We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly family run hotel. I'd gladly stay there again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kenton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kenton Hotel to your Saves list
Kenton Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly family run hotel. I'd gladly stay there again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Lovely comfortable room with fantasticuninterrupted views of the beautiful coastline and sea.. Family run and very welcoming. Nice atmosphere in the bar in the evenings. Great breakfasts to set you up for a day of sightseeing. So many places worth seeing are just a short trip in the car from the hotel. I'd be happy to stay there again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review, glad you had a good holiday and we hope to meet you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    25
    5
    8
    8
See reviews for
24
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitehills, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I took my parents for a break in Cornwall and stayed at the Kenton for 7 nights. The rooms were spacious and clean and we had panoramic views of Porth beach and cliffs were amazing. Breakfast was hearty and set us up for the day we did have one evening meal in the hotel which was really nice. We would return just for the hospitality we were shown throughout our stay. Would I return... yes we would.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review, glad you had a good holiday and we hope to meet you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

just returned from a weeks stay for our honeymoon. what an amazing family that made us feel so incredibly welcome,their home cooked meals are at least 5* rating, the hotel its self should be at least 3*. the room was extremely clean, comfortable and the room was cleaned every day, our needs were always adhered to, they just couldn't do enough to please us.being two women on our own we felt completely safe in our surroundings and would recommend not only to families and couples but lone travelers too.would recommend to everyone we know. we have never at the end of our stay, handed in chocolates and a thank you card, thank you so very much kenton hotel and if we are ever in the area again we will be stopping with you......ps the waiter/barman is completely mad ....we love him

Room Tip: room 6 sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review, glad you had a good holiday and we hope to meet you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have just arrived home from an 8 night half board stay at the Kenton Hotel, (7th - 15th August ) we chose this hotel as they agreed to let us take our 4 Basset Hounds as well as our 4 children and so we expected the hotel to be average but we were very grateful that they agreed to take us that we were prepared to accept any small problems we might have, however I am very happy to say that we didn't have to compromise and the hotel was warm and welcoming and we thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it to families with or without children / dogs. It reminded me of the hotels that I stayed in as a child with a traditional dining room, freshly prepared meals served to the table rather than buffet style( we were DB & B ) and even darts and pool in the bar area where everyone sat in the evenings. The family that run the hotel are accommodating and helpful and from the day we arrived we felt as though we had known them for a long time and the other guests, many of whom were regular guests were also friendly and chatty and it felt like a home from home. If you want a posh hotel that is quiet and refined then this may not be for you but if you want a lovely clean and tidy hotel that is run by a family that know and understand their guests, if you want to sit in the bar for a drink in the evening and have a chat with other guests or relax and watch TV in the lounge, if you like a nicely prepared menu that is simple yet tasty and enjoyable and if you want to feel that you can relax without worrying about the children who might be playing in the garden or the dog who might bark occasionally we can wholeheartedly recommend the Kenton. in our opinion that hotel is above the standard of a 2* and we felt that it exceeded our expectations with the facilities and value for money. Thanks for having us, I'm sure we will return again soon , Gaynor & Phil Cunningham Derby

Room Tip: There were several sea view rooms, we had two of them and it was beautiful to look across the bay, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Manager at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, it means a lot to us as we do try very hard to make everyone's holiday as nice as possible. We are all pleased you had a nice holiday and look forward to meeting you all again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from the Kenton Hotel after spending a long weekend there. I do check hotel reviews before I go anywhere, this one in particular, being the first experience of staying in the UK, and the very varied and confusing reviews written by previous guests. We were very aware of the rating of this hotel before we went. We needed a base for the amount of visiting we wanted to do around Cornwall and its position was ideal for that. We were out all day every day, only returning in the evening for a shower; drink in the bar, then bed. It is hard to understand some of the negative reviews, but others you can understand. Our welcome from Laura, was warm and helpful, we had just completed a long walk because we had got to Newquay early and spent the day there before checking in, we requested a drink of cold water which she got for us straight away before giving us our room key. The room we were allocated was on the top floor and indeed did have good sea views however it was so small I found it very claustrophobic, and asked Laura to move us, which she did without any problem. The new room was a family room (9) which although having a bunk bed as well as the very comfortable double bed, was far better. The room was clean and comfortable, fresh towels every day. Yes there was a delay in getting the water to run hot, and yes the shower cubicle was very small, but it was adequate for our needs, and not a point to make a fuss about.
After full day’s excursions, it was nice to sit and chat with other guests in the lounge area and have a quiet drink, with them and the management team, and meet "Fred" the owner’s dog, who is lovely. The bar had a good selection of drinks, if a little over priced, but again we were aware of what to expect, and it really was of no concern.
This family run hotel is tired, it could do with a lick of paint here and there, and at times it was obvious, despite their best efforts, that the family were finding it hard work. I understand the policy on allowing pets, and the additional revenue generate by offering this provision, but it was very difficult to disguise the odour of dog throughout the hotel especially in the TV lounge and the second floor landing. As I have said previously it is important to offer this provision, but not everyone appreciates the policy. In terms of the food, again it would meet the required standards for the star rating of this hotel, the perception that is of a 5 star standard is totally wrong, the breakfast was hot, there was enough of it, and Laura served it with a smile on her face, plenty of tea or coffee and a great start to the day. We only had one evening meal, through choice, because we ate out, the meal we had was again acceptable, the peas and carrots may have come out of a tin, and the potatoes were underdone, but so what, its not a five star restaurant. We left our table satisfied and full.
A lot of the negative reviews revolved around the owner Norman. It was our experience that we felt his manner was part of his make up, and if you were of a sensitive nature the some of his remarks said in jest could be taken in the wrong way, I am not, and we found him amusing and had some good banter with him in the evening around the bar and when playing darts and pool.
Conclusion, the hotel communal areas are comfortable after a long day out, with those wonderful views, the restaurant is clean and tidy, providing adequate fayre, the rooms and bathrooms are on the small side, perhaps its time for a restructure. We are sure if the guests who left negative reviews reflected on what they were getting for the money, then I think they would see the hotel in a different light.

