We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esplanade Rd, Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in a best room for our honeymoon and it didn't disappoint!! We had fabulous views over fistral beach the room was a good size and the bathroom was huge!! When we got there we had rose petals on the bed. We ate in the restaurant and they had decorated the table and put balloons up such a lovely touch! The meal was fantastic and we ate in there both nights without being dissapointed, same with breakfast good choice and lovely. Spa facilities were good too. I have nothing bad to say we really had a lovely time and staff where fantastic making us feel very welcome. We would definately go back maybe for our 1st year anniversary!!! Thanks to all of the staff!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Annashaun1

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers. I am pleased that we helped to make your honeymoon special and I hope you have lots of found memories. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back for your first anniversary please feel free to contact me directly on manager@fistralbeachhotel.co.uk and I will happily make the arrangements for you.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    124
    32
    16
    0
See reviews for
69
412
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brackley
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just spent a four night break at the Fistral Beach Hotel in Newquay with my wife. A perfect location just out of town on the side of the main Surfing Beach. Probably too far to walk into town in the evening but £5 taxi fare makes it easy. Hotel exceeded our expectations. The whole hotel gives you a feel of space. We had a Sea View room which was well maintained and always crisp and fresh and quite spacious. The restaurant was excellent with good food at a reasonable price. The Bar was again very spacious and plenty of space to relax. However, what gives the hotel that little extra is the Spa/pool. This is an excellent facility and we would highly recommend a visit. Finally, in all areas the staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Next time I visit Cornwall/Newquay then the Fistral Beach Hotel would be our hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Request a Sea View Room and definitely visit the Spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Anthony1910

Thank you for your lovely review it means a lot to myself. I know that there were a couple of little niggles during your stay but I am glad that these were resolved and you had a fantastic time with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back and please feel free to contact me directly when re booking.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay (15 to 18 Aug). The hotel has undergone substantial renovation since last year and the bedrooms are delightful.

Absolutely no complaints from us. Great service and the views over Fistral beach are second to none. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Travelnut20,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you like our refurbished room and I look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed for a three night break last week. The prices were more than we would normally spend ( and these were discounted prices !!) for a short break but well worth it.The room was good with a stand alone bath that I could almost swim in. The views over Fistral Beach were great and the spa facilities excellent.The staff were friendly, welcoming and very helpful.The food in the restaurant was well cooked but the service could be improved - we had to wait a long time for the food to be served, especially breakfast. We would return to this hotel again if we visit Cornwall and would certainly recommend the hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Look out for special offers and ask for upgrades when you arrive. We were offered a half price upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Jane

Thank you for taking the time to place a review of The Fistral Beach Hotel. We have 5 different room categories which offer a range of prices and whilst we are very competitive with our rates for the local area, you stayed with is in peak season. Lower season we have many great spa breaks and special offers which are lower in price. I am pleased that you enjoyed yourself and I hope to see either yourselves or you family here again soon.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kreuztal, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

A very good Hotel, we loved to stay there. Excellent rooms- especially the bathroom!- a friendly staff, and the meals were very good. In the Morning sitting in the bed with a tea and to look at the atlantic-sea, it was great! Thank you so much

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you Kerstin for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I will admit I don't think there is a better view than the one we have here over the Atlantic.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Recently returned from a five day break at the hotel. The hotel is in an excellent spot overlooking fistral beach. It's at the quieter end of town but there is a lovely footpath along sand dunes to town centre.
Spa facilities were excellent and a bonus to have if the weather is bad.
The staff here were all extremely pleasant and went out of their way to make sure we had a comfortable stay.
Breakfast was amazing with a good selection to choose from. So good in fact we decided to have our evening meal in the hotel which also didn't disapoint.
Rooms are tastefully decorated and very clean -ours was a standard room which was slightly too small but well equipped.
We found the car park a little tight as we travelled in a vw transporter - vehicles well packed in. Particularly noticeable on the Friday night but parking was available on the roadside opposite hotel.
Overall an excellent stay. We intend to return next year and hope that the same high standards will still be in place.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear LoveSunNorthants

Thank you for taking the time to share your views with fellow travellers. I am glad you had such a lovely time and I look forward to welcoming you back next year and I am confident that we will not disappoint.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed for two nights & the hotel is fab. We had a seaview the first night which was lovely but after a mix up we were upgraded to the suite for the second night. This was just amazing. We would recommend this to anyone, especially for a honeymoon or anniversary as the room includes a lounge area & private jacuzzi!! A special thanks to Becky for resolving the problem so quickly & efficiently, she is a credit to the hotel. Would definitely return

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear KentSunseeker11

Thank you very much for your lovely review. Please except my sincere apologise for the mix up with the room but I am pleased staying in the suite for the night made up for it. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Address: Esplanade Rd, Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#1 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#2 Business Hotel in Newquay
#8 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.