We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wild time in newquay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newquay Zoo

Newquay Zoo
Trenance Gardens, Newquay TR7 2LZ, England
+44 1637 873342
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 18 Attractions in Newquay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set in lush sub-tropical gardens, Newquay Zoo is home to more than 1,000 of the world's rare and exciting creatures. Just a short walk from Newquay's town centre and world famous surfing beaches, the Zoo is both one of Cornwall's most exciting visitor attractions and a leading conservation charity. It's the only place in Cornwall where you can see lions devour their lunch before taking a leisurely stroll through a tropical rainforest, surrounded by free flying birds. Keeper talks and animal feeds take place throughout the day but if you fancy an even closer animal encounter we offer visitors the chance to meet and feed our cheeky lemurs, friendly penguins and impossibly cute meerkats! See wildebeest, waterbuck, nyala antelope and zebra roaming in our African Savannah and enjoy some familiar faces in The Village Farm - one of our most popular exhibits which includes many children's favourites such as pot-bellied pigs, African pygmy goats, turkeys and striped squirrels. And if all that isn't enough to keep the kids amused, we also have activity trails, face painting, a children's play area, dragon maze...and much more. Besides enjoying a great family day out, when you visit Newquay Zoo you'll also be supporting our vital education, research and conservation work, all designed to protect endangered animals from extinction. We're playing a key role in the international effort to save animals through conservation breeding.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“wild time in newquay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

love what the zoo is doing with the area they have been givin. I have been to many zoo's around europ and the divers amount wild life is awsome. Only negative is that most people find the cost a little steap in the winter

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    269
    135
    41
    23
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
devon
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A pleasant day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

A small zoo which is laid out well and very easy to walk around, all the animals look really healthy and well cared for especially the lions who looked really healthy and alert unlike some places where they look really sad and bored.
The cafe had a well balanced menu and was very reasonably priced, it was also very clean.
We spent 3hours here and if you are looking for a full day out you might struggle here, but we enjoyed all aspects of the park, but beware that parking is a bit of a nightmare as it shares the parking with the swimming baths and i think with the little park/train area next door and from April is pay and display, so take that into account, overall a good morning/afternoon out.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“breakfast with the animals &Halloween night both superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Went to breakfast with the animals in August 2012 and it was so well organised we went back in October and did the Halloween night . Both times the ticket price included a return visit ,within 7 days. this makes what is already a competative price into a cheap day out. The breakfast with the animals included breakfast for us and it was great seeing the zoo wake up and getting close to the animals. Halloween was set up with lots of games/activities where the children earned sweets and chocolate. Both days were realy great the zoo is actually a lot bigger than I thought and the enclosures are big. I learnt a lot about the actual zoo and what they do . IMpressed

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lucky to have such a great zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Definately worth a visit while on holiday or as a local. Great place, staff are lovely. Very clean and animals are extremely well cared for.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

will defiantly visit this place again iv never really seen a zoo that have a pet skunk shows was really good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newquay Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Newquay Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newquay Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.