We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK if you don't mind mould, smells and holls” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parkdean Newquay Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean Newquay Holiday Park
Save
You added Parkdean Newquay Holiday Park to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Newquay | Cornwall, Newquay TR8 4HS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Wales
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“OK if you don't mind mould, smells and holls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We booked this trip as I'm pregnant and couldn't go abroad. We paid £151 for 3 nights stay. We have a little dog who is maintained and clean we paid an extra £50 for non-smoking and doggy friendly, we paid £13 for linen too. We knew we couldn't get keys till 4pm which is a pain. We were allocated caravan 61 which was stuffed in a shady corner with no walk Way or driveway I opened the bent door which had tool marks from a previous break in - it stunk of smoke and stale damp dog, there was grass all over the carpet and a dirty ash tray. So complained and got allocated 170 - 10x nicer caravan spec and location!! Nice balcony seating area and clean, smelled a bit doggy but nothing some febreeze and opened windows didnt cure. My only complaint is that the curtains smelled musty and had black mould growing on them which gave me a terrible bad chest when the windows were closed. I found the bedding to be unclean and stained I thought the £13 covered clean bedding but only pillow cases and quilt cover. Nice break for a base I would advise upgrading to a nicer caravan. We didn't use on site facilities as everywhere is a small drive away. The dog walking area is rubbish but there's lots of fields and beaches not too far away!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    102
    59
    33
    35
See reviews for
149
27
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bath
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have just arrived home from a week's stay at this park & we had a great time!!!
We took our 2 children who are 4 and 7 and it was perfect for them!
We decided to go for the budget caravan and i was a bit apprehensive after i had read some bad reviews(after i booked!!) but upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised!!
The caravan(no 23!),was a little old.but was well equipped and clean..it had everything we needed for our stay.
This site is VERY hilly so i would avoid if you have mobility problems..the hills can get quite steep!!
The outdoor pools are great and very warm...our kids loved the slide!! There are plenty of sunbeds and there are 2 lifeguards who seem to keep a good eye on things.
We didn't really bother with the onsite shop as there are so many major supermarkets near by(Co-op,Asda & morrisons plus a tesco express) but we did have a little wander round it and it seemed expensive,like most of the onsite places we have been before!!
The club is a little small but the kids loved the childrens entertainment in the evening,we didnt use the restaurant facilities so i cant really comment on these but the prices didn't seem 2 bad!
There are a few Parks scattered around the place which are ok and our kids liked them!!
The arcade is a little small but again our kids like it,it had a good variety of machines,with plenty of 2p slots, which helps keep the cost down!!
The soft play was not massive,smelt and was quite dark,but again our kids liked it!!
We had a AMAZING holiday with glorious weather...this park is an excellent base for exploring newquay and the surrounding area...we did Flambards twice,all the local beaches,Padstow and other beautiful places that we stumbled on by accident!!
All in all this park did the job for us brilliantly..it has a laid back attitude and lets you decide what type of holiday you want..I'm sure we will be returning one day :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

We had a two night stay here just out of season so not too busy. We had our own tent so can't comment on the caravans. As we were a family of 4 staying in a family complex I was surprised to see groups of young adults staying next to our tent, drinking and being very loud until 1 in the morning (a little off putting). The showers were readily available, although I think the toilets could have done with more frequent cleans. The pools were great and our children loved them. It's a shame about there being no toilets near the pool and the refreshment shack could do with updating and having a wider range of snacks etc. We didn't eat in the restaurant however it looked very modern with good value meals. Overall a nice mini break but could do with some improvements.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall west midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Originally came on a sun holiday we decided to upgrade our accomodation so stayed in st Agnes van. Cost £189 on top on original holiday price. Was nice with spacious lounge, warm shower and mod cons. I did not agree with the other reviews that say the park is dirty with rubbish facilities as I did not feel this- bearing in mind our holiday was out of season. The arcade was average- loved playing 2p slot, who doesn't. We visited the swimming pool once it was lovely and warm with lots of spongy areas around and was well guarded. However there are no toilets around the pool. We never used our entertainment passes as that was pretty poor just looking through the door and with a 4 month old our nights out were limited so we just stayed home after 9pm. The main act did not come on until 10pm which is far too late. The trevenna bar is like a Yates in design and feel and the food is good and staff friendly. the park is on a hill which is steep but walkable. We visited the oasis fun pool at hendra so had the opportunity to look at their facilities in comparison - that has nothing on parkdean Newquay. Their guests have to pay to use their pool each day! Good days out tried and tested: lands end, st Ives, Eden project, oasis fun pool, Watergate bay, Newquay zoo. Wish we could have stayed longer! The braefel inn in quintrell downs does wonderful steak meals very reasonably priced!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radstock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Our holiday was absolutely great! the caravan was spotless when we got there, a few little bits broken like a shelf in a bedroom, but nothing major! Cheap prices, and even cheaper the 2nd time around - normally i think cheap prices, tacky service and place ... but not here! it was great!

