We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why can't all hotels be like this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trebarwith Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Trebarwith Hotel to your Saves list
Trebarwith Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Great Western Beach | Trebarwith Cresent, Newquay TR7 1BZ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Cheddar
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Why can't all hotels be like this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband, myself and our two boys aged 15 and 12 have just returned from a really brilliant weekend at the Trebarwith. We were joined by friends with their 16 year old son and were in Newquay for a County rugby match. Some of the other players stayed nearby in a Premier Inn but after seeing and hearing about the fabulous facilities, excellent food, outstanding service and huge rooms at the Trebarwith they will not be going to the Premier again.

Yes some of the furnishings in the rooms is a little dated but what's wrong with a little retro when everything is spotlessly clean, dining room with old fashioned values, linen cloths and napkins full set of cutlery and proper service complete with coffee and a mint.... who could ask for more.

I have to also point out that the staff and in particular the Manager goes way above and beyond what is expected in a professional, approachable and friendly manner, he even put a film on in the fab retro cinema for the three boys after dinner.

When Alex Polizzi gives up the Hotel Inspector you will find the replacement at the Trebarwith.

Not Boutique, Not Posh but outstanding value for money, please open more in different locations.

If you are going to Newquay stay at the Trebarwith!

Room Tip: Family room on the ground floor huge, family room on first floor fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trebarwith, Manager at Trebarwith Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Wow! It's reviews like this that give us all here a real buzz and confidence in what we are doing. Very complimentary, thank you so much. We won't get carried away here as I am way out of Alex Polizzi's league (she has a much better figure than me) but I do follow her series and think its great and try and learn from her visits. Rugby people always so nice!
Thanks for staying with us, enjoying the hotel and giving us good feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    64
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
47
96
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A lovely little hotel. It has a nice bar area, a separate restaurant, a little cinema, indoor swimming pool and sauna, and a games room. It is right on the coast, with a surf school too. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel was clean. Would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trebarwith, Owner at Trebarwith Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, I am please you enjoyed the Trebarwith and look forward to welcoming you back sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a bit dated hotel but the location and views worth everything. We booked two rooms for two nights and enjoyed it even though there was a storm at the time. The restaurant over looks the clif and the beach. You must definately try the food at the restaurant as it was surprisinly delicıous for the price. İf we were not worried about gaining weight we would have eaten there for both nights. I wish it was a b,t more modern than looking like a nursing home for elderly, though it has it's own charm.

Room Tip: Rooms to the frond are smaller but have great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trebarwith, Owner at Trebarwith Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hi , Thank you for a nice review, delighted you had a good time with us and enjoyed the hotel. We are working on the 'nursing home' look, too many comfy seats I think that although are very comfortable do have a bit of a staid appearance. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

my husband & i have just stayed here for a lovely few days & could not fault it. lovely sea view room, great breakfast & where can you get a lovely 3 course meal for £15 these days. steak on a stone on the last night perfectly cooked could not even finish the 10oz steak. lovely clean hotel, oldy worldy but we love it, too many boutique hotels these days. nigel & his staff are very friendly & welcoming We certainly will be back, to sit in a restaurant & watch the sea rolling in come rain or shine cant beat it.

Room Tip: room 31 perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trebarwith, Owner at Trebarwith Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for our 5 green blobs, pleased you had a lovely time with us and we hope to see you again, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband is in the airline industry and we travel a great deal and stay in many hotels around the world, so perhaps I have overly high standards and expectations.

We stayed one night last week at the Trebarwith, we used other trip advisor reviews to choose this hotel. Unfortunately the reviews from others was not our experience.

This hotel has huge potential, but it has not been capitalised on and instead is a large, old run down establishment. - the magnificent views and fabulous location on the beach is it's savings grace.

We were fortunate to secure one of the best rooms in the hotel, it was at the front, with a bay window looking over the sea with a small double four poster bed. We paid the same rate 118 pounds the previous night at Watergate Bay Hotel, which was truly divine; and in my opinion, much better value for money.

The room was old and in fitting with the hotel it was run down, the bed was hard, small and uncomfortable with biscuit thin pillows, on the up side, the bathroom was very clean it had a bath and a great shower and the views were magnificent and you really can see the sea from your bed, which is lovely at sunrise.

When we arrived I wanted to have a swim at the beach, when I asked for a towel I was refused, apparently towels are only for the pool, (which I never bothered to look at).So if you stay here, either take your room towel or bring one with you

The beach itself is gorgeous and I had a great swim in it, the sand is pristine and the steps from the hotel lead straight to it.

