We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soulful and spiritual retreat...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deep Green Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Deep Green Lodge to your Saves list
Deep Green Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   31 Trebarwith Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 109 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Soulful and spiritual retreat...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Our stay in Newquay was made very special with our time at Deep Green Lodge.
From the outset and even before we had set foot through the door, we were welcomed by Mike giving us his parking space. Superb!
Beautifully decorated environment here, and wherever you turn there will be something different to see. Incense is the norm here and rightly so, it really gives their home a spirituality all of it's own.
Our room was spacious enough, with some lovely little touches making you the traveller very much at home. We really felt like we had been part of something special having stayed here.
Breakfast really is an informal affair, toaster available, fresh and freeze dried coffee for your convenience. There was a tv in the lounge/breakfast room which made breakfast more interactive. Plenty of croissants, teacakes, bread and enough choice of tea to rival any hotel.
I now have a new found love for Vegemite.
Seriously, Deep Green is an experience and highly recommended for any traveller with a soul!

Room Tip: We had room two on the first floor which was rear facing. Very peaceful on the whole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepgreenlodge, Manager at Deep Green Lodge, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you so much guys for a beautiful review. We appreciate the effort you have gone to, to write such a great review.. It means a lot to us to have such great feedback. But you must understand that guests like you make our lives so much easier..
Many, many thanks Mike & Lou xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
43
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just returned from another wonderful stay at Deep Green Lodge. Mike & Lou create such a lovely environment, and have brought the spirit of their international travels to Cornwall. The B&B is comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated. Mike & Lou are both so friendly & helpful, and really make you feel welcome. Already looking forward to the next trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepgreenlodge, Owner at Deep Green Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We would just like to say how grateful we are for taking the time and effort to review our b&b. It's always a pleasure to have such lovely people stay with us and think that it's you guys that make it so special...
Thank you so much
Mike & Lou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Me and my girlfriend have just got back from a 4 night stay at the Deep Green Lodge and I couldn't of chose a better place , when we first arrived Mike was very welcoming and made us feel at home , he has a lot of knowledge of the area (including surfing , places to eat etc) and was also happy to help and answer any questions , he even rang and booked us our surfing lessons.the location is perfect and everything is within a short walking distance (beaches/shops are literally at the end of the street) although there is no noise at night from the bars. The Deep Green Lodge overall is extremely clean, perfect location, perfect host, very friendly and I highly recommend this b&b and we've already spoke about going back next year.Thanks Ian & Clare

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepgreenlodge, Owner at Deep Green Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We would just like to say how grateful we are for taking the time and effort to review our b&b. It's always a pleasure to have such lovely people stay with us and think that it's you guys that make it so special...
Thank you so much
Mike & Lou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern -UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

It's our last night here :-( but what a place. Never been to newquay before & I don't want to go home. Mike is a fab guy, so down to earth we felt comfortable & he was very welcoming too. He showed us to our room and told us breakfast etc. Id choosen room 1 as I liked the colours/decor I'd seen from the internet & was very pleased with it, price for our 5 night stay was well worth it. Also I liked the eco bit, makes you think about how much food, electric and everything else you waste at home (not that it's forced or anything like that) just that me & hubby chatted about these things and most people do waste/use far too much, so I'm planning to give it ago too. Location is perfect (I went on Google maps to see the distance to the beach & thought that's not far) then when we came here I was buzzing as it's literally on your door step, not just one beach but about 6 beaches... Continental breakfast is yummy all organic, fresh, tasty & lots of choice. I liked the fact that it's help yourself as that's more relaxing. Mike has lots of knowledge on the area, places to eat, surf &.anything else you want to know. One really nice touch we had from mike, it was our first wedding anniversary & we received a anniversary card from him & Lou. It's little things like that, that make you smile & feel welcome. It will always be with us that we had our 1st anniversary here. Every one is special but it's the actual wedding day then the 1st anniversary;-) that's the most memorable. Mike recommended a few places to eat prior to us visiting, the place I booked before comming here was lusty glaze beach restaurant. I was not disappointed at all... What a stunning place. So thank you mike. Again what a fab place, great people, great location and a top star place. It was perfect for us. Thanks a lot, Nat and Greg xx P.S thanks for our little plant, look forward to taking it to our home.

