We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant 4 night break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sandy Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Sandy Lodge Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-12 Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant 4 night break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returned after a lovely break here. The two single rooms we had along with the twin one were all very clean and tidy and everything you should need, a bit small but I don't spend a lot of time in my room. Walls a little thin but no real complaints there. The staff are all excellent, friendly and helpful, the food, delicious and very generous. Entertainment is ok, especially the group and the comedian, not carried away with the couple or the bingo.
Location is ideal, beach 5 mins, town 10 mins and a bus stop close by for longer trips out.
All in all, very good and would probably go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    93
    24
    24
    21
See reviews for
30
99
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have just got back from a 4night break. This hotel is clean some of the rooms may need a bit of a tidy up but the staff and the meals make up for that.
After looking at some of the reviews I was surprised at how friendly the staff was, I got Tracy on reception who is one of the friendliest and helpful receptionist I have ever had dealings with.

The restaurant staff were pleasant and efficient the food was excellent. Neville the restaurant manager certainly kept a well run team but still had time to have a laugh and a joke with everyone.

We had room 303 which was quiet and very clean. Try this hotel but don't expect 5star we love it.

Room Tip: Rooms in the lodge are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raunds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Have just enjoyed a wonderful three days staying at the Sandy Lodge Hotel. As with your other reviewers this Hotel is not your modern air conditioned hotel, but that was not what we paid for. The room we had 218 was excellent it had a balcony, the bathroom and rest of the hotel were very clean, towels and bed linen spotless. All the staff were friendly and very helpful especially Neville and Sophie in the restaurant. The food was really good far better than we had expected, we booked through travelzoo and were looking for the catch and there is none ! If you are thinking of going down to Cornwall for a few days this is an excellant base. Plenty of car parking and easy access to Newquay itself and a short walk to the beach. The area the hotel is in is quiet and yes you do get coach parties of people staying but this actually was really nice as the ones who were staying when we did were friendly and full of fun. Bingo in the evening yes( but you don't have to join in) the entertainment on Tuesday was Eddison Lighthouse for those of you over 50 you will recognize the name. Although I am nearing 60
I did notice some people who were younger than me and if you want a Nightclub type 18 - 30's holiday then this is not the Hotel for you. But if you want a clean hotel with good food at a very good price and easy access to the sights of Cornwall then this is the place for you. Will we be back YES and will look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are cool and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Guys, this hotel has a clear target market and caters to them brilliantly... We are a couple in our mid twenties and booked a cheap dinner bed and breakfast deal from travel zoo or similar, without much prior research.

Evening meal was ok, Breakfast very good.... Service in restaurant and reception brilliant!!!
Would we stay here again No, but that's cause we are not retired.... It's bingo and dancing every evening and we saw no-one else under the age of 60 staying there, Don't let this put you off too much cause its a good location and rooms are clean and comfy.
Walls are perhaps a bit thin but with the old dears you only get limited noise.
Hotel is doing a good job of what they do well its just not for us, Thanks

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a place to crash after a good day on the beach, you might enjoy this place. The room was not that big, but it wasn't tiny. It is extremelly well located, right next to the beach and to the city center. It is like 10 minutes walking to the center and 5 minutes or less to the beach. Please notice that is an old place and it is a lodge, so it is really good for the price paid (through wowcher). Next time we will look for a more modern place, but this would do the trick.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelseaboy1
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Myself and my wife have just returned from a weekend break at Sandy Lodge and had a fantastic time the Hotel is situated about 5 min walk from the town centre and beaches,the rooms were very clean and tidy and the standard of the food was exceptional,the staff were very very friendly and help full
,the zoo is about 10 min walk from the hotel and a staff member even offered to give us a lift there,all in all we had a brilliant weekend break and very cheap as well.WE WILL CERTAINLY BE RETURNING,Thank you all at the Sandy Lodge Hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed good but we stayed in room 218 very nice indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rojales, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Don't ever accept room 117 - there is a large extractor immediately outside the room that comes on at around 6 am every morning. The room was cramped & not at all suitable for accommodation. Food however was excellent - shame the rest let it down. I would rather pay more for a better place to stay for a week.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Lodge Hotel

Address: 6-12 Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandy Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandy Lodge Hotel in Newquay is a great family run hotel based in Cornwall's premier resort. Situated close to the seafront, the hotel features en-suite bedrooms with Freeview TV & Tea & Coffee making faciities. The Hotel offers excellent cuisine including our "all you can eat," Breakfast Buffet with friendly, informal service. Entertainment is provided most evenings and the public areas of the hotel have ramped access to facilitate wheelchair users. Free Parking is also available for hotel guests for up to 50 vehicles.Our ideal location means that you will only be a 150 yards away from the beautiful seafront of Newquay Bay and the local shops and town centre only a short walk away. We deliver high quality service and our rates are very competitive if you are looking for a great value hotel in Newquay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sandy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Hotel Newquay
Sandy Lodge Newquay
Sandy Lodge Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.