Room Tip: Parking in Newquay is difficult, bus stop outside hotel is the answer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Manager at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for your sensible, honest review. Your vies will be taken on board and anything which we can improve upon we will do, glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My wife and I had stayed at this hotel 8 years ago in August 2004 - when we had only just met - as late 20 somethings. We had a decent stay then as I remember, perhaps just feeling a little on the fringe of things as most other guests were familys and it was clear the hotel back then was very family orientated (definitely in the old school tradition). So 8 years later, now married, with a 6 year old son, and deep into my 30's, we had a yearning to return to the North Cornwall coast once again.
I was delighted to find that the Kenton Hotel had availability for our summer break, although this did turn to some trepidation when I checked this very site afterwards. Because I was really surprised in all honesty to find some terrible reviews on here and even some of the good reviews sounded more like propaganda. We've never written a review of any place we've ever stayed at before, but we vowed to write a review for this hotel, however things turned out.
I should now come to the point and say that we found this hotel excellent in almost every respect and this makes those poor reviews even harder to understand? Like I said, we had no real problems with the hotel back in 2004, but it is clear that almost everything has improved since then. Our room was great, with fantastic views over the coast, and it was kept spotlessly clean every day. The staff (it's family run) were all warm and friendly and would go out of their way to ensure you were contented and comfortable during your stay. The hotel itself was also clean and tidy, and just as importantly, has genuine character. We found the food very good and the bar prices were more than reasonable.
A word on the food: This is a family run hotel (definitely not a B&B for the record), who enjoy looking after other familys and couples, and the food is decent and plentiful and probably hovering around the '2-3 star' quality. People have to get their expectations right; you shouldn't come here - having paid 2-3 star money (again, very reasonable tarifs here), and then expect posh nosh, 5 star cooking etc. That is just not what this hotel is about. We knew what we had paid for and the three of us looked forward to our evening meal (which is optional) every day of our stay.
To sum up then, we just could not fault this hotel after a week here. Friendliness of the staff and cleanliness of our room were the most important things for us and the hotel really shone in these respects. Quality of the food and reasonable costings were also very important, and our expectations were more than met. And it goes without saying that the location of this hotel is totally without fault; beautiful views on to a beautiful coastline, in a beautiful county. You can walk in a matter of minutes to Whipsiderry bay and Porth beach, and the famous Watergate bay is only a 15 minute walk (4 minute drive) away. The town of Newquay and it's beaches are only a 10 minute drive away and you are in the very heartlands of the UK Surfing Scene if that is your thing. And if it isn't, there are loads of excellent activities in other parts of Cornwall that are all within driving distance and loads of stuff that is family orientated.
Above all else you can enjoy the Kenton Hotel itself, where I found it very easy to relax in the warm surroundings, and I would definitely stay here again and would never hesitate to recommend it to anyone. Thanks for a lovely summer holiday.

Mark, Suzanne and Zachary. August 2012.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Manager at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your return visit with Zack and look forward to seeing you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from yet another superb break at the Kenton Hotel in Porth...
With excellent views from this 'family-run' hotel, just a few miles away from the popular resort of Newquay, this quiet location is a perfect retreat from the noisy clubs/bars in the town.

On arrival, we were cheerfully greeted by Norman, his wife, Mavis and their Daughter, Laura who all work extremely hard to make everyone welcome...
This was our third visit to the 'Kenton Hotel' over several years and we have never yet been able to fault it...
Keep up the good work! See you all, as soon as we can...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Manager at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for your review, it was nice to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenton Hotel

Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kenton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kenton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenton Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.