We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esplanade Rd, Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“Short Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed for a three night break last week. The prices were more than we would normally spend ( and these were discounted prices !!) for a short break but well worth it.The room was good with a stand alone bath that I could almost swim in. The views over Fistral Beach were great and the spa facilities excellent.The staff were friendly, welcoming and very helpful.The food in the restaurant was well cooked but the service could be improved - we had to wait a long time for the food to be served, especially breakfast. We would return to this hotel again if we visit Cornwall and would certainly recommend the hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Look out for special offers and ask for upgrades when you arrive. We were offered a half price upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Jane

Thank you for taking the time to place a review of The Fistral Beach Hotel. We have 5 different room categories which offer a range of prices and whilst we are very competitive with our rates for the local area, you stayed with is in peak season. Lower season we have many great spa breaks and special offers which are lower in price. I am pleased that you enjoyed yourself and I hope to see either yourselves or you family here again soon.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    124
    32
    16
    0
See reviews for
69
413
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kreuztal, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

A very good Hotel, we loved to stay there. Excellent rooms- especially the bathroom!- a friendly staff, and the meals were very good. In the Morning sitting in the bed with a tea and to look at the atlantic-sea, it was great! Thank you so much

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you Kerstin for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I will admit I don't think there is a better view than the one we have here over the Atlantic.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Recently returned from a five day break at the hotel. The hotel is in an excellent spot overlooking fistral beach. It's at the quieter end of town but there is a lovely footpath along sand dunes to town centre.
Spa facilities were excellent and a bonus to have if the weather is bad.
The staff here were all extremely pleasant and went out of their way to make sure we had a comfortable stay.
Breakfast was amazing with a good selection to choose from. So good in fact we decided to have our evening meal in the hotel which also didn't disapoint.
Rooms are tastefully decorated and very clean -ours was a standard room which was slightly too small but well equipped.
We found the car park a little tight as we travelled in a vw transporter - vehicles well packed in. Particularly noticeable on the Friday night but parking was available on the roadside opposite hotel.
Overall an excellent stay. We intend to return next year and hope that the same high standards will still be in place.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear LoveSunNorthants

Thank you for taking the time to share your views with fellow travellers. I am glad you had such a lovely time and I look forward to welcoming you back next year and I am confident that we will not disappoint.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed for two nights & the hotel is fab. We had a seaview the first night which was lovely but after a mix up we were upgraded to the suite for the second night. This was just amazing. We would recommend this to anyone, especially for a honeymoon or anniversary as the room includes a lounge area & private jacuzzi!! A special thanks to Becky for resolving the problem so quickly & efficiently, she is a credit to the hotel. Would definitely return

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear KentSunseeker11

Thank you very much for your lovely review. Please except my sincere apologise for the mix up with the room but I am pleased staying in the suite for the night made up for it. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed here in the middle of July for a 3 night 'minimoon' after my wedding after being wowed by the amazing panoramic images on their website... I wasn't disappointed. The view from the rooms across Fistral Beach are fantastic.

On arrival our room was decorated with rose petals and complimentary chocolates on the bed. Not a massive fan of champagne but requested some to be in the room for the occasion. The recommendation of Cornish champagne was lovely. Definitely worth having.

The room was very comfortable, with a massive bed and ample sized bathroom. This had double patio doors out on to the balcony and gave a great view while having a bath! It was spotless and serviced every day of our stay. Only problem we encountered with the room was with the shower. The hot water is intermittent and goes from boiling hot to freezing cold every so often. Could be a problem for children or if you're sunburnt.

We had breakfast in the restaurant each morning and treated ourselves to the full English. Every day it took a while arriving. Even when the restaurant was fairly empty. However, the supply of tea and the view took our minds off the time.

During our stay, we used the swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. It wasn't busy down there at all and there are always loads of towels. We were surprised not to see any poolside seating when we got down there to relax on. I guess space is the issue…

We went to the bar a few times and they had live music on which was a surprise and it created a great atmosphere.The staff were both helpful and welcoming. Always spoke to you with a smile. There is a terrace on the other side of the car park and the staff would bring drinks out to you. Perfect for watching the sunset.

All in all, we throughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would stay here again if in Newquay. Despite the couple of niggling issues it didn't ruin our stay but it does mean it only receives 4 stars.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to the 'Best Room' which has a balcony. The panoramic view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Iamstreety

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that there were a few niggling issues but I am pleased that this did not spoil your stay with us and you enjoyed your minimoon (Congratulations) I hope that you will re visit us in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

This review is based on a 'best room' stay, so I can't comment on the other rooms, but I would say that the views and sound of the sea is well worth the extra cost. The hotel is very relaxing and has a good ambience.

This is our favourite hotel to stay in. This is the second time we've been and will definitely be staying again. We came for the Boardmasters festival but spent most of the time in the hotel. The Bar has great views and is very relaxing and has good food and drinks. We had an offer on the evening meal in the restaurant so it was good value, but had we paid he full amount we might have been disappointed. Lots of options for breakfast.

I'm not sure what could improve this hotel...Well worth the cost.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear L B

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor, it is always lovely to read such a lovely review. I hope you will come and stay with us a third time, just remember to let us know you are part of our loyalty club and you will receive 10% discount on our best available rate.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for a week just after the recent heatwave. It was superb. The staff were outstanding throughout the hotel, and Kirsty on the front desk went out of her way to make sure we had three rooms near to each other for our family break.

Newquay is pretty hilly so it's not ideal for elderly parents, but we were delighted that the rooms we booked had an OUTSTANDING view of the beach. The rooms are fresh and modern, and if you get either room 308 or room 301 you get a monstrous standalone bath tub and separate shower.

The food in the restaurant is great, and quit reasonably priced. They were offering 20% off vouchers if we ate in the restaurant, so we did on a couple of occasions. Excellent serving staff - thanks, Mary - and lovely food.

Any drawbacks? Just a couple of niggles - no safe in the rooms and no fridge/minibar. Aircon would be expensive to install so I can see they probably won't be doing that, but the safe and he fridge could fit neatly in the rooms.

You can reserve car parking for £10 per night for the duration of your stay - ideal if you think the hills of Newquay are too much like mountaineering, as it means you can come and go in your car as you wish.

Well done, Fistral Beach Hotel - a delightful stay.

Room Tip: Book one of the 'best' rooms and ask for 301 or 308.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear 339334

Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that you will revisit in the near future. Kristy and Mary would like to thank you for their special mentions.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Address: Esplanade Rd, Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#2 Business Hotel in Newquay
#8 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.