We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esplanade Rd, Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here during July heatwave for 2 nights. Paid a bit extra for sea view, and it was stunning - could have sat all day looking out to Fistral Beach. Neighbours without a view found their rooms stuffy, but ours was well aired and we are not fond of air con anyway.
Spa and pool were excellent (pool overheated but hey, it was extremely hot for England!)
Recently updated laid-back décor, helpful staff. Loved the outside terrace (if a bit small).
Limited parking, but can park on road, we had no problems.
Would definitely go again. We`re not surfers (silver surfers actually) but fun to watch those who do. Nice little snack shack at top of beach (hotel end).
Go on the parallel back road to Pentire Headland and admire the stunning views from there.

Room Tip: Sea view of course! This is Fistral, Cornwall!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Diggy-Dum

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had a lovely time with us and I will agree the view is stunning, even after many years the view does not get boring (I am not a surfer either) I hope that we will be able to welcome you back shortly and remember you are now part of our loyalty club so will receive 10% discount if you book directly with us.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    124
    32
    16
    0
See reviews for
69
413
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
norwich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a getaway for my boyfriends birthday via a deal from secret escapes. It was a fantastic stay, the hotel itself sits above the Fistral Beach & access to the beach is only 5 minute walk along the top & down some steps.
We had a sea view room which was worth extra money - the views of the beach were amazing. It was really hot when we went & our only criticism would have been that there was no air con nor a fridge. To be honest with the windows open & the sea breeze it was fine anyway but it would have been nice to have a fridge to keep our drinks cool.
The bathroom was lovely & clean and the shower really nice & powerful although we have to agree with some other reviewers that our shower also switched between hot & cool but it wasnt a big deal as it was quite nice to cool down in the evening!

The restaurant was amazing - the room itself is decorated in such a lovely way that it feels really bright & open yet cosy in the evening for dinner. We had a 3 course dinner included in our deal which we took advantage of on 2 of the 3 nights we were there, we dont usually eat in hotels as I am a vegetarian & often struggle to find things to have on al a carte menus, although there wasnt a vast veggie choice I didnt struggle too much to find something & it prompted me to try new things I wouldnt necessarily have had before & I'm glad I did as it was amazing food - the desserts were incredible!
Breakfast was also a brilliant choice of food & we loved the hot food was cooked to order which you rarely get nowadays.

The staff were brilliant & helpful all the time, we ate lunch in the bay bar one day & had drinks there in the evening & found the staff in the bar to be very helpful & friendly. There are board games to keep you entertained aswell which was a nice touch!

We had a massage in the spa on one of the days which was also fantastic - we didnt use the other spa facilites but they looked really nice.

We didnt have any issues with car parking & although it was the start of the summer holidays we found the parking to be no problem at all.

I'm really glad we chose this hotel - everything about it was lovely, the refurbished rooms are so clean & bright and the restaurant food brilliant. If we come back to Newquay we would definitely choose to stay here. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Definitely choose a sea view room - any extra cost is worth the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Devilrach

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad we could be a part of your partners Birthday celebrations and help to make it a special occasion. As you have mentioned the car parking is limited, we have 15 reserved bays which people can book out at £10 per day and then a further 25 bays which are on a first come first serve basis, there is however plenty of on road parking out the front of the hotel which is free of charge and there are no restrictions. Its lovely to read that you thought highly of our newly refurbished rooms, (we all love them as well). I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel through secret escapes with the dining package and what a great choice we made. Our first room was far too hot and noisy with a shower that had its own mind about temperature. The general manager handled my complaint very well indeed and we moved rooms again at the back of the hotel so view not too good but the room was excellent. The staff were so friendly and a credit to the hotel, without exception they made us very welcome. The Spa was excellent and my wife and my treatments were first class. The food was great, my favourite was the green lipped muscles and the pork belly. My issues were that housekeeping needed a bit more attention to detail, air con would have been nice and parking was a challenge although very entertaining watching people park over breakfast !! Well done to the entire team and thank you for a pleasent stay for us and our two daughters

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Mr Donno, Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I am glad that the second room you stayed in was more suited to you and your wife. Your kind comments regarding the staff and the spa therapists will be passed on. I hope that you and your family will return and stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marldon, Paignton devon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I took my husband for a birthday treat and we had a superb time. Lovely friendly staff and a perfect room, lashings of hot water (a must for me)
Food lovely and even some surf. So all in all would say to anyone looking for a bit of luxury after a day in the waves look no further.

