We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great destination for you and your family of foodies and surfers...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Watergate Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Watergate Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Watergate Bay Hotel
On the Beach | Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Taste of the Bay
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A great destination for you and your family of foodies and surfers...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay at WBH. We normally stay at another famous family hotel!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have rebooked for next Easter ; )
The Extreme Academy is worth checking out too.
We didn't take our dog as wanted to have a proper break from reality but we noted many doggy guests but didn't hear any.
The beach and surrounding landscape is just awesome and I defy anyone to not enjoy their stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    217
    79
    34
    23
See reviews for
229
447
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We took advantage of a deal through secret escapes, to stay at the watergate bay hotel and we were not disappointed. The hotel is excellently located, right on the beach front and the south west coast path. The hotel is modern and excellently designed, with all the bars, lounges and dining room having excellent views over the bay . The hotel has got very good facilities with a pool overlooking the bay and an outdoor hot tub. In addition the food and drink was very good, the breakfast (included) has a good selection of tasty food, the bars has a good selection of beers and dinner in the dining room was excellent. Finally the service was excellent, the staff were helpful and friendly, when they forgot our cocktails at dinner they were given to us on the house and when i forgot to return the wetsuit i rented it was not a problem.

The reason i would not give this hotel 5 stars is simply the price. Even on our special offer it was a lot more than we would usually pay for a hotel so I would at least expect the positives above, i certainly would not come back in the summer when the prices go up further. (I have to say this is our first hotel stay in the UK for a long time, so I am comparing my perception of prices to holidaying abroad, this might be good value for a hotel in the UK.). In addition to the prices of the room it can be quite expensive once you get there, for example a coffee in the bar costs 3.50 (of course you are not obliged to buy a drink in the bar on your stay, but it does feel as though they take advantage of people coming in from the cold and looking to enjoy the view).

In addition two points that people should be aware of which could be positive or negative depending on your viewpoint. The hotel is very modern, and as result has excellent facilities, but if you are looking to enjoy a traditional cornwall hotel this is not for you. Linked to this watergate bay is mostly the hotel complex and fifteen, so again if your looking to stay in a traditional cornish village or town this is not for you, the plus side is while we were there as hotel residents we appeared to have the hotel to ourselves.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The last time I wrote a review for WB I said that it was nice but hard to justify going back due to the price. So what changed? Well it was their email updates about the new pool and general refurb of this area that did it and my curiosity as to whether it was really as nice as it looked.

The answer is it is, in fact it's even better than the photos. The pool always let the hotel down and the new infinity pool is stunning. There's something about relaxing in a pool the temperature of bath water while looking out on a cold Easter Day to make you feel relaxed. The refit of the day room next door to the pool is superb. An abundance of comfy settees and arm chairs with huge windows looking over the beach is just the ticket to unwind. The refit of The Living Space has also been very nicely finished, with an open kitchen and more seating.

Breakfast is still a bit chaotic. If you are going to stay here can I point out a couple of things, 1. You are on holiday - no one is timing you to see how quickly you can load up your plate and get back to your table. 2. If the hot food looks low, relax they will bring more out. There is no need to tear round the hot food area with a manic look on your face is if this could be your last meal on Earth.

So overall, the family rooms are great, the hotel has had a superb refit in the areas where it was needed and it was worth coming back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Despite the poor weather we still had a lovely stay. We were a bit worried about returning to the same hotel (we visited last October too) in case it wasn't as good as the previous visit, however we were not disappointed. The family room was lovely, modern and comfortable and the views are amazing. The pool area is really nice and the pool lounge is so relaxing. We ate at the beach hut and Fifteen - both amazing. Unfortunately my 5 year old was sick one night, but the hotel staff were really helpful and assisted us wherever they could. We have booked another return visit in November.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for one night which was a shame but I highly recommend watergate bay. The view from the pool/chill out lounge and bar area is stunning especially on a sunny day. The service is quick and friendly. We had some lunch in the bar which was delicious.

The room itself (best king) had a beautiful view over the bay, a standalone bath that itself had views of the bay and the sunset and the bed was incredibly comfortable.

The bay itself is lovely and a great walk at low tide. There are a few places to eat locally including Jamie Oliver's Fifteen Cornwall which is a stones throw from the hotel.

I will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I had a brilliant weekend here. The area is beautiful and the views are probably some of the best cliff scenery in the UK. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. They offer a baby monitoring service which allows the parents an opportunity to enjoy dining together. The food was well presented and to a high standard. This hotel has it all, a stylish interior with a beach feel. There are two areas to chill, either in the bar slumped in sofas or armchairs, or you can venture to the pool and unwind with the slightly noisier generation (families with young children, like myself). The hotel manages to blend the atmosphere of a chilled out surf lodge with a sleek 5 star experience. A great place to stay with lots to do. Recommend to anyone but especially young families.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

First of all I must point out that I did not stay here, only visited for lunch. Being from Cornwall and knowing about this hotel, I expected everything to be of excellent standard. Yes the location is fabulous, the hotel itself is beautiful, and the food we had for our lunch was very good, however I really was shocked at the poor service we received. We were not acknowledged on arrival, however seeing they were quite busy we accepted this and sat at a table. After some 15 minutes we had still not been acknowledged or had menus. Several staff passed us several times, but they all seemed to be trying their hardest to avoid making eye contact. Eventually I had no choice but to call out to one of them, who then grudgingly provided menus. Drinks took a long time to arrive, but food was quick and very good. The girl who cleared our plates again seemed disinterested and made no attempt to speak or simply ask if we enjoyed our food. We felt quite uncomfortable and left feeling disappointed as we had anticipated better. There is so much that is right, but good service is what makes the experience. Sadly we were not alone on this day, we even saw others just walk out after failing to get noticed despite quite obvious attempts. Hopefully this is an area which can be fine tuned before the busy season begins.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Watergate Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Hotel

Address: On the Beach | Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 Family Hotel in Newquay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watergate Bay Hotel gives you all the great things you'd find in a mountain resort - on a beach! It's an awesome mix of adrenalin sports, gorgeous accommodation, great places to eat and drink, inspiring people and a relaxed vibe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Watergate Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel And Extreme Academy, Watergate Bay
Hotel Watergate Bay
Watergate Hotel Newquay
Bay Hotel Watergate
Watergate Bay Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watergate Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.