Offering a menu of seafood, meat and vegetarian put together by chef Gareth Spencer using local Cornish produce. The hotel is just a five-minute walk from Penzance train station making us the perfect base for exploring West Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Artist Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist Residence Penzance, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artist Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.