We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Blast from the Past with Great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harris Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Harris Restaurant
46 New Street, Penzance TR18 2LZ, England
01736364408
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 152 Restaurants in Penzance
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Blast from the Past with Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A cosy little restaurant reminiscent of my youth (a long time ago!). Our party of four had starters and main courses at lunchtime.
Each of these dishes were thougtfully prepared and enjoyed immensely. My starter of Moules Marinieres, in a truly excellent sauce, was exceptional. The service was fine, being most informative and efficient.
I look forward to my next visit to Penzance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mosbach, Germany
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“great eat out with atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

we really enjoyed the food. The service was tip top and if you like a tablecloth and proper napkins than this is the place to eat. The food was really enjoyable, fresh and well prepared. The restaurant is very small and only had about 8 tables or so, which adds to the atmosphere.
A restaurant for old and young this is a great place to eat in style. Prices were reasonable,a good bottle of white for just 25 Pounds is excellent value for money!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simply superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I make a trip at least once a year to Penzance and we always treat ourselves to a meal at Harris'. Ok, the decor might feel a bit dated but the food is always fantastic. The service is excellent and the wine list, whilst not extensive, does provide some tasty options.

This is a gem of a restaurant and the quality of the cooking is always top notch. Treat yourself, you won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Rather old-fashioned”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This restaurant has a michelin listing and presents itself with the style one might associate with such prestigious company. The style is all rather on the surface however and although elements of the meal were good none of it was exceptional. With the main courses we were presented with 6 small new potatoes to accompany two dishes said to be with potatoes. Admittedly we did not ask for more but any decent restaurant would ask if we were satisfied. The final straw was the dessert menu, presented without prices; a practice long lost anywhere else. Finally the only coffee on offer was cafetiere. Clearly the espresso revolution has not yet reached this restaurant. Would not recommend

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Harris's (not "Harris" by the way) is an old-fashioned fine-dining establishment serving a variety of well-structured dishes and an impressive selection of good wines, including some excellent half bottles of both reds and whites. This is not the place for you if you are looking for pub grub, pub prices, and to hang your anorak on the back of your chair, as some reviewers seemed to be. I think the distorted ranking is due to the small number of reviews, and this has placed Harris's so low on the Penzance restaurant totem pole; it is obviously the best by far in terms of quality, something much appreciated by the other diners here last night, none of whom were British!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harris Restaurant also viewed

 
Penzance, Cornwall
 

Been to Harris Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harris Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.