We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anne Boylen at the Minack” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minack Theatre

Minack Theatre
Porthcurno, Penzance | Cornwall, Penzance TR19 6JU, England
01736 810181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 24 Attractions in Penzance
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This open-air theatre is dramatically situated on the cliffs at Porthcumo, near Land's End, and hosts a season of plays and musicals from May to September.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Anne Boylen at the Minack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We went to watch the play Anne Boylen on Tuesday night. I was bit unhappy that when I went to the manned tills I was snootly told that these were the box office tills and I should be waiting at the empty till for the shop keeper.
The theatre is a fabulous venue and during act one we watched the tide fall and Gannets swoop as the play was performed and marveled at the moon rising and the lighthouse at lizard point flashing the background of the second act

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,373
    243
    35
    12
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stunning cliff-top location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We popped in to the Minack Theatre as we passed by on a coastal walk. For just £4 entry it was well worth it - the views are incredible, and the amount of work that went in to creating it is quite mind blowing. There is a display / mini museum about the founder of the theatre which is fascinating.

It isn't a full day out (we were there about 30 -45 minutes) but it is quite unique so definitely worth popping in.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

One of the best sea views you will get probably in the whole world. it is an outstanding place of beauty and the vast expanse of water in front of you just blows you away.
A must-see place if in Cornwall; a walk to the beautiful Porthcurno beach is also a must (we couldn' do it as it was very breezy on the day)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Take your cushions, rugs and a picnic (or hire there) and enjoy the views and show. Seeing a large red moon as it rose in the sky was a great bonus.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An absolute must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Having spent a day with my young family at the nearby & very lovely Porthcurno beach - we stumbled upon this impressive attraction some years ago & vowed to return and witness a production. Well it's taken 9 years but it was definitely worth the wait - we saw 'Anne Boleyn' here on Monday and I must say that, given the extraordinary setting, fine cast (particularly James I & the Cardinal Wolsey) & script, it is undoubtedly the best theatre going experience I've ever had!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minack Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Minack Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minack Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.