We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whipsiderry Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Whipsiderry Hotel to your Saves list
Whipsiderry Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trevelgue Road | Porth, Newquay TR7 3LY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Chose this small hotel on Trip Advisor comments and was not disappointed.
It is a well run hotel, nothing is too much trouble for Andy and Lisa.
High quality food with good variety and no corners cut; obviously an excellent chef.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    14
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
51
69
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Many thanks to Andy & Lisa for their very warm and friendly welcome. As always, our stay was fabulous and many congratulations to Rob for his continuing excellence in the kitchen - the food is to die for. I can't think of anywhere else that you would feel so at home and we are already looking forward to next year. Long may it continue.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just got back from our 10th stay in as many years at this lovely Hotel. As always the hospitality we receive from Andy and Lisa is great. I can't recommend this Hotel highly enough. It's location, accommodation and fabulous food is second to none. Can't wait to spend our 11th year with all at the Whipsiderry.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you want a warm welcome, great food, clean bright rooms with some fabulous views, a place that is good for the soul, then look no more ! After a decade of returns, it just gets better and better. Thanks to Lisa and Andy and all the team at the Whipsiderry, you will leave feeling rested and refreshed. Wonderful !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horndon-on-the-Hill
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just returned from a 1 week stay at The Whipsiderry Hotel which we used as a central base to discover Cornwall for the first time. The hotel is great, very clean and the food is second to none, we would not hesitate to stay again at this hotel. Our hosts Lisa & Andy were helpful and pleasent company, as were the other guests, some who were regular guests. Plenty of off road parking and a quite location makes this and ideal location to explore the whole of Cornwall. Mike & Val

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were looking to stay in this area in early April and upon coming across the hotel's website decided to book for three nights. If I'm really honest, I half expected it to be just a base for us, a little dated, maybe stuck in the 70's (and I'm sure there are a few like that in and around Newquay). Wrong! From entering the hotel it was clear we had found a little gem. Spotlessly clean and welcoming, the whole atmosphere was lovely. The hotel is indeed not uber-modern, but charming in a timeless traditional way and fresh and airy throughout. Our room was spacious with panoramic views and well-appointed. After a lovely pre-dinner drink in the bar (reasonably priced) dinner on each night again far outweighed our expectations, every single course was a delight.
To top it all, the Whipsiderry is ideally placed to explore the area along this beautiful coastline. So finally, anyone reading this review will probably guess we loved the Whipsiderry Hotel!
Well done Lisa and Andy (and Chef Rob)- it is a credit to you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at the Whipsiderry for two nights in May 2013. Very warm welcome, tea on arrival.Room was comfortable and clean. Food was excellent. Lisa and Andy were wonderful hosts and made our stay a very pleasant experience. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whipsiderry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whipsiderry Hotel

Address: Trevelgue Road | Porth, Newquay TR7 3LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newquay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Whipsiderry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established for its cuisine Unrivalled for its views Renowned for its hospitalitySituated on the stunning North Coast of Cornwall, Whipsiderry Hotel is surrounded by rolling cliffs, beautiful blue seas, golden sands, Set in grounds of over two acres, with panoramic views of Newquay, Porth Beach & Bay. The Whipsiderry is a peaceful family run hotel, an ideal location for exploring all Cornwall has to offer. Discover the Secret Why Guest Return Year After Year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Whipsiderry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whipsiderry Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whipsiderry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.