We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday at the Trebarwith Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trebarwith Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Trebarwith Hotel to your Saves list
Trebarwith Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Great Western Beach | Trebarwith Cresent, Newquay TR7 1BZ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Holiday at the Trebarwith Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

What a fabulous location, situated at the top of a cliff overlooking the beach. An absolutely stunning view. Gill never grew tired of watching the sea. Admittedly we had the room with the best view.

The staff were outstanding and the owners, Nigel and Jane did all they could to ensure our stay will be remembered by us for years to come.

Would we come back again? Definitely!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trebarwith, Owner at Trebarwith Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
HI, thanks for a great Review, lovely to see you both enjoy your holiday and absolute pleasure to welcome you here as always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    66
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
48
99
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

a really good location for getting around Newquay and easy walk from the train or bus station. A nice 3 star hotel with good views of the ocean, pleasant accommofations and really nice staff. Had dinner the 1st night there, steak ( rib eye) for 2 with wine at a good price but the steaks were a bit tough. Buffet breakfast was fine for most travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trebarwith, Owner at Trebarwith Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond upon Thames, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The breakfast was lovely and the staff were very kind. However our room was very dated. It also backed onto a very loud and busy footpath leading from Newquay town centre to a residential area. We were treated to Newquay's finest between the hours of 12- 5 am on both nights. We had the joys of couples arguing, drunkards singing and hen parties puking. The Kitchens were also underneath our room. So from 6am onwards we could hear the busy prep for breakfast. I think this room is more suited as a staff quarter then for guests (including LivingSocial guests!). It is a real shame as the hotel itself was very sweet and the staff lovely.

Room Tip: Avoid room 24 like the plague!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trebarwith, Owner at Trebarwith Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi, thanks for your review and positive comments. Sorry you didn't like room 24 one of our budget rooms which although is due now for refurbishment is still at £17.50 per night inc breakfast and v.a.t. reasonable value. Some of our guests opt to upgrade to seaview for a nominal charge.
I think its fair to say the room is spacious, clean with everything working and being triple glazed should be quiet with the window closed.
Sorry also for the behaviour of the general public and other wildlife outside the hotel on the rear walkway unfortunately Human Rights Act says we are not allowed to shoot them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Great hotel within easy walking distance of the town. Good all round hotel with nice facilities inc indoor pool and sauna. Very friendly staff that make you feel so welcome. Plus great views of the nearby beach.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room, they're brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trebarwith, General Manager at Trebarwith Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Just spent three nights at the trebarwick and had a lovely time there. the staff were great as was breakfast (didn't have evening meals there) the bedroom was large clean and with cumffy beds,The bathroom was a bit dated and in need of a bit of TLC. If you have walking difficulties as my wife does i would book a first floor room we had room 44 lots of steps to climb, ok had bannisters but really needed handrails as well, she found it difficult getting in and out of bath grab rails would have helped. While we were the there there was a party of elderly people who some told us that they had the same problems as we had. Overall this hotel has great views of the coast and close to the center of town little bit of thought for their elderly guests and the Trebarwick Hotel would be fantastic. would i stay at this hotel again mmm if i could have a first floor room yes i would

Room Tip: ask for sea veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trebarwith, Owner at Trebarwith Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pulborough
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed in August the hotel perched on the cliff edge over looking west beech is spectacular.The hotel breakfast was fine quite adequate and the rooms were clean.My sons surfed every day in the errant surf school next door to the hotel.It was a great holiday we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view there are no fridges in the rooms just small portable ones from reception if availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trebarwith, Owner at Trebarwith Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My daughter has just come back from a three night stay and she really rates this hotel. The owners and staff were really helpful when I was trying to plan this break for her which was a surprise and my daughter tells me that service was lovely her room was great with a fantastic view and food was excellent really great chef and offering great value for money. She will definitely go back next year and tells me she would not change were she stayed she says it was a great location very central right next to the waves with a private bay and the surf school Errant's was 1st class and was on site they went the extra mile and had very reasonable prices and my daughter fully recommends them and intends to return to this school next year.

The facilities at this hotel were really well maintained, the swimming pool was lovely and there was a games room which was a bonus for good whether there is an outdoor seating area which has a bottle bar which looks straight out onto their private bay.

An excellent hotel and recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trebarwith, Owner at Trebarwith Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks for a great review, pleased you had a nice time here, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trebarwith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trebarwith Hotel

Address: Great Western Beach | Trebarwith Cresent, Newquay TR7 1BZ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Newquay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#12 Family Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trebarwith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'An Oasis in the Heart of Newquay.' Characterful, cheerful, old, well maintained family-run 3 star hotel enjoying a fantastic position on Great Western beach Newquay. Stunning views, happy friendly staff and great amenities including sea view restaurant offering a la carte dining, steak deals and table d'hote menus, terrace cream teas and snacks, large indoor pool, sauna, games room, cinema, surf school, scuba school,private lawns and gardens, private beach access, free onsite parking and free Wi-fi. Non pretentious and good value. Ideally situated for walking into town in under 2 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Trebarwith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trebarwith Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trebarwith Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.