Room Tip: A see view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Deborah C. I am pleased your husband enjoyed his Birthday and that you both enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a wonderfully relaxing stay in this hotel and top marks must go to the friendly and dedicated staff. Staff that make you feel welcome and cared for are a big plus for any hotel - nothing was too much trouble and what impressed me was that management would muck in and do what needed doing at busy times.

The rooms are clean and comfortable - nothing swanky but they do the job. Importantly the bed was great. We had a sea view room and I really would recommend you pay the extra for this - the rooms at the back I think would get hot stuffy and do not have good views at all. Plus the sea and beach view is simply amazing as the hotel is right on the stunning fistral beach. Two things are lacking from the rooms a safe and air con - although if you have a sea facing room the sea breeze means there is no need for air con. The bathroom has all you need and ours was clean and functional - although there was a problem with the shower in regulating the temperature as it kept dropping out a little cold. Towels were changed daily and were warm and fluffy and robes are provided for the spa.

The spa is clean, with a good sauna but the steam room was a little cool for my liking. The pool was clean and not over chlorinated although a little small. This is the minor problem with the spa area - at busy times it was slightly too small for the people - although we did enjoy using it when it was quieter.

Food in the hotel was mixed. We found breakfast to be generally poor - the quality of the buffet products was quite low for a 4 star hotel and the cooked products varied in standards tremendously - the porridge was very poor and the bacon was over cooked on a couple of occasions. There is a huge effort being made for dinner and the menu is impressive. We eat in the hotel each night and on 2 nights the standard was superb. However, on a couple of other nights the execution of the dishes was a let down, over cooked pork and under-cooked fish - but it was nothing disastrous. The general rule was that dinner was good, relaxing and with the stunning views of fistral beach. Service in the restaurant is very good.

Overall the hotel is good, the staff are lovely and most things are well run. I would recommend, with a few tweaks for consistency with the food and raising the quality of the breakfast this could be a top place.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the back - also room 110 is over the bar area and so a little noisy until midnigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked the Fistral beach so that if the weather was bad I could go in the spa and my husband could surf !!! Weather fab !!! ... Surf Not !!!! Uppps !! .. But that didn't interfere with the fab hotel service all the staff were friendly and helpful nothing was to much trouble .
The sea view room is a must and we will definitely be back .. It has a very relaxed atmosphere and in no way ostentatious .. Well done Fistral Beach you've got it just right !!!

Room Tip: Sea view worth the extra cost .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hi Tracery. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and got to make the most of the spa, sorry your husband didn't get a chance to surf, it just means you will have to come back and visit us in the near future!

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The good;

Location on the beach front of Fistral beach, gorgeous setting
Clean rooms, modern and stylish
The cooked breakfast was a very good quality with local pork and eggs
Outside terrace where you can enjoy a drink and watch the sun set
The gym was well equipped
Lighter snaks available in the bar

Not so good;
£140 pn for a standard double NO breakfast inc. this was £12pppd extra
Parking was limited and very tight
Towels not changed despite pitting them in the bath as requested

The bad;
The heat in the bedrooms! A newly refurb end hotel with no air con?! Regardless of there being a heat wave it was unbearable and even with a desk fan ( we brought our own) it was suffocating. Our room was on the back no balcony
The shower could not regulate its temperature: freezing cold to scolding in alternating goes!

Room Tip: If you can get a good deal go for a balcony so at least you can have the doors open if it is hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Address: Esplanade Rd, Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#1 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#2 Business Hotel in Newquay
#8 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.