We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but certainly not cheerfull” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Lugger Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Lugger Hotel to your Saves list
The Lugger Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   The Promenade, 3 Marine Terrace, Penzance TR18 4DL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 91 Penzance B&B and Inns
Looe
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Cheap but certainly not cheerfull”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I think the polite term for this hotel would be 'tired' , It was as if someone had left our room in 1975 and we were the first ones to open the door since then,...Heavily patterned carpet, white melamine wardrobe, with unmatching stained dressing table, no headboard on the bed, a mirror stuck on the wall cockeyed, the bathroom was awful, an old steel bath ( i think anyway ) black mould behind the taps, the shower trickled out, toilet seat didn't fit, miss matched tiles. It was certainly an eyeopener.
On the up side the breakfast was good, but i really didn't want to stay here when i saw the room, and couldn't wait to get out in the morning,
It should be a crime to take peoples money and provide them with type of accomodation, but i
guess the only way to force these hoteliers to change is NOT to stay with them

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    30
    18
    23
    21
See reviews for
25
53
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Horsham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Four of us, who don't get together very often spent a week here.
The hotel itself was rather outdated, we didn't expect ultra modern, but it really did need an update.
Saying that, it was very clean, the staff were jolly and helpful too. The rooms that we were given were brilliant, two floors up, overlooking the sea front, and great for people watching in between times..
Wedding receptions are popular there and the one that took place never spoilt our stay. Noise was kept to a minimum and it all finished by eleven pm. so not unreasonable.
The food was very good and in the evenings when we would usually eat out, we had several meals in, as it was so nice. Excellent service, home cooked and quick, we were not rushed and plenty of time for a walk after.
There are also plenty of eating places within a short flat walking distance..
The location is excellent, parking was available at the hotel, but spaces are very limited, however there is no problem parking in the road at the front (it is free) ..Next to the road is the promanade, so clear view of the sea., the tide hardly goes out so rather a narrow beach and stony too, not really child friendly. A hundred yards along the road there is a large, old, but well maintained Lido...
Pretty Newlyn harbour is within walking distance, and driving through is no problem, and further along is Mousehole a tiny extremly picturesque village and harbour, but be warned, the streets here are extremely narrow and driving around can be quite tricky..
There are lots of places to visit St. Micheal's Mount is very interesting, and of course a longer journey would take you to The lost Gardens of Heligan and The Eden Project. Closer is Land's end and The Lizard. Must sees...A superbly interesting Telegragh Museum is at Porth Curno.. The list goes on.
To sum up, The Lugger is in a great location,,, Excellent food, and clean...Needs a little TLC.
No Lift..

Room Tip: Second floor front, with bay windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Just about OK. 1 night enough. Bit run down, needs to be closed for the winter and refurb. Bad smell from drains coming UP into our bathroom. Noisy could do with double glazing on front . What i will say is they had the BEST bath towels i've ever had in a hotel anywhere.Sunday lunch..mm lots of it but quality lacking

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed in one of the top rooms with a fabulous view of the harbour from St Michael's Mount to Newlyn. It was fantastic to sit and gaze at the sea while having a relaxing beverage. The only negative aspect of our stay was that the bathroom fan from the room below was under our floor and when this was on it was like having a jet engine in the room. This would be no problem if the people below were not totally obsessed by going in and out of the bathroom and leaving the fan on!
Breakfast was wonderful, and getting out of the carpark in the morning was a right laugh.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Gwent
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We did not stay at the Hotel but a local heard us saying we were looking for a good Sunday Lunch and told us we just HAD to go there. The Wheelhouse Inn is attached to the Lugger Hotel.
Not a place that would attract you in if you were passing but dont be fooled by that because they serving a cracking Sunday Lunch. You have about 5 different meats to choose from and you can have a bit of each if you want, from then on in you have sooooo many choices of veg and potato`s your head spins, try the spinach in ricotta cheese and garlic, to die for i can assure you.All the food was cooked perfectly and even though you could only go up once you could pile it up to the sky first time.
A nice note was pensioners came in and they were well looked after as in helping them with their plates etc, nice touch. I take 1 mark off for the exterior as the food was brill.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were staying for one night before taking the ferry to Scilly, so just wanted somewhere convenient to stop over. The Lugger certainly fitted the bill. We booked a budget room for £65, which included breakfast. There is a small carpark, but parking is also available on the promenade itself. The room was clean and comfortable - tea/coffee, TV, small en suite shower room. We got a good night's sleep, and with breakfast being served from 7.30am, were able to eat a leisurely breakfast before the five minute walk to the quay for the ferry. No complaints about breakfast. There is a bar, which is average, and food is available, although we didn't eat there except for breakfast. We found the staff friendly and helpful. If you're looking for somewhere chic and upmarket you probably need to spend a bit more money in Penzance, but I would recommend The Lugger for a convenient overnight stop - I'd be happy to stay there again before the boat to Scilly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilminster
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

It was very clean ,comfortable beds,food was ok to good,friendly and helpful. Wouldn't want a long stay 2-3 days enough. Car park needs a bit of organization.

Room Tip: room 8 has lots of room sleeps 5 you can just see the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lugger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lugger Hotel

Address: The Promenade, 3 Marine Terrace, Penzance TR18 4DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lugger Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Lugger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugger Hotel Penzance
The Lugger Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lugger Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.