We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice scones!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boathouse

The Boathouse
South Quay Hill | The Harbour, Newquay TR7 1HT, England
+44 1637 874062
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 172 Restaurants in Newquay
Price range: $13 - $67
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice scones!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Had a lovely cream tea here - nothing beats warm scones! Great staff, nice food & good location - would liked to have sampled the seafood on offer but that will have to wait for another day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    90
    26
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My friends and I were asking around places to eat in Newquay and the hotel where we were staying suggested The Boathouse, since we wanted seafood.

We came there at about 9 pm, since that was the only available for a group of 5 diners. Food was great, considering that it was fresh, it was a tad expensive, but it was worth it. We shared a full Fruit de Mers, and a Half Fruit de Mers , and 1 crab, and it was more than what we could eat, taking into consideration that all of us were ravenous diners.

Although, my friend did had an issue with one of the crabs legs that was served with the seafood platter. The crab leg smelled funny, thus she was not able to finish her share. Our mains also arrived more than 30 minutes after our nibbles arrived, and they were asking us to order more nibbles, but we told them that we didn't want to get full on bread and olives. We were slightly turned off by their slight persuasion. If they were having trouble in the kitchen, apologize, but don't force your customers to order more apperitif.

Over all, dinner was still good. And would probably still return again despite of.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in Newquay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Celebrated Daughter-in-Law's birthday there for the 2nd year running. Fabulous setting, watched
the seals playing in the harbour and local kids tombstoning off harbour wall. The fresh catch of the day (hake) was absolutely delicious. Can't wait to eat there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Whilst on holiday in Newquay we booked a table for the three of us at the boathouse we arrive and where seated on a spacious table overlooking the harbour, we ordered our food and wine,
Our son who is nine had scallops but did not want the black pudding, I had them with and also 3oysters and my wife had lobster and prawn salad they were all amazingly fresh and tasty, followed by mussels for little one and spider crab for me a whole one which was fun to eat and really cooked to perfection and my wife had pollock in the lightest tastiest batter ever, we were full but decided to share a couple of chocolate brownies just because we could not resist they were the best, the staff all friendly, a must I think when on holiday, do yourselves a favour and go the quality is fab and fresh

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perfect as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

When we stay at Holywell Bay, we always find the time for lunch at this brilliant restaraunt. Again, they didn't let us down from a beautifull bowl of mussels to georgous fish & chips it was all excellent. The kids loved the lobsters !

We will be back soon, thanks!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse also viewed

 

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boathouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.