We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St.Bernards Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added St.Bernards Guesthouse to your Saves list
St.Bernards Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Berry Road, Newquay TR7 1AU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 109 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Absolutely lovely B&B! I booked it based on great reviews online and was not let down in anyway. My expectations were met and further far exceeded! The hosts did all they could to make us feel welcome in their home. The B&B itself is well laid out, spacious and homely yet at the same time radiates boutique elegance. The room was nice size, with all that you could dream of! From your basic towels and toiletries through to TV with DVD. They even offer use of their DVD collection if you wish to chill out in the evening and not leave the comfort of your room! :) They even went as far as to research and print out restaurant vouchers for us as we were thinking of going into town for dinner. Really cannot compliment enough! On day of departure it poured with rain, and instead of booting us out on the streets to wait at the train station or in a coffee bar until our train at 16:00 they let us sit and watch some TV in their lounge/ bar room. Felt like we were at home! Breakfast was amazing, good selection for vegetarians as well! Bed comfortable! Rooms a good temperature! Showers nice and clean with good water pressure! It's right around the corner from Newquay train station and short stroll into town and the harbour :) !! Don't hesitate to book ....

What more can I say! :) Felt like home away from home but fancier!! The final touches and customer care is really what made this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    19
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
100
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This guesthouse is a cut above. Very professional and elegant, with nice bathrooms. The hosts were warm, and there's a nice bar (with nice prices) on the ground floor next to the bright and cheerful breakfast room. Very welcoming to walkers on a rainy day!

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Lovely welcome from Louise, (27 april) gave us the choice of 2 rooms both lovely, chose the one at the back. large spotless room with very comy bed.
use of the lounge area is a real bonus for people travelling, also being able to have a drink before or after dinner was great and the prices were more than reasonable. louise and John are terrific hosts and make you feel at home, great conversatitonalists and good sense of humour. Breakfast was terrific and plentiful, 5 minutes to everything and parking for our car.All in all a beautiful B&B and would recommend it to anyone intending to stay in Newquay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offenbach
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We are not surfers or stag/hen party-goers. We chose Newquay as a base to visit the south west of Cornwall. St. Bernards was one of the top recommendations to stay for everyone on Trip Advisor so we booked it. We weren't disappointed. The first impressions were clean, tasteful, modern and relaxing. A warm welcome, we were offered the choice of two room and opted for number three at the front (large window to road, large bed). We didn't find it noisy. This guest house offers so much: large selection of dvd's, you can bring takeaway and eat it in the dining room, you can watch tv or play wii/playstation in the lounge, babysitting service, free parking, huge breakfast .... the owners do their very best to accommodate any wishes you may have. The room and house in general were spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: Room 3 was light, warm, to the front (road), spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Travelled from Australia to get a taste of English countryside. The first and definitely the best of the accommodations we stayed at in the UK. The quality of the room was great, you can be forgiven for thinking you were in a 5 star hotel. Lovely breakfasts and John and Louise were the perfect hosts. My two girls and I couldn't have asked for more, I thoroughly recommend St Bernards.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Really impressed by the room and the owners were discreet in their hospitality. Recommended and booked the best restaurant (the boathouse) for us. Delicious breakfast and attention to detail with all you want from B&B. value for money and then some.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed with Louise and John for four nights and we really enjoyed our stay. The B&B is very comfortable, very clean and the breakfasts were great. Louise was very helpful and accommodating. We brought our bicycles with us and Louise ensured that they were securely locked up and even covered with a tarpaulin. The location of the B&B is central and a short walk away (literally five minutes) from the shops, restaurants and entertainment area of Newquay. We also enjoyed the reasonably priced bar at the B&B - nice for pre- dinner drinks :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St.Bernards Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St.Bernards Guesthouse

Address: 9 Berry Road, Newquay TR7 1AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St.Bernards Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Bernards is a family-run guesthouse. Home to 8 bright modern bedrooms all of which are en-suite, with a generous amount of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Centrally located the town centre, beaches and transport links are on our doorstep, whether you’re after action & adventure or rest & relaxation, St. Bernards is a convenient, warm, friendly place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your St.Bernards Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St.Bernards Guesthouse Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St.Bernards Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.