We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Parkdean Newquay Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean Newquay Holiday Park
Save
You added Parkdean Newquay Holiday Park to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Newquay | Cornwall, Newquay TR8 4HS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
1 review
“Horrendous”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was the worst campsite Ive ever been to!!! We had to wait 30 minutes to check in after a long 7 hour drive. When we arrived at our pitch it was slippy, muddy, sloping down hill and full of tree roots. The pitches are very tiny and chlosterphobic. I felt very paranoid that some one was going to drive over our heads as the road/path was right next to our pitch end. I used the toilet I'd say 7 times as we drove out of the site a few times and 6/7 times the toilet had no paper in. The bins were absolutely over flowing with rubbish which made the seagulls happy but not the campers. I stayed in a campsite a week before this one and it was beautiful. This one was a complete and utter hell hole to say the least. Very disappointed and very glad I was only there 2 nights. Night time was extremely noisy aswell. I would not recommend it to even the homeless.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    102
    59
    33
    35
See reviews for
149
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We wre staying in a caravan on site and were very pleased. On arrival drove straight up to reception and were served straight away with a friendly welcome. The caravan was clean and a good size, just as we expected looking online. It was clean and tidy, although some of the equipment was missing. It's was easily and quickly rectified by the helpful and friendly house Keeping staff. The whole site was quiet, clean and tidy. All the staff we came across were helpful and friendly. The shop on site has most things you will need and is reasonable priced considering. The bar & restaurant area is pleasant enough but the fish and chips could have been better. It's an easy drive into Newquay with a co-op, hot wok chinese take-away and HSBC bank within a 5 minute drive. We all really enjoyed the week we stayed there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We just got back from our holiday we all had a good time... i'd say its to far to walk to the beaches but if you dont mind using your car then you will be ok... also the holiday park has a lot of hills so when you've had a little to many drinks its a challenge...but overall it was a good holiday kids loved the entertainment, they loved sid and lizzie and all the staff... maybe see you in 2014

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Firstly can I say I was a little worried after reading other reviews b4 our holiday. We got there earlier than check in but with no queues we were welcomed and shown to our pitch straight away. We were put on level C33 but looking at the pitch with all the roots to was definatley a no no with our tent. I found Jess (who had shown us to our pitch) who quickly and effeciently got us changed into A11. We set up there and yes as other reviews the ground was a little hard but then I suppose we have had some terrific weather.
We pitched while the kids explored (8&5) there were 3 parks close to our tent, one which was across the road. A free bouncy castle. The shower and toilets were mostly clean, however the showers looked well used and have no temperature control on, so I found showering my 5yr old a problem as it was to hot for her but on another evening they were cold!!. The bar staff I found to be a little slow and didn't quite know what they were doing. Also selling a glass of diet coke for £1.75 and then pouring it out of a 2lt bottle got me quite annoyed. Also beware of bar prices, £3.30 for a bottle of VS and £4.40 for a bottle of fruit cider.
I really enjoyed that it's close to Newquay, Perranporth we went to Flambards and Lizard Point. We have booked again for next year while we were there which lets you choose your pitch b4 you go.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The caravan was lovely its was privately owned and had a 32" tv inside the shower was like a power shower and was very responsive. Couldent fault the caravan other than a dodgy chair that collapsed. The entertainment was cheesey and a painfull watch. the diner was terrible with microwave food and angry chefs. Location was amazing right next to the beaches and town. The park was clean and the pool was nice although the slide was a total let down. The play parks were not great. But at the end of the day I didn't go to Cornwall to stay in the caravan park.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just got back from our yearly camping holiday, thinking we'd try somewhere different, so chose Parkdean Newquay. Very disappointed to say the least, pitches were tiny, unable to fit car on in. The pitch itself was covered in cigarette ends, not nice with kids.... The toilet and shower blocks were run down, although there was a cleaner we saw in the mornings, the toilets and showers were really dirty. The restaurant was so poor, always something missing off our plates at meal times ie, the new potatoes and dressing off the salad, the mushrooms and tomato from the breaky and the sprinkles and smarties stated on the menu off the desert!!! The staff were like wet flannels if i'm honest, needs a complete shake up. We were ordering orange juice and lemonade, and were given squash instead of the juice, which we were paying for, and drinks were being priced differently. The one good thing was the kids entertainment. Could be lovely..... but it wasn't :o(

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks holiday at Newquay holiday park. We stayed in 1 of their lodges, a wider version of a caravan, they have and as a family of 5 it was more than big enough. The living area was great and with the 2 sofas it made it nice and comfortable. Dining table good for the family meals. The main bedroom was very good, nice and spacious unlike some ordinary caravans where you can just about walk around the bed. The only downside to the lodge is that it's looking a bit shabby and run down in places it could do with a little tlc.
The restaurant was ok but we only used it twice. The main reason for this was the 'sticky' tables. You couldn't rest your arms on the tables without them sticking to it. It also got very busy in there so you really had to pick the right time to go for dinner.
We never used the entertainment as our 5 year is terrified of that sort of thing. Did seem quite busy though.
The shop was a good size and very well stocked with lots of different things.
The swimming pool was great and the kids loved the slide. Was warm enough in the 2 larger pools but the baby splash pool was a little cold. Although didn't help that we didn't have the best of weather.
The park overall, from the areas that we saw, is kept clean, tidy and well maintained.
Overall a good holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkdean Newquay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean Newquay Holiday Park

Address: Newquay | Cornwall, Newquay TR8 4HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean Newquay Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's nothing low key about Newquay! It's the UK's surf capital and the home of extreme activities such as mountain boarding and kitesurfing. It boasts 11 fantastic beaches including famous Fistral Beach, Mawgan Porth, Watergate Bay and Lusty Glaze plus all of Newquay's attractions, a brilliant zoo, great cafe's shops and bars... and a lovely peaceful holiday park in a country setting just three miles out of town. * Quiet country park setting with stunning views * Three miles from Newquay's beaches and attractions * Close to a huge choice of local beaches * Three outdoor pools with 200ft waterslide * Kids' club fun and adventure play ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parkdean Newquay Holiday Park Hotel Newquay
Parkdean Newquay Holiday Park Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkdean Newquay Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.