We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nouvelle cuisine in a pub!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Navy Inn

The Navy Inn
Queen Street, Penzance TR18 4DE, England
01736 333232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 145 restaurants in Penzance
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nouvelle cuisine in a pub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Although looking like a typical pub, the Navy Inn has a menu definitely aimed at the foodie market. I love fresh fish so was delighted by the choice on offer. The food was fresh and delicious but a tad pricey. I had crab to start, which came as two quinelles of fresh crab, a crab brulee and cheese straws. Main was a duo of fresh fish served with butternut squash and caviar. We ordered garlic mash potato on the side so was disappointed when the main came with mash already - I would have hoped this would have been highlighted by the waitress. There were only two wait staff on who served the food and worked behind the bar, which meant they were running round most of the night. Despite this they were very friendly and as attentive as they could be. Wine by the glass was not cheap. Overall good food but expensive for the environment you were in and the level of service on offer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    90
    48
    26
    14
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Food so good it nearly made me cry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Very attentive service, fresh and well prepared, delicate flavours in side dishes and deserts, well kept ale, a superb treat, recommended (a must) for any foodie.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Rude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went to the Navy Inn for a drink and to check out the menu to possibly eat there the following evening. Unfortunately we were treated like second class citizens due to not wanting to have a meal there and then. As a result we never went back. I have never been made to feel so unwelcome anywhere before or since.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kreuzlingen, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

had the most disappointing moules ever. very expensive, only small portion and no frites but only a tiny loaf of bred.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floh, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ab fab food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were looking for a place that offers nice fish dishes that are not "just fried" - the NAVY INN was a treasure to come by. It's not cheap food, but it's worth the price and the staff is helpful and friendly aswell. We had a fantastic mixed plate of everything to start with and later 2 dishes of fresh fish with a great white wine ... well, the perfect end of a day!
THANK YOU!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Navy Inn also viewed

Penzance, Cornwall
Penzance, Cornwall
 
Penzance, Cornwall
Penzance, Cornwall
 

Been to The Navy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Navy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.