We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, lovely hosts and a fab location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kallacliff Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kallacliff Hotel to your Saves list
Kallacliff Hotel
12 Lusty Glaze Road, Newquay TR7 3AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 109 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great place, lovely hosts and a fab location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

Having read all the reports regarding this hotel, we took the plunge and booked a short break (16-20 June 2008) and we were not disappointed.

We were greeted at the door by Sue who showed us to our room and asked if we would like a cup of tea or coffee. We were shown to the bar area were a lovely Cornish cream tea – fresh scones, clotted cream and jam – was waiting for us, a lovely treat after our drive from home.

The hotel itself literally overlooks Lusty Glaze Beach – where a 3 course meal with a bottle of wine for two will set you back approx £75 at the restaurant – but beware there are 134 steps down (and then obviously back up).

The walk into town is approx 15 mins (depending on how fast you walk).

The room (room 8 with the balcony) is decorated very beautifully – creams and browns. The en-suite is a shower room. Not the largest room in the hotel but we wanted the room with the balcony so we could watch the sun setting as the front of the hotel is west facing.

We only had one full day of gloomy weather and the rest was nice and warm but breezy – this decided our layout for the week.

Breakfasts are lovely – all freshly prepared. You decide what hot food you want the night before, and any reasonable request is considered. Cereals and fruit are available too.

Prior to leaving Sue showed us one of the family rooms (room 4) which has a double and a single with an en-suite bathroom and the colour scheme is glorious – black and white. Every room in the hotel is different.

Thank you Brian and Sue for your hospitality. A truly enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — Location and size
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
104
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

Stayed here over the May Bank Holiday last year and loved it! The beds, carpets - everything was luxurious. We were made to feel very welcome and really enjoyed our stay. We eat at the restaurant down on the beach which I believe is owned by the hotel owners daughter and it was a great meal.
If ever I go back to Newquay I'd definitely stay here again and I'd recommend it to family and friends.

  • Liked — The luxuriousness and friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike, thanks for a wonderful stay, sorry it's taken so long to review!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

We booked this hotel after reading the many reviews on Trip Advisor. We travelled from Australia to be greeted by our most charming hosts Brian and Sue with what my husband described as a most excellent cornish greeting ( A pot of tea, Jam Scones and cream) from that point we both knew the Kallacliff was going to be something special.Brians knowledge of the surrounding areas can be useful to people who are new to this part of the world...Sue cookes the best breakfast we have ever had ...Forget looking anywhere else.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

Well in the words of Jim Bowen ..... this hotel is definitely "SUPER, SMASHING, GREAT!".

Prior to booking our 2 night break commencing 28th May, I researched Trip Advisor and decided that the Kallacliff was the place to stay and my family and I were not disappointed.

We were in a triple room (no 5) which was decorated and furnished to a very high standard. The room had an en suite shower room (shower was a bit slow but obviously due to the water pressure and it didn't bother us!) and toiletries were provided. The room was spotlessly clean and the only thing that was a bit of an issue were the mattresses on both the double and single beds - they were blooming hard!!! Didn't complain though as I feel that it's all down to personal preference and whilst my other half and I found it uncomfortable, somebody else might think it it just perfect!!!!

Breakfast was served in a lovely room overlooking "Luzty Glaze Beach" and the view was stunning. You could help yourself to fruit/juice/cereal and yoghurts and then the MEGA cooked breakfast was served up. Guests are asked to select what they want from a selection the day before, which I think is a great idea.

The owners Brian and Sue are very nice people and made us feel very welcome. They personally recommended places for us to eat and gave us ideas for our day trips. To summarise, don't hesitate in booking your stay - you'll love it!!!

  • Liked — Decor and cleanliness
  • Disliked — the hard mattresses!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

Spent the Whitsun bank holiday at the Kallacliff after being recomended it by a friend of the family. A wonderful little gem out of the way from the madness of central Newquay, but so close to Lusty Glaze beach as to render that experience unnessacery. Great hosts, excellent rooms, we had a twin as the doubles had been taken, not hard to see why as the hotel is beautifully decorated and immaculatly kept. Gorgeous breakfasts and a stunning view out to the bay from the bar.
Don't bother with the bigger, so called better hotels, just down the road, I've stopped in them and they don't come close to the Kallacliff. Our hotel of choice in Newquay from now on. 10/10

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

Having just returned from a short break to the Kallacliff, we just had to write and let you all know how fantastic this little hotel is. Located directly on the seafront overlooking Lusty Glaze Bay, our room No 8 was a premium room although not spacious it had a balcnoy overlooking the sea with french doors in which more than made up for the size. Being only a ten minute walk from newquay centre also adds to this hotels appeal as it is in a residential peaceful setting but close enough for a good night out without having to fork out for a taxi.

Whilst we stayed it rained at some point every day but we still had a great time and that was due the great hospitality shown by Brian and Sue who are extremelly friendly and attentive whilst also giving you as much space as you require. They also serve a mean breakfast and accomodate your requests wherever possible.

I don't really think I need to say anymore suffice to say next time we return to newquay this hotel will be our first port of call.

  • Liked — Location, Right on Seafront.
  • Disliked — Size of room.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

Beautiful room, fantastic location, friendly owners and great amenities. What more can I say?!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kallacliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kallacliff Hotel

Address: 12 Lusty Glaze Road, Newquay TR7 3AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kallacliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kallacliff Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kallacliff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.