We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, beautiful location and very friendly, knowledgable staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stiltskins Bar and Restaurant - CLOSED

Stiltskins Bar and Restaurant
Carvynick Farm | Summercourt, Newquay TR8 5AF, England
01872510544
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Tapas, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Under new management 23,07,13Our 17th Century Bar and Restaurant, situated in a beautiful location within the Carvynick Country Club Resort near Newquay, Cornwall. We pride ourselves in providing quality food and wines that have been sourced locally throughout Cornwall.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great value, beautiful location and very friendly, knowledgable staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

A quiet night for bookings but that did not impact on the evening. The bar and seating areas are really comfortable and the staff warm and welcoming. There was no rush for us to go to our table, with staff happy to let us move when we were ready.

Our waitress was attentive and very friendly and had a great knowledge of all the menu items. The food was perfectly prepared, clearly cooked to order and was delicious; there was nothing left by the time we had finished, and that included sharing two desserts which turned into a race to see who could eat more...I lost!

We sat downstairs after finishing and were the last to leave, the staff left us talking, with no hint that we were holding them up...take note many of the other restaurants in Cornwall on quiet winter evenings.

Great value, beautiful location and very friendly, knowledgable staff, well worth looking up whatever the ocassion! Thanks for a lovely evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stiltskins, General Manager at Stiltskins Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
thank you for your comments charlie, glad you enjoyed your evening with us, hope to see you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    8
    5
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newquay
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Kevin who??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We never really bother with trip advisor and probably wont again but this place deserves everything to come its way, We have been keen followers of the former chef here for many many years, and after hearing and reading all the bad press about the events that unfolded here, we like many others where very sceptical to go after what had happened to Kevin, but after hearing on the grape vine about the standard of this place we bit the bullet,
Gone has the pretentiousness, awards and pictures looking over you as you ate your meal, arrived has a relaxed beautiful restaurant with great front of house staff, food well up to scratch, perfectly cooked steaks and fish, desserts to rival any, this will have a reputation of one of Cornwall’s best eats soon enough,
We spoke to the new chef, the landlord’s son, and had a lot of praise to give him! We touched on the above subject and now after hearing the other side of the story; I will urge and hope anyone else will try this place out, this place deserves a long future,
We’ve already booked in for next week,
As for the two negative reviews…… I think the rest speak for themselves,
Good luck Stiltskins
p.s if you want to write your review in the building, theres a computer,

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A special Cornish welcome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Myself and two friends, visited this lovely restaurant last Sunday . What a special place, warm and welcoming!! We went for the Sunday roast, and was not disappointed . 3 people liked their beef different, all accommodated . Beautiful. I travel all over the world, and and I have never experienced such nice service and setting.

Many many thanks from myself and my friends.
We will be back.....

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice surroundings, average food, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We booked in for valentines night special £30 per head and was pleasantly surprised to see it was less than half full. There was a reason! We were seated at the tableand then waited a full fifteen mins for a waitress. Can I take your order please? We hadn't even seen a menu or been offered a drink. Disorganised didn't come close . Waiters weren't assigned tables so the result was no one knew what you had or hadn't had to eat. Utter chaos. On to if that the fish was overcooked the veg soggy and had obviously been kept in a warmer. We were given £10 off a £75 bill but left 2 courses before the end as got fed up of complaining. This place needs a serious rethink. We won't return.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stiltskins, General Manager at Stiltskins Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
we are sorry you did not enjoy your meal, but find your tale of events of the evening a little exaggerated, firstly our restaurant was fully booked for the evening, we had two tables of two not show up, our downstairs seating area was not available for the evening as they are all large tables to seat Eight people+ on our tapas menu, not an intimate meal for two, I find it hard to believe you were not offered a drink, upon arrival you would have been offered a glass of champagne which was waiting on the bar as you walk in the building, the food is all cooked fresh to order, your dish of Cornish Turbot was well complemented by all other guests, we do not carry food warmers in our kitchen, when your “partner” complained about the dish, it was the first and only complaint of the night of all other 44 guests, I may add the dish in question had all but a mouthful left upon return to the kitchen, the chef told the waitress to offer you a complementary glass of champagne as a good will gesture, your reply was “no were driving” to which the waitress then offered a bottle of wine to take home, to which you also refused, money off was then offered, which you accepted, the value of the night was unrivalled, a 6 course menu including tea coffee and petit fours, for £30 per head, I believe £10 off in the grand scheme of things this was an incredibly generous offer, if I was aware of your version of events on the night, I would have being greatly alarmed and dealt with you personally, but after speaking with the restaurant staff, they have assured me that you only complained about the one dish, we are in fact greatly disappointed that you made the effort to write a review of this nature without actually telling us how terrible your night was on the evening, I can only assume that your review is a little fabricated, If you wish to speak with me about the evening, please do not hesitate to contact me
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

On first entering the restaurant, I was impressed at the overall feel, the atmosphere is very welcoming, yet still has a fine dining feel to it. This is all the more enhanced by the staff at the front of house. The food and service was excellent, the waiting staff were extremely attentive and met our every need. At the end of the meal, we enjoyed a coffee in the bar area where the chef Ash came out and spoke with us ensuring the meal was up to standard. Absolutely great food at great prices, will definitely be returning!

Kelly Patrick
St.Austell

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stiltskins Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stiltskins Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.