We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely weekend stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tolcarne Beach Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tolcarne Beach Apartments to your Saves list
Tolcarne Beach Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Tolcarne Beach | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2QN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location, lovely weekend stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Just spend a weekend here with my friends. Main objective was to go clubbing and chill during the day. Apartment we stayed in had a great lay-out and kitchen was well equipped. Loved the bedding and towels. Couches were excellent for chilling and view was amazing, so close to the beach. Staff were lovely and very helpful in any way. Do try and visit the Kahuna Beach restaurant, as they have really nice food. Hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    23
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
high wycombe
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just returned from the lovely Tolcarne Beach Apts - truly amazing location, right on the beach where you can watch the world go by (and the surfers!). They were perfectly equipped with everything we needed, spacious and the staff were lovely too. Really couldn't fault the place and I'll stay again and again if I have the opportunity.

Room Tip: Get one of the 8 sleepers for an amazing view out your top window - stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I booked these apartments for my friends Hen Party. The minute we got there the girls were really excited as the are so pretty with beautiful views. The balconies over looking the beach is the perfect place for pre night out drinks.

There were cupcakes and champagne on arrival which was a really nice touch.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat and would recommend them to anyone. I can not see how anyone could be disappointed.

Thanks to Millie who was polite and made sure we had everything we needed and the night security man who was friendly and made sure we all got down the steep stairs safely in our heels!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

There are few locations where you can stay right on the beach! well ok there may be world wide, but not for this sort of money. The facility is simply perfect sit on your balcony only meters from the ocean, if your into watersport you cant ask for more, no trailing boards for long walks to the waves here, and the apartments are brilliant clean and perfectly set out. the staff are so so very friendly. I go here twice a year, every year, the only problem I can think of about writing this review is that some of you may take this seriously and book the place up, yes it is that good. all the apartments are great the smallest is certainly not small and the master bedroom in the top floor with fully opening roof windows is a simple luxury on top of a perfectly located and equipped facilty.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

A great alternative to a B&B, cannot beat the location - open the hut door to the beach! ..Just behind the huts (depending on season) there is a bar/ restaurant / cafe which can (by prior arrangement) arrange a beach BBQ for a number of guests! Alternatively yoy can ordeer from the menu. - the Showers are clean and roomy and there is a seperate kitchen are for guest use - although not sure it ever gets used. Shacks sleep up to 4 in two bunk beds and are comfortable and have (when i visited) 24 /7 security hut located nearby. Lots of steps! as its at the bottom of a cliff. Take your family on a beach hut break they will not forget today! ...I promise be it with a friend, spouse or family (inc kids) - it will be enjoyable.

Room Tip: beach bar is directly behind shacks, so if a BBQ is planned it may be a little more noisy for a time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Had a lads weekend planned in Newquay, googled cheap hotel newquay and this place popped up. £210 for 3 nights in a 2 bed apartment........Expecting something similiar to a travelodge standard, couldn't of been further from the truth.

Absoloutley amazing apartment, perfect location on the beach and unbelievable value for money!

Just book it, you will love it!

Room Tip: All the apartments looked the same from the outside, the upstairs bedroom was the best of the two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights over the New Year and absolutely loved it. The apartments are all named after local lighthouses and we were in ‘Godrevy’ which is a 2 bed in the middle of the block.

The apartments don’t look anything special from the outside but are really beautiful inside and have been equipped to a high standard. There was plenty of cutlery (all matching and clean!), washing up liquid, scourers and tea towels in the kitchen, as well as tea/coffee/sugar and milk. The showers were nice and hot although the en suite shower did not have very good pressure so we used the shower in the main bathroom instead which was much better. My only negative comment re the bathrooms was that there was no hand soap in either and I think this should be provided as standard. The bed was very comfy and the black out blinds were amazing.

The front room has 2 x double glazed doors leading to a balcony overlooking the sea. It was too cold to enjoy the balcony but the views from the sofas were beautiful. The front room does not have a heater in it so we did find it got chilly, although warm blankets were provided on the sofas.

The apartments are situated right on the beach, and are accessed by a steep winding road or about 130 steps.

Tolcarne beach is a popular spot for surfing. I had a surf lesson on the beach from an instructor based at the surf school on Fistral beach which was great fun and very reasonable.

I would definitely recommend the apartments and would love to go back when the weather is a bit nicer!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tolcarne Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tolcarne Beach Apartments

Address: Tolcarne Beach | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tolcarne Beach Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right on the beach in four star style. All of our apartments have seaview balconies along with seaview master en-suite upstairs. There is also parking right down on the beach for one car per apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Tolcarne Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tolcarne Beach Apartments Hotel Newquay
Tolcarne Beach Apartments Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tolcarne Beach Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.