We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pirate Inn

The Pirate Inn
Alverton, Penzance TR18 4PS, England
01736 366094
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 145 Restaurants in Penzance
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: English, British, Bar, Pub
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Hayle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
628 reviews 628 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 201 cities Reviews in 201 cities
318 helpful votes 318 helpful votes
“Odd place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

While visiting the auction house across the road we decided to drop in for lunch. Had pan fried fresh Mackeral which was delicious,while eating a chap asked how I liked it,seems he had caught it early that morning.
Cash only then may have changed
Large car park
"Note" This again needs tripadvisor to add "Good" between "Average" & "Very good" as it was neither as are many I have reviewed.
Would I go again,indeed yes.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    9
    4
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Love the place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Always good foos and nice atmosphere, can't wait for our return visit, thank you

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pirate Inn, Mens Pants.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

First and sadly only visit, bout a year ago now I think. Was a tuesday night and music was superb. Waiter was hell of a friendly, food was fresh as can be. Loved the place - happy memory. Proper job.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“self service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

i have eaten here on many occasions, never really get great service but the chef is good so i still return, however the amount of serf service is appauling, havingto shout thro the kitchen to get a waiters attention, the land lord is less than friendly, just a glare and a grunt and spent most of his time out the beer garden smoking and drinking vast amounts of beer behind the bar. however great location, amazing garden and kids area, would not recommend the sunday roast...

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely local pub serving great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I thought more than once about reviewing this pub because I don't want it filling up with people and then me not being able to get a table there!!

This is a small homely pub frequented by the local people who live nearby. You might think that is obvious but the Alverton residents have discerning taste and would vote with their feet if it was sub standard!!

The staff are friendly and the beer is good. The food is very tasty and well worth ordering.

But make sure you don't go there on a Friday (coz that's when I like to go and I want to make sure I can get in!!)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pirate Inn also viewed

Penzance, Cornwall
 
Penzance, Cornwall
Penzance, Cornwall
 

Been to The Pirate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pirate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.