We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Edgcumbe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edgcumbe Hotel
Save
You added Edgcumbe Hotel to your Saves list
Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2RR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Short Break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed at the Edgcumbe for a night in the beginning of August00
We arrived early and was allowed to check in to our room.
The receptionist was so nice and really helped us. Even opened the bar so we could get a drink.
Near Tesco and the town so convient.
The only thing about the hotel that I was so keen on.
It is quite old fashioned and when I was there the shower wasnt working very well but apart from that I cant fault it and I did get a good price so all in all not too bad x

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    46
    18
    18
    27
See reviews for
24
43
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

i had a coach group in this hotel in fact have used it several times my group from last week couldnt praise it enough rooms were clean food was great and staff very helpful friendly and polite we will certainly be coming again

Room Tip: rooms at front on higher floors have great views over newquay bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel is situated at a high point on the cliffs with good views across the bay. Plenty of buses run by and a supermarket next door was useful for newspapers and anything else required.
The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The service in the restaurant was fast and the food was excellent. Portions larger than expected, plates were very hot and a very enjoyable experience.
The bar and lounge areas were large with a good sized dance floor. The evening entertainment was very good and not over loud.
The only downside for me was the bedroom, which was spacious, but the furnishings were extremely tatty and the bed was not at all comfortable. The base was solid wood with a rather lumpy mattress and pillows on top. If this could be remedied I would give it top marks for everything. Cleanliness was very good.

Room Tip: A sea view is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgcumbemanager, Manager at Edgcumbe Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind review are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry you did not find the bed comfortable I wish you had of mentioned it at the time and we would have offered an alternative. We look forward to seeing you again in the future at The Edgcumbe Hotel.
Kind regards
Kelly-ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed at the Edgcumbe for 5 days this month. We went on a coach holiday and the venue was changed at last minute. I`d read some reviews about hotel and was disappointed we were going there, however, i need`nt have been. The staff were so friendly and helpfull, the rooms were spotlessly clean, the food was fabulous.and always served piping hot which is as i like it. The hotel was suddenly left short staffed halfway through our holiday but the didnt leave their standards drop, the remaining staff seemed to work twice as hard to make sure guests didnt suffer. Of course there are always one or two who complain loudly but there was no need to, i think we had much more than what we paid for and very much look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgcumbemanager, Manager at Edgcumbe Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the kind words for our hard working staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards
Kelly-ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Furniture, fittings and decor are all very tired and in dire need of refurbishment.
I was in room 30, a twin room which my travel companion and I found it to be very small. In fact, passing each other resembled a waltz or, if we met in the middle, one of us had to get on the bed (neither option being easy or elegant). The bed linen was clean and our towels replace daily.
The furniture was of poor quality - dressing table water damaged, three drawer unit missing a handle, the 'closet' having a heap of bed covers lying on the floor and the covering of both chairs was dirty and stained. To be able to get round the room we had to move one chair and the dressing table stool into the closet.
Of the two possible plug sockets available for use, one was directly behind the wall mounted television and the other behind the three drawer unit- neither easily accessible.
Despite the hotel catering for a high percentage of guests 'past middle age' our ensuite with over bath shower did not have a shower-height grab handle or antislip bath mat for safe entry and exit. We asked for an antislip bath mat (the young receptionist was very helpful) but none was available and it still took until the next day when guests in another room left and their mat was 'liberated' and given to us.
The staff was generally lovely and they did their best to be helpful at all times. However, a male member of the restaurant staff who brusquely allocated us to tables as we entered the dining room on the first evening (and imperiously informed us that we were to sit the same tables for every meal) needs to remember that we are the guests. His seating regime may make the dining room easier for him to control, but it does detract from the overall experience of dining when one cannot change tables to socialise with the greatest number of people without appearing to shun one's 'allocated' table companions.
The meals were okay and served hot. My companion and I chose to eat out on two evenings simply because we were on holiday and wanted something more imaginative to eat. Would I go back to Newquay? -Yes. Would I go back to this hotel? - Never!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgcumbemanager, Manager at Edgcumbe Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff we do enjoy welcoming all our guests and it it nice that it is appreciated. I am sorry that you felt your room was too small had you have mentioned to us we would have happily moved you to another room. I have checked the closet and all that is in there are the extra blankets and pillows that we leave in each room. I think there it some confusion with the restaurant Mark only allocates the area in which you sit we donot allocate who sits with who that is entirely your own choice. We do however ask for evening meals to preordered at breakfast therefore as long as you sit at the same table as the breakfast time it is perfectly fine to move around, this is explain at the beginning of your first service.
Kind regards
Kelly-ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Only got back yesterday,travelled with Leisuretime,South Wales very efficient check in done by Kelly-Anne manageress of the hotel,we were allocated room 51 which turned out to be a family room spotlessly clean and very spacious.food was excellent with a choice every morning and evening served by very pleasant staff including the ever cheerful Megan and the very busy Mark who seemed to turn up everywhere even calling bingo in the evenings!but I must say that all staff from manageress to the cleaners were pleasant and helpful at all times.This is about the seventh time we have travelled with Leisuretime and this is the best hotel for both value for money combined with excellent food and staff that my wife and myself have stayed in.Well done to all!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgcumbemanager, Manager at Edgcumbe Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, we all appreciate the kind words and are so pleased that you had a lovely stay with us, do come back and see us again.
Kind regards
Kelly-ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife and kids and found the staff to be absolutely brilliant and very helpful. The building unfortunately is in bad need of refurbishment. The Breakfast very poor. Great for coach parties maybe, not families.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgcumbemanager, Manager at Edgcumbe Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We thank you for the kind words regarding the staff, we are sad that you felt that the hotel was not for your family as we were under the impression that you were having a nice time, we are predominantly an old fashioned coaching hotel but do welcome all types of guests. Regarding the breakfast we were not aware of any problems or complaints regarding this during your stay, if you would like to email me directly I would appreciate your feed back. My best wishes to your family.
Kind regards
Kelly-ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgcumbe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgcumbe Hotel

Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Edgcumbe Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgcumbe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.