We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base, great breakfast, great hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashton Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ashton Guest House to your Saves list
Ashton Guest House
14 Mennaye Road, Penzance TR18 4NG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 91 Penzance B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great base, great breakfast, great hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at Ashton Guest House. It is a fantastic base and about 15 mins from Penzance town centre. Here you can get a train or bus to most places. The rooms are light and airy, and June's cooked breakfasts are to die for. Stewart and June are fantastic hosts and made us feel so welcome. They have excellent local knowledge and recommend local restaurants and even offered to book tables and drive us there! They couldn't have been more hospitable and we felt like we were staying with friends. Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
26
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We are a couple in our early 60s who had a great time exploring Penzance and its surrounding area. Our room was clean and comfortable, the breakfasts were excellent and our hosts were friendly and helpful. The en-suite was large and had a bath as well as a shower and hot water was available as required. Ashton house is very well located for exploring both Penzance and Newlyn. We hope to stay there again before too long.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We spent 9 wonderful nights staying with June and Stewart in April and May of 2012 - their home became our home during that time and they were very warm and welcoming to us.
The location is terrific being only a few minutes walk to the sea front and also to Market Jew Street and the wonderful Penlee Museum and Art Gallery. Plenty of places nearby to eat at reasonable prices.
An added bonus was that it was in a very quiet location and street parking was always available and safe for those with a hire car.
Would highly recommend to other visitors from Australia.

Room Tip: Our room was in the front of the house and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I've stayed at the Ashton Guest House twice already and certainly intend to go back there. It's a lovely, small B&B with 3 spotless, nice rooms and great cooked breakfasts. The owners, Stuart and June, are exceptionally welcoming and really make you feel at home. From the Ashton Guest House's only a short walk to the seafront or into the centre of Penzance.
It's by far the nicest place I've stayed in in Penzance!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trawool, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

For all those arty and fun loving people, I thoroughly recommend staying with Stewart and June of Ashton Guest House in Penzance, Cornwall.

It is my second stay at Ashton Guest House, both in summer and winter. As an Australian artist, I was very keen to capture the Cornish atmosphere in both those seasons. My host and hostess went out of their way in directing me to places of interest in the local area for sightseeing, photography and painting. I also had use of Stewart's studio which was fantastic, and as a prolific painter Stewart is more than happy to show you his collection of paintings both in oil and watercolour.

As residents in the area for quite a number of years, they are familiar with the many fine local eateries.

So to all those travelers who enjoy photography, painting and sightseeing and wish to experience the "Cornish Light", take a trip to Penzance, true pirate country and have a stay with Stewart and June of Ashton House.

Cheers from your Aussie Travellers

Room Tip: I have stayed in both front and back of the Guest House, and they all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Great guest house, friendly and welcoming hosts. I'd definitely recommed.
When I arrived my room was not yet ready because of an e-mail mix up, but the owners were brilliant and the whole thing was immediately cleared.
The place is incredibly quiet at night - a definte bonus. Only downside was, you get quite a bit of light through the glass panel above the door, from the safety light they keep on all night in the hall.
There was a huge selection of relevant brochures and books in the room, as well as fresh flowers. The location itself is very convenient for exploring West Cornwall (I was travelling by public transport, and there's a bus stop just at the end of the road).
Overall, the owners, June and Stewart, made me feel as though I was staying with friends (I actually had breakfast in their own kitchen!). Instead of finding it annoying, as another reviewer reported, I think it should be part of a good b&b experience.
If you are allergic, bear in mind that the owners have a cat and a dog (both very well behaved).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We've just come back from our romantic weekend away in Cornwall & wished we'd chosen a different place to stay in Penzance! The guest house itself is in a desperate need of updating & refurbishing and the owner needs to back off and give his guests some space.
I guess he tried to be friendly but it felt like he was waiting by the door every time we left out room!
For some reason it was unusually cold at night & the cold itself woke me up. No blankets were available & in result Ive caught a cold!
Now breakfast.. I had a weetabix & when I asked Steward (the owner) for a warm milk he reluctantly warmed it up in a microwave. The milk was barely lukewarm! My husband was given one egg, 2 bacons & few mushrooms. No toast was offered!
The shower in the bathroom was made foe giants, if you are less than 5''10 then you wont be able to reach it.
We paid £70 for one night but it was worth no more than £40 max.
Avoid!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PirateCornwall, Owner at Ashton Guest House, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
We feel that the comments made by this guest were grossly unfair and not a single word of complaint was made during their overnight stay. The female arrived with a cold, it was August and they left their window open. Extra blankets are provided if requested, not usual for August! The whole house had been recently refurbished and redecorated including their room and as they arrived late and left early they only saw the dining room and their room. They were both offered a Full English Breakfast including toast of course, the female declined any cooked food the male when asked said the breakfast he had was fine! As she was clearly unwell on arrival we gave her cold disprin tablets and offered to contact our doctor for her. We refute any suggestion that we were unhelpful in anyway whatsoever including warming the guest milk! We would suggest that perhaps her comments were clouded by the fact that she did not feel well when she arrived. We suggest that readers read the other TripAdvisor reviews and the reviews on our own web page and come to their own conclusion on this review.

Stewart & June Kent, Joint Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton Guest House

Address: 14 Mennaye Road, Penzance TR18 4NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashton Guest House is a Victorian property located in the conservation area, only five minutes walk from either the promenade or town. In addition to the recently furnished en suite bedrooms we have a courtyard patio and Artist Studio on the top floor. The current owners June and Stewart Kent give a warm, friendly and relaxed welcome to visitors from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ashton Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashton Guest House Penzance, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashton Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.