We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Animals” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kenton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kenton Hotel to your Saves list
Kenton Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Animals”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and the views from the bedroom was great. However, the decor is very tired, carpets back in the 80s, and it smelt. Why, cos the majority of people staying have dogs, one or maybe two would have been acceptable but there were loads. Not a mention about dogs being welcomed when booking this hotel, but to find out it is compulsory - I think we were the only couple there without a dog. In the evening the bar ran out of beer and no replacement barrel was put on - Cans only - £2.65 for a can of Tetley? as I had no choice I cant believe I paid this price. Breakfast was fine - although you have to be seated where told - doesn't matter if you are there first or not, if you had a sea view from the bedroom you weren't allowed to sit by the dining room window. The bed was concave and felt like sleeping on a large muffin. The duvet only just reached the edge of the bed with no overhang so when two people were underneath it was far from adequate. Overall NOT impressed, whole place could do with a good clean and lick of paint - definitely not one to rebook - unless you have a dog.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We do heavily advertise as being a dog friendly hotel in many places and even have photo's of our own dog on all websites and adverts, so I am very surprised that you were not aware that we are a dog friendly hotel. Whilst we make every effort to only allow a maximum of 3 dogs at any one time within the hotel on occasions people do just turn up with dogs without having informed us that they plan to bring a dog with them, in such instances are we to tell people they will have to leave when they are already here??
Unfortunately the Tetleys barrel did finish unexpectedly late in the evening and we did not have another in stock to replace it, so we offered a can at a much reduced price or an alternative drink, which is obviously your choice and not obligatory! The bed in the room you stayed in is a new bed purchased in the last 2 months with soft cushion top which was clearly not to your liking.
We do allocate tables in the dinning room to make sure that everyone gets a table, ie as you often see in cafes there will be several couples sat on large family tables leaving the small tables for 2 empty so that if a family come in they have no where to sit. As we have 4 rooms on the back of the hotel we do try to make sure that if they can't see the sea from their room they can at least see it from their table in the dinning room, if people ask for a sea view in the restaurant we will move tables so long as there are not already people sitting on them which on this occasion there were, so again am I to tell people they have to move because you would like to sit there.
We are a family run hotel and all work very hard to try and please everyone, after working with the general public for 15 years we should however accept the fact that some people will never be happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    25
    5
    8
    8
See reviews for
24
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 day break at the Kenton. We had a very nice time and found the hotel's location perfect for what we were looking for, that being, outside of Newquay and very close indeed to the magnificent scenery, beaches. walks.
The breakfast is well cooked, filing and a good way to start the day. There is a bar at the hotel which seemed to be popular but we were out mostly and used the small selection of pubs in the surrounding area's. Parking is provided free at the back in the hotel car park.
The only reason I did not give 5 stars is because our room was at the rear and small but we were rarely there so it was not too much of a worry, the plus point being that the rear rooms get the best seats in the dining room with the amazing views.
I feel the hotel is well priced and I would stay there again if visiting the part of Cornwall.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to meeting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackburn
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Made welcome again, great food, great view and great company. True to their statement of "Kev will do it".. Kev didn't say no to anyone weather good.... Will be back on next visit to Cornwall......we even got to see dolphins

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for your company again, it was a pleasure and we look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caversham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We are a couple who stayed for 3 nights with our 18 and 16 year old daughters. Got 2 double rooms. Breakfast included.

Breakfast - our daughters stuffed themselves and us older more health conscious mostly went for the juice, fruit and cereals. No complaints.

We didn't have dinner in the hotel.

Rooms smallish but we expected that. Clean. Beds good. Fantastic view out the front. Telly a bit dodgy sometimes. WIFI free - and it worked! (Better than some mega expensive hotels we have stayed at in Woolacombe for example).

We wanted somewhere on the outskirts of Newquay to base ourselves to explore Cornwall for a few days. Eden Project, St Ives, Padstow, Marazion etc. and it was perfect for that.

We briefly visited the centre of Newquay and marvelled at the tattoos, foul language and drunkenness. The men were almost as bad.

The pub on the beach at the bottom of the hill is OK. In a 1970's sort of fry and chips way. The Tapas place opposite is actually really good and good value for money.

We enjoyed drinks later in the bar and me and the girls had a great time playing darts.

Owners were friendly and relaxed (and I loved his guitar!)

The Kenton Hotel - great - and ideally situated to get away from Newquay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for your comments. It is always nice to see that we are actually doing something right and people are enjoying their stay. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend and it was absolutely perfect for what we wanted.
Great location.
Easy parking
Friendly Staff
Comfy Bed

Reading other reviews I think some people have odd expectations. I didn't book a 7 star hotel in Dubai and have broad expectations depending on my stay.
We needed a good base for the weekend and a decent nights sleep. We got just that and had no hassle at all. I had no issues with late entry and have no complaints. The room was clean and tidy and I slept great both nights. Yes the bathroom is a little on the small side but it certainly didn't cause any problems.

I've never been to Newquay before and my stay was very pleasant. We drove into the town a couple of times and I would say with the lack of general parking you're much better staying just out by the bay in the Kenton instead of being in the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for your lovely comments, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I picked this hotel for a short break with my dad. It's in a wonderful location overlooking the bays and cliffs on the edge of town. The hotel is great value and staff very friendly. It's got a couple of bars/ restaurants about 5 mins walk from the hotel down the hill, which is quite steep so a bit if a climb back up, but both were great, particularly the tapas bar.

A great base for exploring Cornwall and we found it nice not to be in the centre of town. Worth it for the views.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review, glad you had a good holiday and we hope to meet you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Chose this hotel for a last minute bank holiday break and we were not disappointed. My husband, 19 year old daughter and I stayed for 2 nights over the bank holiday in a triple room and although we were 3 adults we were still given a 'family room' rate. I can honestly say the hotel was better than expected. We had a sea view room on the 1st floor which was clean, nicely presented and comfortable with ample hanging and drawer space. It was great to have a clock/radio as well as the usual TV and the hairdryer, although a bit tricky to use, and tea/coffee making facilities were a bonus. The sea view was great, I could have sat looking at it all day! The Kenton was a bit further out of Newquay than we expected being in the Porth Beach area which had we gone by car would not have presented any problems at all but having travelled down by train it meant quite a walk to amenities. There is a bus which passes the hotel but only hourly and less frequently on Sundays and the one we waited for on Saturday night to return to the hotel did not turn up! For a beach holiday it is ideally located - Porth Beach is very nice, clean and has a lifeguard. We only ate breakfast at the hotel and this was excellent, so would imagine the evening meal to be good too. The welcome was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. I would recommend the hotel wholeheartedly to anyone young and older alike.

Room Tip: Don't know about the other rooms but room 7 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review, glad you had a good holiday and we hope to meet you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenton Hotel

Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kenton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kenton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenton Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.