While we were there 90 % of the guests were over 60. The handful that weren't were a fabulous group of ladies I met who will be the most memorable part of the hotel for me.

Breakfast was included in our rate; however, it was poor quality produce, we couldn't eat it and checked out.

All in all, the hotel was fine, it just wasn't great.

Room Tip: The bay window looking over the ocean has a children's room connected to it with bunk beds, make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trebarwith, Owner at Trebarwith Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Hi Thanks for your Review and some nice comments.
Sorry we didn't quite meet your expectations in terms of being 'dated peoplewise and buildingwise.
As far as old people are concerned we encourage all ages to stay with us and generally this is what happens, we do get more youngsters during school hoilidays and more senior age people during September when schools have gone back. We get young people coming back so many times they are now old!! We have had the hotel for 48 years and seen some people every year!
I know we are dated, its no secret the place is steeped in history and are working on avoiding the 'rundown' look whilst trying to stay solvent and we are making good progress.
You can hire towels for the beach and pool so I am sorry if this was not clear.
We have 2 BA pilots who regularly stay here and love the place so if you are in the Airline Industry please do not feel the need to divert to another destination.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Having stayed at the Trebarwith twice within the last 6 months, I can honestly say you would find it very difficult to find a better hotel anywhere! Fantastic food, varied choice, well cooked, well presented and regarding value for money, a quality three course evening meal for £10 (Bank Holiday special rate, normally it is £15) it cannot be beaten. Staff in the restaurant staff are extremely friendly and attentive. Views from the hotel restaurant are simply breathtaking, enjoying a lovely meal whilst watching the waves breaking on the beach is bliss!

If you wish to leave the car on the hotel car park, the hotel is ideally located for Newquay railway station & a bus stop is closeby. All the Cornish resorts can be reached easily on public transport, St.Ives, Padstow, etc. Much easier and more relaxing than driving and being unable to park anywhere!

As on our previous visit, our room was spotlessly clean, superb view, comfy bed.

What more can I say, give the Trebarwith a try!

Room Tip: Views from the second floor bedrooms are well worth the extra flight of stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trebarwith, Owner at Trebarwith Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you, thank you, thank you for each time you have stayed with us and enjoyed the experience. Very kind Review, we will cointinue to work hard to live up to our reputation.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Trebarwith has fine uninterupted views out over the Atlantic Ocean, its superb location is just on the edge of town, but yet close to the beach. It benefits from a quiet cul-de-sac position and therefore does not suffer noise from passing road vehicles. Peaceful seclusion is enjoyed in the fragrant cliff top gardens with private steps leading down to Great Western beach.
This hotel is not for riff-raff. It is suitable for lively, active families, for couples and for genteel older folk alike, but does not suffer Hen parties or Stag Do`s. One thing that I found pleasing was that the hotel bar closes at 11pm, thereby prevents any late night noisy boozing and promotes a restful nights sleep. I found the hotel food to be of a particular high standard and took in the optional evening meal most nights. (Exceptionally good food.)
I found that everything that was supposed to work, did work, ie, a good shower unit (room 11.) The indoor pool was heated as it should be, and a peaceful reading of morning papers was to be found in the conservatory type extension to the ballroom.
I recommend this hotel, my only regret is that we only booked in for a week instead of a fortnight. But I am hoping to correct that next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel with a sea view. Our room was spacious and had a large wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trebarwith, Owner at Trebarwith Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hi

Just a short note to say thanks very much for a super Review, my staff and I appreciate that you enjoyed the Trebarwith and what we have to offer here. We are continuing to work on improving the whole experience of staying here and have some exciting new ideas for the Restaurant in 2013. Hope we see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trebarwith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trebarwith Hotel

Address: Great Western Beach | Trebarwith Cresent, Newquay TR7 1BZ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Newquay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#10 Family Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trebarwith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'An Oasis in the Heart of Newquay.' Characterful, cheerful, old, well maintained family-run 3 star hotel enjoying a fantastic position on Great Western beach Newquay. Stunning views, happy friendly staff and great amenities including sea view restaurant offering a la carte dining, steak deals and table d'hote menus, terrace cream teas and snacks, large indoor pool, sauna, games room, cinema, surf school, scuba school,private lawns and gardens, private beach access, free onsite parking and free Wi-fi. Non pretentious and good value. Ideally situated for walking into town in under 2 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Trebarwith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trebarwith Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trebarwith Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.