We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minack Theatre

Minack Theatre
Porthcurno, Penzance | Cornwall, Penzance TR19 6JU, England
01736 810181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 55 things to do in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This open-air theatre is dramatically situated on the cliffs at Porthcumo, near Land's End, and hosts a season of plays and musicals from May to September.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

You have no idea the theatre exists until the ground drops away in front of you to reveal a stepped terrace down to a stage with the backdrop of the Atlantic Ocean; absolutely amazing.

To read the history and understand that one lady built this theatre with the help of her gardeners is amazing.

I could and did spend ages just absorbing the atmosphere whilst gazing out to see.

A must see location when in this part of the world.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,453
    255
    40
    13
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Magnificent views!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

First time to visit the place though no more plays as it was fall season already, still what an amazing place.. The sun was shining thru when we were there and a bonus, only few of us in that morning around 10:40. Which is a good thing coz you can really capture a nice photo!!! Will surely be back in the summer to watch a play..

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We went to the minack on two occasions. Once during the day to learn about the amazing lady Rowena Cade. Great setting and very interesting. We were also lucky enough to get tickets for a production of a mid summer nights dream the following evening and all I can say is that I have never had a theatre experience like that before and I don't think I will ever again. Amazing!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“just breathtaking!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

wow what a place - luckily for us on the most beautiful sunny day - not a cloud in the sky.

Has to be one of the most wonderful places in this country - views fabulous.

Restaurant good - one downfall-let dogs in restaurant - shame!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Views to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

First time visit, will return again. Despite visiting after the last shows of the season, the views were worth the entrance fee alone. I would suggest you will not see anything like this theatre throughout the world. The views are stunning helped by the unseasonably warm weather and the history behind the evolvement of theatre from its inception was truly fascinating. The little shop attached was quaint with some great and reasonably priced artwork was available for purchase. Will return next year to see a show without doubt. One final point, after paying entrance fee this time we have received free entry next time we return next year.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minack Theatre also viewed

 
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Minack Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minack Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.