We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little B and B right in the heart of Newquay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St.Bernards Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St.Bernards Guesthouse to your Saves list
St.Bernards Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Berry Road, Newquay TR7 1AU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 108 Newquay B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great little B and B right in the heart of Newquay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We'd never been to Newquay before. My husband booked this bed and breakfast as it said it had parking and was centrally located.
The parking is about 2 streets away and is very cheap, at £2 per day. You can easily walk to the beach (5 min walk) or to the shops (10-15mins).

Louise owns this bed and breakfast and she is a very welcoming person. She showed us to our room and told us about all the facilities. She also gave us a map and told us which pubs/restaurants to eat at.

The guest house is nicely decorated and the lounge and dining area are bright and airy. Our room was on the top floor, which was about 4 flights up. The room was quite small with a tiny en-suite, but it was clean and comfortable. It was at the back of the house too, so it was quite.
The breakfast was very tasty and filling. You could have a full English and or cereal and toast.

I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast. If we ever went to Newquay again I would stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
93
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Lovely spot very situated and hosts were very accomodating. Only problem was our room up 3 flights of stairs, not much you can do about that. Breakfast was amazing! Especially impressed with more than reasonable bat prices, pitty we did not get a chance to drink there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Would highly recommend rooms are excellent when I go back to Newquay I will be stopping here Louise is lovely carnt do enough for you. And the breakfast is great and I'm fussy when it comes to food big time so if your looking for a great location and a friendly modern well looked after bed and breakfast this place to stay in Newquay:)) with out a doubt well worth the money this place is setting a new standard for b&b's

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hx
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had not been to Newquay before, and on arrival were given a map, and overview of the town. The room was only up one flight of stairs (usually we end up at the top of the building), and whilst not being large had everything we needed, and could have also accommodated a small fridge if we needed one.
The location is central, and the parking is a short walk away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had a planned stay in July 2013 for one night and could not believe our luck with this booking. Everything was just right. We were welcomed by Louise and shown to a very neat and tidy room. It was a little small but had everything we needed - including a fan which was most welcome as the weather was very hot . Breakfast was very tasty and beautifully cooked. It was well presented and served in the contemporary dining room. The bonus of parking in Newquay , even for a small charge, was most welcome.
This B and B is right up our street: tastefully decorated in a contemportray style , clean and tidy with a most pleasant host.
When we had to return unexpectedly Louise pulled out all the stops to accommodate us and made a difficult situation much easier for us. This second room we had was bigger and just as stylishly decorated and was , once again, clean and tidy.
Thanks to Louise

Room Tip: We loved room 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel and the hostess are brilliant. The rooms are stylish and modern and you have everything you need. The host is very welcoming and cannot do enough for you. The breakfast was excellent quality and service. If i had to pick one little negative it would be the shower isn't very powerful but that's not really an issue. Would stay here again in a shot. Excellent location and service!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

It is in a very central location. My room was comfortable and stylish. The owners were very accommodating when I arrived extremely early. The Wi-fi works well. Nice and quiet. Got a very good night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St.Bernards Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St.Bernards Guesthouse

Address: 9 Berry Road, Newquay TR7 1AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St.Bernards Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Bernards is a family-run guesthouse. Home to 8 bright modern bedrooms all of which are en-suite, with a generous amount of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Centrally located the town centre, beaches and transport links are on our doorstep, whether you’re after action & adventure or rest & relaxation, St. Bernards is a convenient, warm, friendly place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St.Bernards Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St.Bernards Guesthouse Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St.Bernards Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.