We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location a stone's throw from one of the most famous beaches in Newquay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waves Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waves Apartments
Save
You added Waves Apartments to your Saves list
| Watergate Bay, Newquay, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic location a stone's throw from one of the most famous beaches in Newquay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The Waves apartments are situated right on Watergate Bay, they are in a fantastic location with the front apartments having the added benefit of sea views and a balcony.

We booked with Sea Breezes and went for an appartment with decking at the rear of the building for a long weekend in February, we took the dog so thought this was more convenient for us. The front apartments with sea views are pricey and we would've liked to sit out on the balcony if we had gone in the Summer to enjoy the views at breakfast and dinner. You get a lock up for your surf gear and all the locks are number coded so no need for keys which is very handy, there is also private parking. The apartment itself had under floor heating which meant that we were so warm and comfortable after a long day in the cold, it was all switched on and ready for us when we arrived, the dog also loved it! Bed was comfy, the rooms fresh clean and modern with some nice touches, like pictures of the bay and wireless is available for the laptop. We also found a range of DVD's and games under the flat screen TV!

The weather was amazing for the time of year, freezing but sunny all weekend and the bay is very dog friendly, we took him in the beach cafe and we even saw dogs in the hotel! The food in the hotel is really good and we got a take away one evening delivered to the door! The information pack that is left out was great. the only downside is that the hot water runs out very quickly, the showers aren't electric and you have to put the water switch on to constant if 2 of you want to have a good shower.

We didn't eat at Jamie Oliver's '15' but we were recommended a lunch sitting as this was better on value than the evening.

We will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    14
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Wirral
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Waves 32 is at the top of the apartment block facing Watergate Bay and is at the bay end of the block. It is one bedroom, so really only suitable for a couple.
On arrival the place was clean and tidy, with good towels, bedding etc. Only thing missing was dish towel. Good instructions and hints on the best things to do.
The balcony is huge and has good views of the bay, the the beach is a shoer bounce away and the sound of the waves is great - leave the windows open to wake up to the sound of them crashing in! 15; The Beach Hut and the Phoenix, all good places to eat.
This place is ideal for those who want to surf and use the beach, there is storage on the ground floor for boards, wetsuits etc and there are showers down there as well so no need to drag sandy kit up to the apartment.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed in Waves 34 .

The apartment is one of two corner apartments on the top floor that have a large balcony - big enough for a table with 4 chairs and two sun loungers. From here you have fantastic sea views.

The apartment itself is very nice it has a very nice lounge area and the kitchen is modern and well equipped - all of the appliances were of good quality. It has a washing machine, dish washer, microwave and hob/oven. We also used the highchair and travel cot.

The apartment has one bedroom which has a king size double bed and wardrobe, we travelled with our 2 year old so had a cot in the room also, it was pretty cramped for three of us.

The other reviewers have commented on the local area so I wont go into too much detail apart from to comment that everywhere we went in the local area, everyone was very noce and helpful. The other comment is that the Phoenix is right next door and although we didn't have any problems I expect that it could be noisy at night in peak seasons.

Overall, one of our best holidays in the Uk we would recommend it to anyone and we will definitely be going back.

One last point worth mentioning, we used rented the apartment via Beach Retreats, they are very efficient and I would recommend them highly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bed duplex apartment for New Year. (No 23 I think) - this is our 3rd visit to Watergate Bay, staying in a different apartment each time. There were 4 of us in our party and 1 dog - the apartment was a perfect size. Waves is a great place to stay and is very dog friendly - I just wish some dog owners were a little more responsible. The corner wall by the lift in the lobby had obviously been wee'd on by someone's dog - with it being a Bank Holiday the cleaners were not working - it wouldn't have required too much effort to collect some papertowel and some disinfectant from your apartment and clean it up. Behaviour like this could lead to dogs being banned which would be a great shame!

Anyway back to the accommodation - I've seen a couple of postings regarding hot water at Waves - there is a boost switch on most of the boilers which heats the water more rapidly - that way you don't have to wait two hours.

