We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend anniversary break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esplanade Rd, Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Weekend anniversary break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We booked the 2 night revive package through spabreaks.com for our wedding anniversary in July 2013. We decided to upgrade on arrival to a best room with sea view and balcony. We were not disappointed, amazing views of fistral beach and the sea. On a whole all the staff were very accommodating and very helpful. The rooms were spacious and very clean and well presented. The Bay bar was very nice and really tasteful décor along with the dinning room. The pool was was very clean and again very nicely presented. Really enjoyed the steam room and jacuzzi. The spa was lovely and treatments were good. Would definitely visit again and have already recommended it to other people. Food was very good and a nice selection for breakfast. Beds were a bit too hard for our liking and it was very hot but our visit was during the heatwave. Would have been nice to have a fan in the room due to the weather.

Room Tip: Best rooms have balcony's and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Ellieevaughan-a Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you had such a lovely time staying here with us and thank you for recommending us to your friends and family and I hope we see you here again in the future.

kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    108
    30
    15
    0
See reviews for
58
338
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Flintshire, uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have recently returned from a stay at this hotel. On booking it said that the refurbishments would be finished and we found the hotel to be of an excellent standard. We have stayed here several times before but this time our room was of the highest standard following the refurbishment. The staff are always helpful and nothing is too much trouble. We had a sea view room which is a must at this hotel and the view is worth the tariff !!!! Breakfast was of a high standard and plenty of choice. We ate in the restaurant at night and found this to be excellent. The cleanliness throughout the hotel was consistently high. Looking forward to your next stay!

Room Tip: Always choose a sea view room - you will not get a better view anywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi PReeceFlintshire_uk

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The refurbishment has now all been complete and it is lovely to read that it was all worth it. We are all very proud of how the rooms are looking now. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My friend and I picked up a great package deal on Secret Escapes for this hotel and stayed for 2 nights in July 2013.

Our twin room was overlooking the lovely fistral beach and was large with a good shower. The hotels has lots of redeeming features, particularly the pool and spa facilities. Book your treatments as soon as possible as they do fill up very quickly, even mid-week off peak. I had an express facial and it was absolutely wonderful and my friend had a neck and shoulders massage which she said was fab. The girls at the spa were really good and theres a nice relaxation room for you to spend time before and after.

The pool facilities are also lovely and not too busy.

In our deal we had breakfast and a 3 course meal for dinner included. Everything that we ate at the hotel was well cooked and tasty and there is a good choice of veggie and fish meals as well as for the regular meat eaters. I love food and this was my favourite part of the stay!

Room Tip: Have a look on secret escapes to see if they have a deal for this hotel. Try and get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Kathg

Thank you for your review. It is lovely to read you had such a lovely time and I agree the food is often the best bit and our Chef here is fantastic. I hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Booked this hotel at short notice at what we thought was a reasonable price. The hotel is in a fantastic location, with stunning views across Fistral Beach. We travelled down on July 9th, and stayed until the 12th. The hot and sunny weather, and relative lack of crowds (pre school holidays) worked in our favour.

The rooms were spotlessly clean (and remained so throughout our stay), so hats off to the cleaning staff, and we were met by friendly staff at check in. So far, so good.

We unpacked, changed and went straight to the beach, access to which was about a 5 minute walk, and down some steps.

The first night was very hot, and as our room had no air-con, we had to leave the windows open.
Unfortunately the room was at the back of the hotel, and after struggling to get to sleep, we were awoken by a couple having a screaming match at about 3.00am in the apartments behind the hotel. These looked like a self-catering block, and full of youngsters on a post exam party.

At 5.00am were awoken again by the kitchen staff crashing around. They too had their skylights open due to the heat, and were preparing for breakfast. At this point we gave up and made tea, from the admittedly well stocked tea tray.

The screaming match did not reoccur during the next 2 nights, but the kitchen battle continued each morning.

I find it hard to criticise the hotel for this, and frankly this was our only real complaint. We had breakfast every day, partly out of curiosity as to what all the noise was all about, and it was excellent, with very good and attentive service.

We did not have dinner in the restaurant, but the menu looked good and there was a 20% discount voucher in the welcome pack. We chose to go into town and try somewhere different.

I had a back treatment in the Spa, and my wife had her nails done, and we were very pleased with the service and friendliness of all of the staff.

As the title states, my recommendation is to try for a room at the front. It is bound to be quieter, and cooler from the sea breezes, but I understand can be expensive, especially those with a balcony).

We mentioned this to the staff at check-out, and they said that they could have offered us a fan if we had asked, although I'm not sure whether this would have made much difference in this heat.

All in all, we both agreed that we would stay again, but not in the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try and book a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I had an evening meal from the a la carte menu in the Fistral Beach Hotel resturant a couple of nights ago.We live locally and often eat in various hotels and resturants in the area.I have to say that the food was really fabulous.The presentation was excellent and the taste was amazing.It rates as one of the finest meals we have had anywhere in the area and I would wholeheartedly recommend it holidaymakers and locals alike.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you Trolly15 for your review. Your lovely comments have been passed onto the head chef. If you are ever short of something to do on a Thursday night remember we do our steak nights. Two 10oz rump steaks and a bottle of wine for £25. We also have live music every Friday afternoon in the Bay Bar. Hope you will pop in a see us again soon.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Fantastic Hotel, Friendly Staff, lovely food, will definitely stop there again!! Hotel was very clean and staff always on hand to help. Had lovely meals there in both the bar and restaurant. Room had an amazing sea view and was very clean throughout.

Room Tip: room 119 beautiful sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you Sarah C, it is great to read you had such a good time staying with us. Just remember you are now part of our loyalty club so on any return visit you will receive 10% discount plus lots of little extras.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

So, the good bits :
The location - perched above Fistral Beach, with glorious views along the coast
Smiley, happy, English-speaking staff
A great, well-run restaurant
The 'not-so-goods' :
The quality of the sausages at breakfast!
The hot-cold shower experience
No air-con (in our room, at least)
Our lasting welcome experience "you can't park there, sir. Where can I park? Anywhere but there, sir" Not pleasant.

Room Tip: We had a standard sea view room - the view was fantastic. No air-con though
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you Hadleytmike for your review. I am pleased that there were so many things that you enjoyed about your stay. The issue with the water going from hot to cold is being looked into and we are trying to resolve it as a matter of urgency. Regarding the sausages they are sourced locally and are of very high quality, however I have passed your comments onto the head chef and the executive chef and we are monitoring our customer feedback. If you would like to discuss this or anything else regarding your stay with me further then please do not hesitate to contact me on manager@fistralbeachhotel.co.uk.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Address: Esplanade Rd, Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Business Hotel in Newquay
#8 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.