We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely garden and cream tea too” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trengwainton Garden

Trengwainton Garden
Madron, near Penzance, Cornwall, Penzance TR20 8RZ, England
01736 363148
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 55 things to do in Penzance
Attraction details
Honiton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“lovely garden and cream tea too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

thoroughly enjoyed our walk through gardens and sampled a lovely cream tea sat outside.
would have been nice if tea garden grass had been cut - that was the only small downfall.-
that area could be made lovely.
staff very friendly.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    71
    20
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful estate with a Pride and Prejudice style manor house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A beautifully managed estate with wonderful plantions of exotics and natives. Charming little tea room on site serving delightful cream teas. They were even serving fresh food grown in the adjacent walled gardens! Lovely walks around the site leading to the hilltop 'arbor view' and wonderful regency period manor house surrounded by carefully tended lawns. it made me think of Jane Austin. Would recommend this garden to anyone visiting west Cornwall.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Atmospheric in the Rain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Lots of spectacular plants and a pleasantly up hill and down hill walk.
The walled gardens are impressive.
I think the plants could do with a lot more 'labelling' - a few are - but seems to be no pattern or reason.
The walled gardens seem oddly 'overgrown' - some of this is historic - but as with the rest - i am sure a 'planned strategy' would be in order here.
It is an odd layout and lacks signage - you turn up at a car park (or two) and it was not apparent where to go - the toilets and Cafe are in one place and the 'shop/entrance' in another - then as the 'House' is in private hands you edge along 'private' signs - and even the 'walled' area is similarly divided.
I thought more 'explanation' would have been in order.
But as a NT member definitely worth a visit

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Visited only to eat this time. Had lovely soup and really well filled tasty sandwiches. It was lovely day so able to eat in the garden. Glad to see the use of Waspinators which really seemed to work as I remember a wasp problem at the tearoom last year. (must buy a couple for home).
Not cheap but worth a treat.
Nice clean toilets.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Lovely lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stopped here for a few hours, enjoying our National Trust membership whilst on holiday in Cornwall. My wife & I enjoyed walking the gardens and reading some of the information. Gift shop was nice and we sampled food and drink too where the quality, service and price was as expected an attraction like this. Good Loo facilities.
Worth a look!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trengwainton Garden also viewed

 

Been to Trengwainton Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trengwainton Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.