We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esplanade Rd, Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
GreenLeadersSilver level
poole
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great weekend break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Had a weekend break in Newquay. Stayed at the Fistral Beach Hotel.
Got an offer from Secret Escapes,on a 3 course dinner and breakfast board in a seaview room.
The hotel overlooks Fistral Beach,and is a 5 star hotel.It is an older hotel but i think it has had a complete refurbishment,the rooms were top class,especially the huge bathroom with a large modern bath sat in the middle.
It was brilliant ,hearing the waves ,and seeing all the surfers ,like penguins,negotioning the big waves.
The service was excellent,add to this the indoor pool,jaguisee,and spa to finish off a great relaxing break
The food at the Beach View Restaurant was excellent.Plenty of choice,cooked to a very high standard,( a.la.carte style). The breakfast gave you the choice of continental,or full english.
The staff were all excellent.The reception staff were very polite and helpful.never a problem to make your stay as you want it.The restaurant staff too were very good,very efficient,got my partner ,glutten free bread and rolls for breakfast and dinner.
A special thank you to the restaurant manager,who was quite young for the responsible position,who made sure nothing was too much trouble,and the whole food eating experience was at its best
The whole experience was excellent,if anyone wants a great weekend away i recomend it.

Room Tip: The offer we had included the Seaview room.definitely the rooms to have
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Terry

Thank you for your review. It is lovely to read that you had such a lovely stay and that you were well looked after by the staff here. Matthew the restaurant manager would like to Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the service he provided. He has been a member of our team for several Months now and we are very proud to have him as our restaurant manager.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    108
    30
    15
    0
See reviews for
58
338
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Only stayed for one night, wish it was longer! Had the fistula suite which had an amazing hot tub and fantastic views of the beach. The room was extremely clean and well kept. The bar area is very relaxed and the restaurant served up some awesome food. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Londonbutterfly84

Thank you for your review. Our suite is stunning and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, next time you will just have to stay for two nights.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeton
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a one nighter with my partner... Sooooo wish it was longer. Fantastic... Absolutely fantastic... Couldn't fault in anyway.. The room was sublime as was the bathroom on the top floor with balcony. Fantastic views from bath and bed. As for dinner.... Off the wall brilliant... Best creme brûlée I've ever had and the rest of the dinner was so delicious... We came away very satiated and pleased with the value. The staff were very professional but easy going and friendly... Highly highly recommend this establishment. Thanks guys!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear BooandGinger

Thank you for such a lovely review. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you were well looked after by the staff. I hope that we are able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at Fistral Beach Hotel at the end of September after staying here previously. Once again the rooms were spotless, views amazing & staff very efficient.
The 3 course meal if prebooked as part of your package is very reasonable at £22 per person. It is very upmarket dining at a great price.
The spa was lovely with plenty of room to swim & then relax in the sauna, steam room & jacuzzi. It's just a shame there is nowhere to sit around the pool due to lack of space but probably because of this people do not spend too long in the Spa & it never seems busy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Andi001

Thank you for your review. It lovely to read that yet again you enjoyed your stay. I hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back for a third time.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHANTS
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just returned from a three day break to The Fistral Beach Hotel and we are so very pleased that we chose this hotel. All public areas were spotless, the staff, caring and professional, nothing was too much trouble. The location of the hotel is fantastic with the moving scene of the surfers outside the windows at breakfast, enthralling. I would recommend this hotel, without a doubt.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front, fantastic view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Jon Northants

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our hotel with other travellers. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I agree the surfers do make great entertainment!

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holsworthy, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Fantastic hotel, perfect for a weekend getaway. Excellent spa facilities and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the food was great too. Looking forward to having another break there in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Mark F

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had such a fantastic time staying with us and I hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.


Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

'Check in and chill out' is the phrase used by the hotel to market itself and I must say this place lives up to its reputation in every way. Only stayed for one night but absolutely loved it! The location is fantastic, directly overlooking Fistral Beach with all the public rooms taking advantage of the views. You can turn up, park the car and never want to drive anywhere. The leisure facilities are top notch - great pool with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Very very relaxing. The room we had was great - the hotel had been renovated in March 2013 and you can tell. The fixtures and fittings are very modern and everything is really clean and fresh. Lots of little touches make your stay enjoyable. The food and drink was great but the best asset is the staff. All so helpful and friendly, especially Kirsty on reception. A wonderful break and we can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear TheHartsUK

I am pleased that you were able to 'check in and chill out'! Kirsty is a value member of the team here and she would like to thank you that she was able to help make your stay enjoyable. Remember to let us know that you have stayed before as you are now part of our loyalty club which entitles you to lots of special offers, complimentary upgrades and 10% discount of the standard rates. We look forward to seeing you again.


Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Address: Esplanade Rd, Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#1 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Business Hotel in Newquay
#8 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.