Had some great meals at the Beach Hut which really has found its niche in Watergate Bay - not as expensive or elaborate as 15 and better quality that Phoenix. Some great walks along the beach and over the cliff tops into Porth. The mermaid is worth checking out for some great wines and inexpensive food.

Watergate Bay is a place to which I will return frequently - I hope the current crop of developments does not spoil the tranquility of this truly magical place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed at the Waves flats after winning a stay there in a competition, and we were both very pleased with our stay.

Each flat had an off street parking bay for one car assigned to it. The flat can be reached by lift or stairs, so access is easy.

The flat we picked up the keys to (number 15) was modern and spotlessly clean. It had an excellent kitchen with an oven, fridge, microwave, washer/dryer and dishwasher. The cupboards were also well stocked with all the expected utensils. The flat had under floor heating, which kept us warm even though it was December; and we had a good view of the coast from the balcony.

The flat had two bathrooms – both bathrooms had a shower and toilet; and one of the bathrooms is en suite to the bedroom. The bathrooms also had heated towel rails which are always useful. A slight drawback to the hot water is that it is provided by an immersion heater tank. This can be a problem for two people as if one person takes a shower this will use up all of the hot water in the tank, and it then takes two hours to heat the tank back up. However the shower cubicle was spacious and the water was nice and hot, and a few bars of soap were provided.

The bed proved to be very large and comfortable and the area is quiet at night, so we both slept well.

The living room had a very comfortable sofa, dining table, a Wi Fi internet hub which worked straight away, and the Sky TV box had all the channels available. A DVD player was also provided.

One thing to bear in mind is that we could not find any shops to buy groceries in within walking distance of the flat. It is therefore recommended that visitors to the flats stop off at a supermarket en route; otherwise the excellent kitchen will not see much use.

There were a number of places to eat out within a few minutes walk of the flat. The fifteen restaurant was excellent – fantastic food and a stunning view of the coast. There was also a pub called the Phoenix which served very good pub food. Finally, there was a cafe bar right on the beach front – we had a very nice, if expensive breakfast there.

The beach proved excellent to walk on – very unspoiled; and we found a shop on the beach front where all surfing equipment can be bought or rented.

Overall, we both had a great time in Watergate Bay due to the excellent flat, good restaurants and pleasant location; and we will certainly be back (only in the summer next time!).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east lothian
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Fantastic holiday apartment with all mod cons.

Master bedroom with ensuite, bunkbeds in a smaller room, open plan kitchen/dining living area, which was perfect for keeping an eye on our two young kids. Another bathroom with shower over bath. Balcony over looking Watergate Bay - a great place to sit at night and relax whilst watching the sun go down - oh and the surfer's!!!

Perfect for watersport enthusiasts, have an allocated store room in carpark for boards etc and you have your own parking space.

Would definately book again, fantastic holiday had by all!!

Try the pub next to the apartments, really friendly staff and great food. Avoid the Beach hut for food, meagre portions, inflated prices but nice place to sit outside for a drink. The hotel is fab, lovely staff, great patio area for eating out and enjoying the view.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We booked this apartment through Beach Retreats, for 3 nights over the August Bank Holiday. We were lucky enough, to get some of the rare sunny days, that make a typical English Summer. This one bed apartment is on the top floor, and has a large sunny South facing balcony. There are spectacular sea views, to the right over Watergate Bay. The apartment is very stylishly furnished inside (it looks like it has been done by an interior designer). It has a lift, and allocated parking space. It is a short walk to the beach at Watergate Bay, Jamie Oliver's 15 restaurant, and the Watergate Bay Hotel. It had all the necessary amenities that you would expect at home (free wifi/dishwasher etc). I would highly recommend it, and I am sure we will be returning to it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waves Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Apartments

Address: | Watergate Bay, Newquay, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Waves Apartments Hotel Newquay
Waves Apartments Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waves Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.