We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, will recommend to everyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Corner House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Corner House to your Saves list
The Corner House
20 Marine Terrace, Penzance TR18 4DL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 90 Penzance B&B and Inns
Paignton
1 review
“Superb, will recommend to everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were struggling to find somewhere for a short break and eventually had a look at Penzance. We picked on the Corner House and as soon as we arrived, we knew we had chosen well.
We were greeted by Norman who was very welcoming and full of helpful advice.
We stopped for 3 nights, the room had a great sea view and was spotlessly clean.
Diane was lovely and the choices for breakfast were great.
Great place, great people, great room, great food.
We'll be back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    10
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights 25th to 28th August 2012, great location and we were made to feel very welcome. Our room was very clean and cosy and the breakfast was top class. Norman was very helpful in recommending places to eat and drink and we weren't dissapointed in his suggestions.
Overall we felt that we had recieved very good value for money and would definately stay again.

John and Sue Dunning
Portsmouth

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

booked for four nights, only stayed for two and left to go elsewhere. The room was really clean which was a positive but it was so small, The en-suite you could hardly move in, it was so small.
There was hardly any storage space and the furniture was rattan so couldn't be cleaned properly. The mirror was on a wall that you couldn't stand in front of. The breakfast was very basic, cheap sliced bread, cheap sausages, there were no choices such as having scrambled egg on toast as I didn't want a full cooked breakfast. There was no parking which we knew before arriving but we were told there was parking on the main street outside, maybe we were niave as the main street is on the seafront but the owner could have warned us, when we went to our car in the morning, the whole car was covered, and I mean covered in seaweed. The weather was poor which is no ones fault but we became fed up sitting in that tiny room we decided to lose the £150 paid for the 3rd and 4th night to go elsewhere to ensure our holiday wasn't spoilt. Small thing but I think in a B & B with lots of people using the towels, they have to be white so you can see they have been washed thoroughly, the pink and purple towels really put me off.

Room Tip: Only book if you can get the sea view room as our room was terrible at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Read all the reviews and thought "this place can't be that good" but it was! Lovely, warm welcome from owners Diane and Norman, delicious breakfasts and a fabulous location on the prom - who could want for more. We stayed for a week in the four poster room and really couldn't find any fault with this gorgeous little B+B. It was full all the time we were there which goes to show how popular this place is.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We arrived early off the sleeper train, to leave our luggage with them, where we were invited for a tasty breakfast. We stayed in a beautiful room, and Norman and Diane gave us great advice on what to see and do in the surrounding area. They even let us leave our luggage on departure to come back for it later. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, Dorset
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

First off, I had to smile at the most recent review, as I think they stayed in our room just before we did!

We arrived a couple of days ago and was met by Norman at the door. He was very welcoming, chatty and gave us some good local information before we'd even unpacked our bags. This isn't a bad thing, but shows a level of customer service that really helps a new person to the area.

We also stayed in room 4, which was small. I think we were also thankful we didn't bring more luggage but it was large enough for a short stay..especially since we're using it mainly as a base. The room was quiet and the bed comfortable. The en-suite was a little pokey, but is well-decorated and the shower is lovely.

The breakfast (albeit very early and for a short period of time) is well-stocked with cereals, fruit, juices, pastries, etc...and the full-english breakfast is big enough to stock you up for the morning.

Norman and Denise were also really, really lovely. We had a couple of nice chats, and they were very helpful with local knowledge about where to eat and what to do.

All in all, the room served our purposes for the time we were there, and I'd definately recommend it to friends and family.

Thanks Norman and Denise!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Corner House and were welcomed by Norman on arrival. Our room (no 4) was very small so we were glad we didn't bring more luggage, that said, it was comfortable and quiet.
We were quite surprised that breakfast was so early and for such a short period (8 - 8.30) and we would have preferred a lie in. It was freshly prepared with quality ingredients, however, and at least we were then able to make an early start each day.
Diane was able to give us good tips on how to get around by public transport and advise on local restaurants worth visiting.

No luggage is available which is also a shame, especially if you have a late train like we did. There is a pub opposite the station, the boat house, that only charges 2 pounds per bag (and they did not count our hand luggage which was very kind).
Not sure i would rush back to this B and B but it served a purpose for the weekend.

Room Tip: There are sea view rooms which are bigger. Try to avoid number 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Corner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House

Address: 20 Marine Terrace, Penzance TR18 4DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Corner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Corner House Penzance, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corner House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.