We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service but rooms very tiny” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Breeze

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Summer Breeze to your Saves list
Summer Breeze
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   20 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #24 of 109 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good service but rooms very tiny”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I stayed with my husband and another couple in this bed and breakfast. While the service was very friendly, the rooms are tiny. Our double room had a cupboard space which was converted into a toilet. And a compact bathroom with barely enough space to move. The windows open directly to the main road through which noisy traffic could be heard. Great place for people who don't mind small rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
30
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Great location for Newquay just a short walk away. The double bed was too small for my husband and he is not particularly tall. The room was furnished beautifully and was a very good size. There was loud noises which i can only assume they were from plumbing. It only happened a couple of times.

I highly recommend to eat it at stavros and to avoid the thai resturant now called phuket.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at Summer Breeze for two nights and I found the guest house to be quiet, clean and comfortable. The proprietors were friendly and a accommodating and the breakfast generous and freshly cooked. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: For the best Wi-Fi at this guest house, request a lower floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Had a wonderful weeks stay at the summer breeze in the middle of June. Andy & Karen are such a lovely couple and made our stay in Newquay an even more enjoyable one, thanks once again.

Rob, Michelle & Baby Lucas

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We arrived late afternoon and received a warm welcome, from Karen & Andy.

Our room on the ground floor, was large airy and scrupulously clean, nicely furnished, comfortable, and complete with the usual tea/coffee facilities, and more unusually, a modern wide screen digital television.

The en-suite, was one of the cleanest we have ever seen, five stars for that, excellent!

The dining room is bright, modern and once again, scrupulously clean. The breakfast menu is broad enough to please both my wife and myself, and we have widely differing preferences. The breakfast meal here is definitely not the 'greasy spoon' variety, it is cooked to professional Chef standards. Our compliments to the Chef!

Although the hotel is in the centre of the town, we had a good night's sleep for every one of the three nights we stayed, so it's well insulated against traffic noise. The hotel is within a ten minute stroll to all of Newquay's excellent shopping and Promenades, so much to do locally and a wide variety of restaurants, and bars close at hand, without the need to drive.

In summary, we felt it hard to find any criticism worthy of mention, we would happily have stayed longer, and would not hesitate to stay at the Summer Breeze in the future.

J & D Beynon

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

lovely comfy and a very warm welcome, best breakfast in cornwall, highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We had 4 nights away for easter. The couple that run the summer breeze are lovely. The lady couldn't do enough for you at breakfast. She even kept smiling with some customers that were really hard work. 10 out of 10 to her for that. Lovely stay great location it was handy for everything. Plus it has parking which is great.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Summer Breeze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Breeze

Address: 20 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Summer Breeze 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 3*rated guest house in a very convenient location in Newquay. Run for 14 years by Andy & Karen Wilkins, guests are assured of a friendly welcome, comfortable, clean accommodation, freshly cooked full English breakfast and warm hospitality. We have car parking on site, storage for bikes/surfboards and all of our rooms have en-suite showers and wcs, flat screen tvs, tea and coffee making facilities. Guests have their own keys to access rooms at any time. We don't accept bookings from stag or hen parties. We are very centrally located, just 2 minutes' walk from the town centre and beaches, ideal for couples, families and small groups of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Summer Breeze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Breeze Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Breeze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.