We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best English hotel we've stayed in - completely made our short break special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Harbour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Harbour to your Saves list
The Harbour
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   North Quay Hill, Newquay TR7 1HF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 109 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Best English hotel we've stayed in - completely made our short break special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

What can I say - this place is so special! Newquay is a crazy mix of stag parties, all-night bars, surfing, and great beaches. Whatever floats your boat, however, the Harbour Hotel offers a real sanctuary to return to at the end of the day.

The staff are extremely friendly, and give you as much attention as you require - we felt we were given the perfect amount of privacy we needed. The rooms are smallish, but have everything you need and are very comfortable - we slept perfectly every night. The views from the balcony over the harbour are superb - great views of the beaches and headland, and it was so soothing to listen to the gentle sounds of the fishermen bringing home the catch every day (while the hotel is very central, its location over the harbour means that the noise of the waves lapping in the harbour are all you hear - no sound from the bars in the town!). Also ideal location to watch the seals begging the fisherman for spare fish - cheeky blighters!

Breakfast was delicious and all food locally sourced. Dinner was even better - we heartily recommend the hot seafood platter at £60 for 2 - huge portions, and great value for a lovely lobster, crab, crevettes, etc.

All in all a great delight - we really didn't want to leave and can't recommend it too highly - enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    5
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
78
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ingatestone
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Just returned from a 3 day stay at this beautiful hotel. The position is idyllic and the views are as good or better than the web photos. The food was exceptional and the staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

I cannot fault this hotel at all. Amazing views of the coast. If you do have the pleasure of staying here, make sure you have a meal or two at the hotels restaurant and try some of their beutiful fresh fish. The staff where also simply wonderfull.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Arrived at night to be shown to our room and dropped our bags in delight as we rushed to the balcony over looking the harbour, lights of the fishing boats and the town and far away distant bays twinkling and the moonlight on the water just took our breath away. Up to the Red Lion for a late supper and a few beers set us up for a cosy sleep to awake happy and refreshed to the sounds of gulls and fisherfolk. Breakfast at the Harbour was a perfect start to the day, spent walking the beaches from bay to bay when the tide was out. My first Lobster was pre ordered for Sat night dinner at Butchers Bistro - a monumental success. Fistral was sunny and warm and awash with surfers, try the salmon fishcakes from the Blue Fish Bar. The folk at the Harbour have it all sewn up, beautiful accomodation, breathtaking views, unobtrusive customer care. A triumph x

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

The best thing about this hotel is its location. The views are superb. Sitting on the balcony overlooking the central Newquay beaches and harbour is second to none.
It’s within 5 mins walking distance of shops, and the beaches are just down the steps from the hotel when the tide is out.

I was travelling with my sister and niece (for a 4 night holiday) and we wanted something more family orientated. A lot of accommodation in Newquay seemed to be either low budget B&B's for the surfing crowd, or over priced hotels. After a lot of research we decided on the harbour due to good reviews, its balconies, and the fact that it looked small and more peaceful. We definitely made the right choice.

The only downsides if any are that in my room I could here music from the bar & restaurant later on, as room 4 is directly above. This could not be heard from my sisters in room (1 - the dual aspect). Maybe that was due to it being peak season.
The rooms are a lot smaller than their website depicts. That said they are very clean. The bed was comfy, and thick curtains meant that you were not awakened by the sunrise. There are nice extra's such as dressing gowns/slippers, luxury toiletries, and chocolates. Rooms have Freeview TV’s, but don’t expect to get any connection from their WIFI upstairs though.

Service was excellent - swapping the duck down bedding due to my sister’s allergy was no problem. Breakfast was really nice.

There was a mix-up with the bill so if you have paid in advance as we did, take your receipt with you. Overall I would definitely stay there again, and recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

My husband and I stayed in Newquay this past weekend to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We enjoy finding quality restaurants around London with interesting atmosphere and great food. We wanted to find a special restaurant for our anniversary dinner, with amazing views of the local beaches and harbour and situated away from the noisy tourist crowd on the main street (singles and young families during peak school holiday season).

The Harbour Hotel was recommended by a local tourist agent as being a popular restaurant for good ambiance and fine dining, and also slightly off the beaten track.

We enjoyed our gourmet dining experience (pan fried Hake wrapped in prosciutto served with a side of roast tomatoes and risotto cakes and baked Halibut served with hand cut chips, fresh herbs and a bearnaise sauce)- so much so that we went back the following evening for a more casual dining experience to enjoy a supreme version of traditional fish & chips and a second serving of the delightful roast pepper and tomato soup entree.

Highlights include mouth watering seafood and second-to-none hand cut chips, fantastic service and a breathtaking view of the harbour and surrounding beaches, seated on the balcony indoors or al fresco. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone interested in quality fine dining accompanied by a view second-to-none. It also looks like a lovely place to stay, especially if seal spotting is included!!

Thank you to The Harbour Hotel staff for making this a memorable occasion.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

We were in Room 4 which is v small but perfectly formed. All rooms have a balcony overlooking the harbour and the sea. The hotel is in the centre of town but off a side street which means that it is away from the noise, hustle and bustle. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was lovely and freshly cooked. They also have a restaurant for lunch or dinner and we had dinner there one night which was the nicest meal we had throughout our stay - recommended especially if you like fresh fish. Can't recommend it highly enough and we would definetly return if going back to Newquay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour

Address: North Quay Hill, Newquay TR7 1HF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful location.Relaxed unpretentious personal service.All bedrooms with balconies and all public rooms directly overlook the sea.Free wifi and fluffy duvets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.