We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fistral beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esplanade Rd, Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fistral beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

my wife and i stayed and had a perfect stay the hotel is spotless the staff are friendly and very helpful the pool was nice and warm the food was first class.we had a sea and beach view which was amazing to wake up to i would recommend this hotel and i only wish all hotels were up to this standard

Room Tip: ask for a sea view its breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear K88mpb

Thank you so make for you kind review, it is lovely to read that you have had such a wonderful time staying with us and I hope you will come back in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    108
    30
    15
    0
See reviews for
58
338
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We visited the hotel for a long weekend break and throughly enjoyed our stay.
The staff were very kind, friendly and helpful with any questions or requests we had.
Our room was lovely and modern with lots of natural light from the windows, we did however book a room without a sea view so overlooked the kitchen roof and were overlooked by holiday homes up on the hill behind us, so would advise a room with a sea view if that would be an issue.
The bathroom was a comfortable size and very clean.
We did find that we had no iron or safe in our room which wasn't too much of an issue but is something to be aware of.
We found the hotel to be in a fantastic location, near the beach, shops and close to the centre so everything was very easy.
We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear LVS3

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others on trip advisor. If you requests an ironing board then we will arrange for one to be brought to your room immediately and we do also have a safe facility at reception where you are able to hand in any valuables to reception and we will look after them for you. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in August for 5 nights, we booked a standard room which was very modern and well furnished with a very nice bathroom, the tea and coffee tray was well stocked and replenished generously eceryday.
All areas of the hjotel were spotless and all staff very professional and friendly.
The selection at breakfast was excellent with cooked breakfasts made fresh once ordered which I enjoy far more than the buffett style you get in most hotels now.
Our only critisism is that more staff are needed at breakfast to clear the tables, on 2 days we had to sit at the back rather than by the windows at there were over 8 tables that had not been cleared.
We ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent, the restaurant manager is very professional and service was excellent.
With regards to the rooms, the doors slam very loudly and we were woken several times by other visitors. Other than that the hotel is excellent

Room Tip: Choose a beach/sea front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Louise

Thank you for your lovely room. I have passed you kind comments on to the restaurant manager. You have mentioned noise disruption from slamming doors which kept you awake, we have checked the corridor doors and bedroom doors across the hotel and have adjusted a couple of them, thank you for raising this to our attention.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

and when you do check-out, you just know you`ll be back.........!
Set in a quiet location, situated literally just off Newquay`s famous Fistral Beach, this hotel is an absolute must for visitors to the area. We have just returned from a mini-break and the hotel helped make our stay in Cornwall a visit to remember. Our room was roomy, modern, clean, well equipped and of a good size, and what a breathtaking view over the bay - even from our bed!! The hotel staff are all (bar none) extremely professional and friendly and offer helpful advice about the surrounding area and places to visit etc. Very highly recommended. Car parking can be a bit limited during the height of the season, however there is always on-road parking just outside the hotel. Our tip would be to always book a room with a sea view.

Room Tip: Sea view recommended, 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear daveandgwenhfs

Just remember you are welcome back any time! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others and I am so pleased that you had such a lovely time staying with us. I hope that you will come back and stay with us in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just stayed at this amazing place , staff where very kind pleasant and nothing was to much trouble , most morning i would be up early for a run and was all ways greeted with a smile and morning . The views over the beach are second to none and just sitting out on the decking watching the world pass by was a nice way to unwind , pool and spa area spot on if a little busy at times , the treatment area is done out beautifully and in a lovely relaxing manner.
Food is great stayed in the hotel on 2 evenings ,breakfast was lovely and worth having sets you up for the day .
8-10 from us as the room was slightly small and could do with aircon.

Room Tip: Take a sea view only mistake we made wish i had payed the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Lavinee

Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased you had a nice time staying with us. I appreciate your comments on the room size however all of our rooms here are different. Our economy rooms and standard rooms do tend to be smaller in size than our upgraded rooms, however if you just request at the time of booking that having a large room is important to you then we will do our best to accommodate you in the most suitable room. The pool area can get busy at peak times but first thing in the morning and off the evening it is always quite so if you fancy having the pool to yourself then this is the best time to use the facilities.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I recommend the Fistral beach hotel to stay. myself and partner spent 3 nights there on a last minute break. The room was a good size with a wonderful view of the sea and beach . The service we recieved was great all the staff friendly making sure we had a great holiday. The food was good value for money. We enjoyed our stay there and would go back.

Room Tip: room 3 a great room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Karen

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed you last minute break. I will admit room three has a a lovely sea view due to the Bay windows, makes it something really special. I hope to see you again in the future, remember you are now part of our loyalty club meaning if you book direct with us then there are lots of special offers and extra treats you are entitled to.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Everything so far (still on the trip) has been excellent. The staff on reception are extremely nice and the lady who served us for dinner was even nicer. The catered to Gluten free food and I ended up having one of the nicest dinners ever. They even warmed up some Gluten Free bread for me! Defiantly would come back again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Hoodedphotography

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you were well looked after by the staff here at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Address: Esplanade Rd, Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#1 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Business Hotel in Newquay
#8 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.