We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLEAN, BASIC ACCOMODATION WITH A GREAT ATMOSPHERE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Escape

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Escape to your Saves list
The Escape
1 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
20% off Winter Deal
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“CLEAN, BASIC ACCOMODATION WITH A GREAT ATMOSPHERE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend on a hen party. 12 girls (age group 26-60) Had a great time. We shared a room with 14 beds and 2 showers. Rooms were clean and basic. They had everything you need for a crazy weekend in Newquay. Staff were amazing. Obviously with the amount of females we struggled to get ready with 2 showers but the friendly bar man let us use another bathroom! Would definately recommend staying here. Everything is within walking distance and the bar is always open! Thanks Gerry and the rest of the staff. Staying at the Escape made our weekend extra special!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    32
    6
    1
    9
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011 via mobile

A well located hotel in Newquay and the manager who acted like one of the lads, and gave me a free drink whilst trying to shake off a hangover from hell. Rooms were comfortable. Beware toilets aren't separate from the showers so if your friends are Neanderthals like mine stand by for funny smells whilst your showering. A great place would definitely recommend. Friendly staff too.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

A great place to stay for 18-30s couldn't ask for a better place to stay, rooms are big, the bar is lush, the restaurant is outstanding and the owner Gerry is a fantastic guy.

100% Recommended To Anyone!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

The Surf Lodge was clean, friendly and served a great purpose to sleep a large group.

I stayed with 10 lads for a weekend, they made extra parking spaces for us when we turned up.
The Bar was very useful and super close to Newquay’s Main strip.
We stayed in a Dorm which was clean and had two shower’s
TIP - There was no towel’s bring your own!
The manager Greg was very laid back and fair no problems with the deposit!

…………….. and finally nice touch Greg’s free pour Jagermeister for the Stag as we left!

The perfect place to stay if your on a Budget, want to stay close to the action and want to have fun!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polzeath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

I stayed at the Escape, Newquay with another 12 mates for my 21st birthday weekend.
Gerry and the staff at Escape were really welcoming and great fun-
The hostel is in a fantastic location for bars and beaches, and has a wicked bar area for socialising and pre-drinks before a night out.
We were in a room holding 14 people- it was clean and comfortable, but my one issue would be that there was only one shower between 14 people- (not ideal but ok!)
The restaurant attached to the hostel serves the best thai curry we've had in ages- it was so great not to have to go out in search of food! In the morning they cooked us a gigantic fry up, which really hit the spot before surfing at Fistral!

If you're looking for a hostel with friendly staff, great atmosphere, great location and immaculate rooms/decor this is the place for you! It is absolutely IDEAL for big group bookings, plus.. Gerry is a legend.
Thanks guys and see you again soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We have just got back from the escape this weekend, and wow, where can I start ???

ROOM 22
This room sleeps 12, but don't be put off, room is huge, with plenty of space, 6 luxurious bunk beds await you in this plush pad, they almost feel like double beds!! So you won't have any trouble sleeping!! Their is a fantastic full length mirror, great for adjusting your mankini! A walk in wardrobe with plenty of hangers for 12 people, top of the range trouser press and ironing board with iron. A superb security safe, to store your valuables or maybe your pint!! Fantastic view overlooking newquay town. The bathroom was awesome with a fantastic super power shower, a great way to wash the hangover away! Excellent air con, decor was very modern throughout room, we even had flowers in room which was a nice touch considering their was 12 males on a stag weekend!! Flat screen television, sound system, tea and coffee making facilities, wi-fi availability throughout hotel! Overall great value that can't be beaten. Thanks Gerry for memorable weekend!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

We stayed here a while back in May 2009, group of 12 on a stag do. We were a group of mainly young professionals in our mid twenties letting loose for the weekend, so nothing too crazy or destructive! This was a great place to stay for the right price, with a good bar for pre-town drinks etc. The owners look after you well and it all went smoothly. I remember looking online it is hard to tell, especially for places in Newquay - sounds like a lot of teens complaining that they get told off for making a mess of a place. Really this place was a good base and I would highly recommend it for a group, especially a stag do.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escape

Address: 1 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Escape Hotel Newquay is a new type of Budget Surf Lodge that holds 150 people with wicked facilities and really friendly vibe run by young people for young people. Wifi is available and free parking.The rooms are mostly en-suite and the beds are in a bunk style. The Bar has a late residential licence open most nights till 4 am with pool table and a Bose sound system. Stag & Hen parties, same sex groups & under 18's are all welcome. We organize activities such as surfing, coasteering and go karting.The premises also hosts its own Thai Restaurant and take-away called "The Bird" offering traditional Thai cruisine cooked by Noam our chef all the way from Koh Lanta, Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Escape Hotel Newquay
The Escape Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Escape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.