We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Breaks Tolcarne Beach Bar & Kitchen

The Breaks Tolcarne Beach Bar & Kitchen
Tolcarne Beach | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2QN, England
+(44)1637 854815
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 180 Restaurants in Newquay
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood, Steakhouse, British, Fish & Chips
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Newquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just popped in for a meal last night no reservation no special occasion just hungry, so welcoming such beautiful views, sat outside in the sun with a drink until we wanted to eat real sun trap no wind and yet it was blowing a hooly up pentire, the mussels were lovely, and then the main course blew me away, such style and class as good as I have ever seen or tasted on our travels, service was wonderful so intuitive and pleased to adapt to our requests,
" Fantastic" decor and furniture are stunning such a lovely venue will be coming back lots, no problem with the hill just call a cab Julian at 123 always comes down to the door marvellous service

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    21
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I am a Newquay local and eat here all the time! One of the best restaurants in Newquay! A great setting, good food, friendly staff and new decor ! Thoroughly recommend !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Breaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Fab food. Awesome place to be on a sunny day. I can recommend the chicken wings. Good seating outside. Would go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“An improvement on previous furnishings/layout as Kahuna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have been here a couple of times when it was The Kahuna. It was then a really good restaurant with fantastic food but the decor and furnishings let it down really.
The renamed and re-vamped The Breaks still offers equally good food with much improved interior and exterior..
We are local to Newquay, in fact we can walk here! and so have tried most of what Newquay has to offer. This is very good and we will come again.
I must also say the service was excelllent even though it was clear they were under pressure and despite saying there might be a bit of a wait they were plently quick enough with the food in my view. Both waiter and waitress were really smily and friendly at all times.
One point to ake for anyone who reads this and who is a visitor...because a restaurant is on the beach you are at the mercy of the weather and so it will not always be the glorius sunset and and balmy eveings you imaging, and hope for. It can be windy and a tad cool too. This is not the fault of the restaurant but normal Cornish weather.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fab view!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Would recommend this place , good meal sitting outside enjoying the sea view. Loved the chips. Defo go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Breaks Tolcarne Beach Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to The Breaks Tolcarne Beach Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breaks Tolcarne Beach Bar & Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.