Room Tip: The biggest tip is to choose this place. Great price, owners, food, location and JUST GREAT EVERYTHI...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepgreenlodge, Owner at Deep Green Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We would just like to say how grateful we are for taking the time and effort to review our b&b. It's always a pleasure to have such lovely people stay with us and think that it's you guys that make it so special...
Thank you so much
Mike & Lou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

What can I say? Another beautiful stay at the Deep Green Lodge. Having stayed here with my boyfriend last year I couldn't wait to return. Mike is a brilliant host and hopefully we will return in the future at a time when I can meet Lou as well.

Everything is spotlessly clean and with a very laid back relaxing atmosphere and eco friendly products. The breakfast is delicious and you can have as much or as little as you want so sets you up for the day.

The rooms are gorgeous and the new decor very complimentary and fresh. This time we stayed in room 1 which was lovely with a view out to the rear of the property. This B&B although central to Newquay is in a great quiet spot and close to the beach.

I would thoroughly recommend staying here to anybody!! We had an amazing holiday and loved taking in the events at Boardmasters and the local sites.

Room Tip: All rooms are delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepgreenlodge, Owner at Deep Green Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We would just like to say how grateful we are for taking the time and effort to review our b&b. It's always a pleasure to have such lovely people stay with us and think that it's you guys that make it so special...
Thank you so much
Mike & Lou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just back from four nights at Deep Green Lodge with my boyfriend and we're both feeling very relaxed. Mike was the perfect host, attentive and friendly, but not at all intrusive. As soon as we arrived we felt very welcome and were impressed by our stylish and spotlessly clean room. When staying at B&Bs I always worry a bit about breakfast because I hate the usual very formal setting and heavy, greasy food. Deep Green Lodge's breakfast set up was the opposite to this and I loved it, there was a great selection a breads, crumpets, pancakes, fruit, yoghurt, tea and coffee to help yourself to and enjoy in a very relaxed space. I felt a healthy, but filling breakfast set us up really well for a day in the sea! We were also really impressed with Mike and Lou's dedication to making the B&B as eco friendly as possible. Overall, we had a great time and will definitely be going back (as soon as we feel ready to brave the massive drive again!). I would thoroughly recommend Deep Green Lodge to couples looking for a relaxing and romantic break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepgreenlodge, Owner at Deep Green Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We would just like to say how grateful we are for taking the time and effort to review our b&b. It's always a pleasure to have such lovely people stay with us and think that it's you guys that make it so special...
Thank you so much
Mike & Lou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is the best B&B I have ever stayed in, by far the best in Newquay
Mike is the perfect host, couldn't be anymore helpful, we had lots of informative chats about everything and anything
The rooms are perfect, me and friends stayed in 2 of the 3 rooms and they were both fantastic
The breakfast room and everything that was provided for breakfast was 1st rate, and they even provided me with Soya, when I asked BRILLIANT !!!
The location is perfect in the centre, but in a quiet street, so no bar noise of any kind
The house is very near the beach to, which is a bonus
I will definitely be visiting again, hopefully same time next year, if BMX is in Boardmasters, fingers crossed

Room Tip: just ticked everything because it was that good, but they don't have a fitness centre or pool, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepgreenlodge, Owner at Deep Green Lodge, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to write such a lovely review. We do appreciate it very much and we have to say that without such lovely guests our lives/jobs wouldn't be half as good.
Thank you so much x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Deep Green Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deep Green Lodge

Address: 31 Trebarwith Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Deep Green Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep Green Lodge is a small family run bed and continental breakfast style accommodation in a prime location, less than two minutes walk from Newquay's fabulous beaches.We are situated in Newquay Town centre close to all the shops and nightlife, yet away from the hustle and bustle of the town. We offer a high quality, bed and continental breakfast accommodation.We boast a clean, friendly, relaxed atmostphere where guests can leave all their troubles behind and fully enjoy their holiday. With our three double en-suite rooms we ideally cater towards couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Deep Green Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deep Green Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deep Green Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.