We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Newquay Trip!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Escape

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Escape to your Saves list
The Escape
1 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
20% off Winter Deal
Polzeath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ideal Newquay Trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

I stayed at the Escape, Newquay with another 12 mates for my 21st birthday weekend.
Gerry and the staff at Escape were really welcoming and great fun-
The hostel is in a fantastic location for bars and beaches, and has a wicked bar area for socialising and pre-drinks before a night out.
We were in a room holding 14 people- it was clean and comfortable, but my one issue would be that there was only one shower between 14 people- (not ideal but ok!)
The restaurant attached to the hostel serves the best thai curry we've had in ages- it was so great not to have to go out in search of food! In the morning they cooked us a gigantic fry up, which really hit the spot before surfing at Fistral!

If you're looking for a hostel with friendly staff, great atmosphere, great location and immaculate rooms/decor this is the place for you! It is absolutely IDEAL for big group bookings, plus.. Gerry is a legend.
Thanks guys and see you again soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    32
    6
    1
    9
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We have just got back from the escape this weekend, and wow, where can I start ???

ROOM 22
This room sleeps 12, but don't be put off, room is huge, with plenty of space, 6 luxurious bunk beds await you in this plush pad, they almost feel like double beds!! So you won't have any trouble sleeping!! Their is a fantastic full length mirror, great for adjusting your mankini! A walk in wardrobe with plenty of hangers for 12 people, top of the range trouser press and ironing board with iron. A superb security safe, to store your valuables or maybe your pint!! Fantastic view overlooking newquay town. The bathroom was awesome with a fantastic super power shower, a great way to wash the hangover away! Excellent air con, decor was very modern throughout room, we even had flowers in room which was a nice touch considering their was 12 males on a stag weekend!! Flat screen television, sound system, tea and coffee making facilities, wi-fi availability throughout hotel! Overall great value that can't be beaten. Thanks Gerry for memorable weekend!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

We stayed here a while back in May 2009, group of 12 on a stag do. We were a group of mainly young professionals in our mid twenties letting loose for the weekend, so nothing too crazy or destructive! This was a great place to stay for the right price, with a good bar for pre-town drinks etc. The owners look after you well and it all went smoothly. I remember looking online it is hard to tell, especially for places in Newquay - sounds like a lot of teens complaining that they get told off for making a mess of a place. Really this place was a good base and I would highly recommend it for a group, especially a stag do.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Me and one of my m8's went down for the Boardmasters weekend plus an extra 3 days and had a wicked time. The staff were quality and really helpful. Big shout out to Jerry the owner (quality guy!) and Dan the barman.
The bar was awesome, had a real retro feel with a pool table and plenty of room to sit.
If you are going with a group of friends I would defiantly recommend!
It’s a 2-minute walk to where the strip of bars and clubs are, same for the beaches.
The lodge has a Thai restaurant attached with its own Thai chef, unfortunately we didn’t eat there but the restaurant looked really nice. Will be partaking in that next year!
Couldn’t recommend it more, we will be going down to escape next year for sure!

Cheers Jerry and the rest of the team

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Stayed at the escape with a group of girlfriends for boardmasters weekend, it was great fun the hotel itself is pretty funky with a great vibe!! Everyone is cheerful all the staff are up for a laugh and extremely friendly! The owner gerry was really helpful in giviing us information on what to do and where to go in and around newquay town.

I have been coming to newquay for years and have stayed in alot of different places and i definatly think that for the money you pay The Escape is by far the best, its nice for a group of girls to stay somewhere and feel safe, have clean rooms and of course the late bar was a plus ;) !!

The food was great there was a cooked breakfast every morning and it was ten times better than wetherspoons for half the price! The thai food was great aswell!

We had a stress free holiday and i cannot thank the escape enough for a brilliant weekend! Will definatly be back!! :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010 via mobile

Amazing place to stay. Bar really good large selection of stock. Staff really friendly and enjoy a laugh and joke with you. Everything was very reasonable priced. Location - couldn't have asked for anything better. I have already recommended to a friend and shown them pictures.

Overall the best weekebd I've ever had.

Thanks

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

22 of us stayed at The Escape for a Stag party in July 2010. We all had a fantastic weekend which was helped with the friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere at the hotel. They were very welcoming and even joined in partying with us ! We will certainly return and recommend the hotel to other people looking for a top weekend. A big thanks to Gerry and his staff.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escape

Address: 1 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Escape Hotel Newquay is a new type of Budget Surf Lodge that holds 150 people with wicked facilities and really friendly vibe run by young people for young people. Wifi is available and free parking.The rooms are mostly en-suite and the beds are in a bunk style. The Bar has a late residential licence open most nights till 4 am with pool table and a Bose sound system. Stag & Hen parties, same sex groups & under 18's are all welcome. We organize activities such as surfing, coasteering and go karting.The premises also hosts its own Thai Restaurant and take-away called "The Bird" offering traditional Thai cruisine cooked by Noam our chef all the way from Koh Lanta, Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Escape Hotel Newquay
The Escape Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Escape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.