We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wedding Venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watergate Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Watergate Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Watergate Bay Hotel
On the Beach | Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Taste of the Bay
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Wedding Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just returned from watching my daughter get married. Such a wonderful venue with great views over the sea behind the ceremony. Room was excellent and the wedding team made a good job of decorating it with our bunting and pompoms. Food was out of the world for the canapes, wedding breakfast (really good home cured gradvalax as starter) and cute pasties at the evening do. The pool and downstairs lounge were both very relaxing and there is a super compact cardio room. Our ocean view bedroom was freshly renovated and gave just about enough room for us to spread out. The more expensive rooms are more expansive even featuring a bath in the bay window. The cliff top location meant it was rather bracing in late September so it was not the weather too sunbathe on the terraces. Breakfast was self-service so no problems with portion control.
All in all had a wonderful (there said it again) 4 nights with a great crowd of people.
Great venue for a wedding.
Only one big drawback is the distance to Cornwall from the Midlands if you don't like driving now that there are no flights to Watergate.

Room Tip: Pick a room with an Ocean View in the old part of the hotel budget permitting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    217
    79
    34
    23
See reviews for
229
447
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Having just spent a couple of nights at Watergate bay, i wanted to share what an amazing hotel this really is..

The setting is beautiful, granted we did have two days of lovely weather but nevertheless it is a gorgeous beach and a fabulous hotel.

The spa area is really lovely and the hot tub over looking the bay is a really nice touch (if you can brave the cold)

We ate in the living area and at the beach hut and both meals were great, the settings as well were lovely, i cannot wait to get back!

If you have a dog, this is the perfect hotel, the staff were so friendly and accomodating, the rooms were lovely and everything was spotlessly clean.

I really cannot praise Watergate bay enough, i will certainly be returning, sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

just had a lovely stay only stayed 1 night as we were touring cornwall staying in st ives and padstow as well .lovely room overlooking the sea was great opening the doors and listening to the surf .had a meal in the hotel very good .and a meal in fifteen even better .wold definatetly go again maybe for longer next time

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

My wife and i stayed here last week for 5nights and can not fault the hotel or its staff at all. The food is incredible (im a chef and know what im talking about). The staff are happy and helpfull and will atend to your every need and the facilities are brilliant. Our room was stunning, very clean with a beautiful view of the sea. The pool and hot tub are lush also. We had the most amazing honeymoon and will be returning next year with the whole family without a doubt. Thankyou watergate bay hotel for our perfect honeymoon

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just spent 3 nights at the wonderful Watergate Bay Hotel the most relaxed, friendly hotel that it has been our pleasure to stay at in this country for a number of years. If you have a dog, this is the place to stay in North Cornwall, everything just excellent!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Germans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

After a memorable holiday here as a child in 1997, i recently returned for a 2-night stay with my parents and sister. The hotel has been completely renovated and feels clean and fresh, modern and stylish. We stayed mid-week after the summer holidays were over and there was a happy mix of couples and families around the hotel, and although busy it never felt crowded.

The facilities on offer are exceptional. The "Swim Club" had a relaxing spa-type feel and the adjoining lounge was my favourite place to sit and relax. Comfy sofas next to huge windows offer amazing views of the beach and sea, and there is a small cafe/bar offering teas, coffees and light refreshments. The pool is fantastic with an infinity-type end that looks out towards the beach. A seemingly endless supply of towels are available within the pool-side changing facilities, where there's also lockers and a spin-dryer for swimming costumes. We found the best time to swim was around 1-2pm when most people were having lunch. The Scandinavian hot tub and sunbathing area outside felt very private and also had the great views of the beach.

The rooms were wonderful. Fresh and airy with plenty of space, tea/coffee/kettle facilities and a large safe big enough for a laptop. The bathroom was superb with an amazing shower complete with optional soft lighting, robes and two sinks. The staff were absolutely lovely and always had time to chat, i thank them for making us feel so welcome.

We ate in the restaurant on our first night and the food was fantastic. An great choice was on offer and everything was delicious. The same can be said for the self-serve breakfast which we thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel also has another restaurant/cafe/bar with outside seating that overlooks the beach - a great place to sit with a coffee and read the paper.

Down towards the beach there's a beach-side cafe which made excellent food (you can sit in or take away) and the surf academy which looked very friendly and reasonably priced. There's also Jamie Oliver's Fifteen restaurant, which i believe the hotel can book you a table at if you wish.

All in all we had a fantastic stay, the only downside being that we couldn't stay longer!

Room Tip: Room 6 has a decking area, which was lovely to sit out on in the late evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at the Watergate Bay as a last minute booking and were offered a good Dinner, Bed and Breakfast deal. The hotel has been freshly upgraded and was spotlessly clean. Our room was nicely decorated and had oak flooring for that beachfront feel. The swimming pool area is amazing and again spotlessly clean. The service was warm and friendly with all the staff keen to please. The only slight downside was the price of the drinks. £11.25 for a pint of beer and a small glass of wine?! Ate in the dining room, food first class and the service quick and efficient. Will visit again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Watergate Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Hotel

Address: On the Beach | Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newquay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watergate Bay Hotel gives you all the great things you'd find in a mountain resort - on a beach! It's an awesome mix of adrenalin sports, gorgeous accommodation, great places to eat and drink, inspiring people and a relaxed vibe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Watergate Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel And Extreme Academy, Watergate Bay
Hotel Watergate Bay
Watergate Hotel Newquay
Bay Hotel Watergate
Watergate Bay Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watergate Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.