Food wasn't great, but they have a shop to buy your own stuff and cook it yourself which is the best idea!

A little dissapointed that we had some rude neighbours! - but easily dealt with and resolved no more trouble...

Very good Taxi service into town, which is suitable for us as a big group of 8 with not a lot of money - Pat's Cabs = £1.50 per person!! BARGAIN!

Staff were very welcoming and friendly, Phil (the maintanance man) was the best part of the holiday...a group of 8 of us, between 18-20 was the best weekend away any of us could ask for. Cheap, with a down to earth, prank pulling man to help us feel settled in.

Be aware as he does often drive around with a water pistol in his van...resulting in full on water fights (guests vs staff - obviously guests won!)

If you are not a fun person and will get offended with a but of laughter then do not book here - but other than that, we are booking again for April as we loved it that much!!! :)

Room Tip: don't pick a water fight with Phil (the maintainance man) unless you have a good army!! BOOK HER...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuctoo, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

In a nutshell - I paid over £800 to be cooped up in a caravan that smelt of other peoples dogs for a rainy week in Newquay. I booked with Hoseasons and the agent on the phone told me this park was on a beach. This was not true as the nearest beach was a car ride away. The park was ok but beware of the steep hills! if you have mobility problems stay clear! The only caravans at the bottom of the hills were the nice shiny new ones they were trying to flog.

The club house was fine but I was surprised at how quiet it was during peak season. The entertainment team worked hard and were great with the kids. There was only a 45 min session for my toddler each morning which was good but could have done with a bit longer. There was a very shabby, dated, poorly lit indoor soft play area which as a big disapointment. The small play areas dotted round the park were OK but nothing special.

There was nothing but the pools for the two teenagers with me during the day (unless they can afford to shovel money onto the arcade). They turned up for a planned event at the pool and it was not on nor a notice to say it was cancelled . The pools were nice - and warm too so you could go in even when it was not great weather ( as it wasn't). There was no toilets near the pool so you had to go up the steep road to the nearest which was not fun in the cold with just a towel and swim wear on.

The night entertainment was bingo followed by the usual kids games and dances followed by an act once all the kids stuff was finished. The team were great with the kids but the standard was not so good afterwards. Lots of people seemed to leave after the kids stuff to set off on their steep hill climbs to their caravans.

Food was OK not brilliant but not bad either and reasonably priced.

The caravan looked nice but it smelt of other peoples dogs on arrival. I had a dog myself but Id rather not stay with the smell of the last owners dog too. It looked nice though and the TV was a nice big flat screen.

The dog walking area was a shabby bit of overgrown area that was not enough to give the dog a run. The dog got a better walk when I was trying to follow the signs to it and got lost !! It was also covered in dog poo (shame on the owners).

In summery it was OK and if Id paid half of what I did Id probably not have my moaning head on. I guess the rain that was present for most of the week put us in a bad mood but it made me vow never to pay for a holiday in the UK again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

the accomodation is not as described had an eight berth caravan in fact we were lucky if we could fit 2 cats inside had a converted think it was original a 4 berth the single beds are only 2ft wide kept falling out of bed couldn't open the bed in the lounge as the table got in the way
they took 3 days to repair the hot water the staff have a don't care attitude the entrance to the caravan was a swamp couldn't wait to leave and find alternative accommodation had to ask for it to be re-cleaned as cleanliness wasn't up to scratch the worst value accommodation i have ever stayed in will be trying to get a refund keep away at all cost

Room Tip: doo not stay at this park at al lcost
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkdean Newquay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean Newquay Holiday Park

Address: Newquay | Cornwall, Newquay TR8 4HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean Newquay Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's nothing low key about Newquay! It's the UK's surf capital and the home of extreme activities such as mountain boarding and kitesurfing. It boasts 11 fantastic beaches including famous Fistral Beach, Mawgan Porth, Watergate Bay and Lusty Glaze plus all of Newquay's attractions, a brilliant zoo, great cafe's shops and bars... and a lovely peaceful holiday park in a country setting just three miles out of town. * Quiet country park setting with stunning views * Three miles from Newquay's beaches and attractions * Close to a huge choice of local beaches * Three outdoor pools with 200ft waterslide * Kids' club fun and adventure play ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parkdean Newquay Holiday Park Hotel Newquay
Parkdean Newquay Holiday Park Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkdean Newquay Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.