We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and not very nice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Boathouse

The Boathouse
South Quay Hill | The Harbour, Newquay TR7 1HT, England
+44 1637 874062
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 180 Restaurants in Newquay
Price range: $15 - $74
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Overpriced and not very nice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Yes, this restaurant looks out on the harbour, but it really has little else to recommend it. Maybe we shouldn’t have chosen main courses from the ‘specials’ menu but I’m not going back to find out.

Dear reader, I’ll let you decide if you think the prices are a little steep with these ‘highlights’;

A single vodka & tonic £4.20

Lobster & prawn salad starter (v little lobster, small prawns and green salad) £9.95

Pollock from the ‘specials’ menu (supposed to be cooked with garlic and herb.) Flavourless fish accompanied by 5 large boiled potatoes, some small tomatoes and green beans) £14.90

Monkfish Thai green curry from the ‘specials’ menu (no flavour or heat. Like no Thai curry I have ever eaten and not in a good way) £15.60

The only dishes that stopped me from giving this establishment 1 star were the scallop starter and the crab and lobster pasta (both from the main menu).

With 2 glasses of wine and a soft drink we picked up a bill for over £80. When the waitress came over to clear our ½ full plates we explained that the Pollock in particular was very disappointing, we were offered a complementary coffee.

I’m struggling to recall a time that I left a restaurant feeling so underwhelmed and frankly ripped off.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    88
    26
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Top for Seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Visited many times and never been anything less than amazed!! Incredible seafood, for the price it's the best around, very friendly staff, dog friendly, and the owner is always out on the floor chatting and making sure everyone is having a good time, always nice to see in any restaurant.

Nothing but good things to say, I always recommend my customers to visit and will continue to do so - see you again soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fab Fab Fab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Credit where credit is due? This place is excellent! The atmosphere is brilliant, the staff are terrific and seafood & Lobster are to die for! Great for Kids Too....it just does not get any better in Newquay...On Par with the best eateries in Newquay!!!

.....its just simply beautiful! Jack

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“not good food but good atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

i have ate here before and has been average but nothing special but have recently gone down with my parents and its a nice atmosphere sitting outside, have been to a wedding there before which was good but again wouldn't recommend the food also quite a small area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Loved the décor, menu , view over the harbour and couldn't stop watching the lobsters in the pool outside. I am not a lover of fish & chips but these were the best !!!!
Been in hospitality myself, I only wondered why guests were turned away when I clearly could see empty tables. hats my only moan (not really as business was clearly doing well)
Thank you for a lovely evening

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse also viewed

 

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boathouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.